need help about squid

General discussion about Linux, Linux distribution, using Linux etc.

need help about squid

Postby modi » Tue Dec 23, 2003 1:16 pm

i need squid as web cache
please give me a brief step by step
for new pc un formated hdd where and how to start
i have one commercial cache (want make same)
it is a pc only with hdd no monitor no key bord it open from other lan connected pc with typing address http://10.254.254.254:10000
if i put moniter on that one direct there is only one line apears at start
lilo loading squid................
then blank screen
and cache start working all changes for ip and gateway every thing is done by connecting through lan
i try to copy that hdd to make other box but changing even same make and model of lan card it will not work
unable to conf
modi
Naik
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 1:03 pm
WLM: tomamodi
Yahoo Messenger: tomamodi
Location: karachi

Postby kernel-trap » Thu Dec 25, 2003 4:42 pm

your questions are confusing

then who install squid on that machine . try clt+alt+f2 to open other terminal
kernel-trap
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2003 2:31 pm

Re: need help about squid

Postby LinuxFreaK » Thu Dec 25, 2003 8:25 pm

Dear Modi,
Salam,

modi wrote:i need squid as web cache
please give me a brief step by step
for new pc un formated hdd where and how to start
i have one commercial cache (want make same)
it is a pc only with hdd no monitor no key bord it open from other lan connected pc with typing address http://10.254.254.254:10000
if i put moniter on that one direct there is only one line apears at start
lilo loading squid................
then blank screen
and cache start working all changes for ip and gateway every thing is done by connecting through lan
i try to copy that hdd to make other box but changing even same make and model of lan card it will not work
unable to conf


I don't Know what are you trying to do but i think if yoru machine is a Cache Machine then it will always configure with Console :) and if you want to make another computer to act like that then simple install linux and then configure Squid. also check out below links.

http://www.linuxpakistan.net/forum2x/viewtopic.phpt=414
http://www.linuxpakistan.net/forum2x/vi ... php?t=1090

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi


Return to “%s” General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron