i got cable net how to host my site ??

General discussion about Linux, Linux distribution, using Linux etc.

i got cable net how to host my site ??

Postby farhanksa » Tue Apr 08, 2003 7:54 pm

aoa
i want to know how to configure the DNS , so that i can host the site using the Apache while the box is online using cable net for 24 hr?[/quote]
farhanksa
Subedar
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 6:40 am
ICQ: 116765501
WLM: farhan12@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: commdsl@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Postby linuxgeek » Wed Apr 09, 2003 1:06 am

hey there,

how are you ... you gotta configure bind for it ... bind config is present in /etc/named.conf and the zone files ( as of redhat 8 ) are present in /var/named/zonename.forward ( zonename being the domain name as you define it in the named.conf file ) check out http://basit.cc for basit's config files for bind 9 ... check out www.isc.org/bind for more info .. get a book named DNS AND BIND ( 4th edition might be 5th ) ... very nice book ...

cheers

--uppal
Junaid Saeed Uppal
uppal at linux dot net dot pk
Cell : +92.345.8586045
linuxgeek
Site Admin
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
ICQ: 15619696
Website: http://www.linux.net.pk
AOL: pakipenguin
Location: Multan, Pakistan


Return to “%s” General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron