how i can access fat32 partition from linux

General discussion about Linux, Linux distribution, using Linux etc.
mansoor_chauhan
Cadet
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2003 4:08 am
Location: Karachi
Contact:

how i can access fat32 partition from linux

Postby mansoor_chauhan » Sat Jun 21, 2003 3:46 am

hi friends,

i wants ro access my windows partition from linux, i am a brand new user of linux.

i have linux red hat 7.3 installed on my machine.

please gimme me the exact syntax to resolve this problem.

Thanks

skswati
Naik
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2003 5:33 am

Postby skswati » Sat Jun 21, 2003 6:47 am

to view ur windows partitions you have to mount it
to do mount
first create dir in /mnt and then mount that directory with windows partitions . the commands are as follow
....creation of mounting point or directory
#mkdir /mnt/windir
...command to mount
#mount -t vfat/dev/hda4(ur hda drive which u want to mount e.g 4)/mnt/windir
try it hope it will solve the prob

fadain
Havaldaar
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Multan, PK

Postby fadain » Sat Jun 21, 2003 11:26 am

Is it possible to automatically mount windows directory, i mean is there anyway so that i dont have to type this long command everytime. i guess thats what we call automounting?
Regards,
Fadain.

gh4z4nf4r
Naik
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 3:51 pm
Location: Wah Cantt
Contact:

Postby gh4z4nf4r » Sat Jun 21, 2003 12:33 pm

salam,
sure u can do that. /etc/fstab has entries for the devices that needs to be mounted during boot time and whenever u issue mount -a (except those wiith 'noauto' specified) .to automatically mount windows drive u need to edit /etc/fstab and put line with tab or space separeted entries in it like follows

/dev/hda5 /mnt/windrv vfat auto,user,rw 0 0

make /dev/hda5 according to the drive u want to mount and /mnt/windrv is the mount point u created with mkdir /mnt/windrv ..after adding this line issue following command
for changes to take effect.

mount -a

/etc/mtab contains information about all the mounted devices so to check mounted devices

cat /etc/mtab

hope that solves the problem .


Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest