I NEED HELP !!!!!! PLEASE

General discussion about PLUC and Linux in Pakistan.

I NEED HELP !!!!!! PLEASE

Postby waqassonic » Sun Oct 17, 2004 1:45 pm

People.....member of the linux community pakistan. I am new rather too new 2 linux. i brought linux mandrake 9, installedit but when i start it after logging in i cannot start it.....please anyone tell me the command to start linux. i 'ed be grateful 2 any one who does that.....cause i heard that it is the most stable gui os. but all i see is DOS like screen and nothing more.
S-ONIC
waqassonic
Cadet
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 1:40 pm

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Sun Oct 17, 2004 5:29 pm

Dear waqassonic,
Salam,

login as root and after that run GUI.

# startx

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Sun Oct 17, 2004 7:31 pm

make sure u type startx and not #startx

If it works good...for the next times u can set it to automatically start x by editing the /etc/inittab file and setting default runlevel to 5 and not 3.
Linux for Life!
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby zaeemarshad » Sun Oct 17, 2004 10:07 pm

To change the default runlevel.

1) open up the inittab file which is in the etc directory using pico or vi or any other editor you like.

bash# pico /etc/inittab

2) Change this line

id:3:initdefault

to

id:5:initdefault

3) save the file and that should do it. the next time you reboot your system GUI should start automatically.


Regards
Zaeem
zaeemarshad
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 12:35 pm
Website: http://zaeem.no-ip.org
WLM: zarshadvirk@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: negativecreep61@yahoo.com
AOL: zarshadvirk
Location: Islamabad

Postby abdul_mateen » Mon Oct 18, 2004 3:25 pm

Hi
Salam
May be his X.Org or XFree86 is not configured.
Abdul Mateen,
Google Android Developer & Linux Administrator
Addictive Mobility,CA
www.addictivemobility.com.
abdul_mateen
Battalion Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Nov 18, 2003 10:28 am
WLM: abdul_mateenkhatri
Yahoo Messenger: abdul_mateenkhatri
Location: Rampuria Mansion

Postby Executive » Mon Oct 18, 2004 6:02 pm

Might possible that X server has tried to start itself and ecounter some error.

You can look on error messages of Xserver logfile
Syed Aoun Raza. M.Sc.(IT)
--------------------------------------
Experience is a hard teacher she gives the test first and lesson afterwords.
Executive
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 2:45 pm
WLM: os_raza@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: os_raza@yahoo.com

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Tue Oct 19, 2004 12:28 am

When he attempts to start x by using the startx command, if an error will occur...the error message and detail will also be shown on the console screen...so i think his first step should be to try startx and see if x starts or not..and if not..then what error is displayed.
Linux for Life!
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby gh4z4nf4r » Tue Oct 19, 2004 1:09 am

Yeah its good to start troubleshooting from the basics. Because most of the times startx will resolve the problem. I am saying this because one time i spent two days finding the fault in Xserver on Solaris as CDE was not coming up. And what i found after two days of frustration that the USB extension of the mouse was unplugged. :? .

Regards,
Ghazanfar.
gh4z4nf4r
Naik
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 3:51 pm
WLM: gh4z4nf4r@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: gh4z4nf4r@yahoo.com
Location: Wah Cantt


Return to “%s” General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron