data share

General discussion about Linux, Linux distribution, using Linux etc.

data share

Postby nabeel » Fri Dec 26, 2003 6:45 pm

Asalamoalaikum
i have 2 hdd (1) have linux..8 (2) have ..win 98.. i want to transfer my data in to linux how can i .. transfer... how can i do bcoz thereis a prob of file system..
nabeel
Cadet
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2003 4:13 pm
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net
Yahoo Messenger: nabilafzal@yahoo.com
Location: pakistan/karachi

Postby farhantoqeer » Fri Dec 26, 2003 7:07 pm

Boot from your linux OS, login as root and in the terminal/shell type this
mkdir /mnt/win_c
make as much as you have windows partitions
mount /dev/hdb1 /mnt/win_c (assuminb that your C drive is hdb1)
Viola! you got your data in linux :wink:

for unmount use
umount /mnt/win_c (make sure you are not using any files from the /mnt/win_c directory otherwise you will get resource busy error)

if you want to mount your windows partitions by default whenever you boot from you linux edit your /etc/fstab file.

hmmm, how to edit this??? Do it yourself its yours assignment :P

Cheers!
A: Yes
Q: Is top-posting bad?
farhantoqeer
Major General
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 5:45 pm
Website: http://www.emergen.biz
Location: Karachi

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Fri Dec 26, 2003 7:21 pm

Dear nabeel,
Salam,

I think your questions already answered. and i don't know why you guys did not searched at the Forum.

http://www.linuxpakistan.net/forum2x/vi ... .php?t=262
http://www.linuxpakistan.net/forum2x/vi ... .php?t=489
http://www.linuxpakistan.net/forum2x/vi ... .php?t=682

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi


Return to “%s” General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron