HyperTerminal equalent

General discussion about Linux, Linux distribution, using Linux etc.

HyperTerminal equalent

Postby if » Fri Sep 05, 2003 10:33 am

Aslam-o-Aliakum,

Anybody know about HyperTerminal (GUI) equalent for Linux Distro's???
if u find anything which shows my lack of knowledge,
please guide me... thx
------------------------------------
Aslam-o-Aliakum-Wa-Rahmatullah-Wa-Barakatuhu
------------------------------------
if
if
Battalion Quarter Master Havaldaar
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2002 12:52 pm
WLM: ifhope@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: hope_never@yahoo.com
Location: Islamabad

Postby cwackked » Fri Sep 05, 2003 10:41 am

oh boy...ben a long time since i used that...
but try minicom or Xtel....should work.
-umer
cwackked
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2003 7:23 am
Website: http://desimart.net
WLM: cwackked@hotmail.com

i used minicom

Postby farhanksa » Fri Sep 05, 2003 4:27 pm

salam

i used minicom ...its shell based...and hmmm not rememebr i logged at root or not.... i used that for configring the modem..didnt worked much with that

also u can use kermit for that purpose
farhanksa
Subedar
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 6:40 am
ICQ: 116765501
WLM: farhan12@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: commdsl@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Postby if » Sat Sep 06, 2003 4:41 pm

Aslam-o-Aliakum,

I want to configure Router, Switches, LAN Printers etc. so i need hyperterminal (connection vide Comm port, Socks (IP) etc.) equal in Linux (GUI)...
if u find anything which shows my lack of knowledge,

please guide me... thx

------------------------------------

Aslam-o-Aliakum-Wa-Rahmatullah-Wa-Barakatuhu

------------------------------------

if
if
Battalion Quarter Master Havaldaar
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2002 12:52 pm
WLM: ifhope@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: hope_never@yahoo.com
Location: Islamabad

Postby kadnan » Mon Sep 08, 2003 11:45 am

most of *nix administrators are/were used to prefer console environment for machine(s) administration,hehe..i think things are getting changed or maybe you were windows admin in past:)

-adnan
kadnan
Battalion Quarter Master Havaldaar
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
ICQ: 12940796
Location: Karachi,Pakistan

Postby lambda » Tue Sep 09, 2003 1:33 am

if wrote:I want to configure Router, Switches, LAN Printers etc. so i need hyperterminal (connection vide Comm port, Socks (IP) etc.) equal in Linux (GUI)...


you're going to connect to a device that accepts only text input/output, and you want a gui app for this? what for?

if you need scrollback, use an xterm.
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore


Return to “%s” General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest