brosing web through MS Windows

General discussion about Linux, Linux distribution, using Linux etc.

brosing web through MS Windows

Postby esmatman » Thu Nov 20, 2003 1:05 pm

Can any body help me How To set my config?
I mean , I'm the only LINUX(RedHat9.0) -station in
our Company (Windows2000-LAN) , but I can't get
internet connection. can anybody say how to setup
ports (8080 ), gateway ect.. to lose the problem ..tanks
esmatman
Cadet
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 12:29 pm

Postby zaeemarshad » Thu Nov 20, 2003 11:40 pm

if ur company is running a windows 2000 gateway without ISA server then u can do this. type netconfig and select yes when it says do u want to configure ur network. in the next screen, enter the ipaddress, subnet mask of ur system. in the gateway tab enter the ip address of the windows 2000 gateway. enter the ip of the primary dns and then select ok. then on the console type service network restart. then check if ur internet connectivity is working by pinging yahoo.com or host www.yahoo.com . if u have ISA installed at the gateway then u can have some problems with browsing. i believe there is a howto available for that. also search the LP forums as i remember quite a few ppl posted the same question.

Regards
Zaeem Arshad
zaeemarshad
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 12:35 pm
Website: http://zaeem.no-ip.org
WLM: zarshadvirk@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: negativecreep61@yahoo.com
AOL: zarshadvirk
Location: Islamabad

Postby farhanksa » Fri Nov 21, 2003 12:58 am

aoa
then ever u do troubleshooting do it from physical layer
1. is the wire pluged in of lan card....
2. can u ping the ISA server ip u may not be able to ping yahoo ..may be admin blocked icmp packets
pls set the ip:port in ur browser advance settings..
and set ur gateway to the ISA server using netconfig comand
farhanksa
Subedar
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 6:40 am
ICQ: 116765501
WLM: farhan12@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: commdsl@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Fri Nov 21, 2003 9:12 pm

Dear esmatman,
Salam,

farhanksa wrote:aoa
then ever u do troubleshooting do it from physical layer
1. is the wire pluged in of lan card....
2. can u ping the ISA server ip u may not be able to ping yahoo ..may be admin blocked icmp packets
pls set the ip:port in ur browser advance settings..
and set ur gateway to the ISA server using netconfig comand


Well Answer by Farhan But i think he need little bit explaination.....

Setting Up IP Address / Gateway In Linux Box

Start your Computer

Red Hat Linux release 8.0 (Psyche)
Kernel 2.4.18-14 on an

login: root
password: xxxxx

Type /usr/sbin/netconfig
# /usr/sbin/netconfig
Enter IP Address e.g 192.168.0.100 your IP Address
Enter Host Mask e.g 255.255.255.0
Enter Default GW e.g 192.168.0.1 your Server IP address
Enter Primary DNS e.g 192.168.0.1 your server ip address
OK...

After that Type /usr/bin/lynx
# /usr/bin/lynx www.yahoo.com

and Site is Opening or not :)

Setting Proxy Server

Just Open Your Browser and Click on Edit >> Preferences >> Connection >> Proxies and Set your Proxies Manually

e.g Server : 192.168.0.1 Port : 8080

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi


Return to “%s” General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron