Switching your cable guy to linux!

General discussion about PLUC and Linux in Pakistan.

Switching your cable guy to linux!

Postby nahsan » Sat Aug 13, 2005 4:10 pm

Assalam Alaykum,

I like all other linux user who have cable operator running ISA, Wingate or other windoze based server have had it. Its time we force our cable operator to switch to linux. I am going to give a free demo to my cable operator and make (read force) him to use Linux.

Anyone else out there who have done it ?

Nabeel Ahsan
nahsan
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2003 8:34 am
ICQ: 6821865
WLM: ahsan_nabeel@yahoo.com
Yahoo Messenger: ahsan_nabeel@yahoo.com
Location: Karachi

Re: Switching your cable guy to linux!

Postby jess » Sun Aug 14, 2005 4:53 am

nahsan wrote:Assalam Alaykum,
I am going to give a free demo to my cable operator and make (read force) him to use Linux.


Hit him over the head?
jess
Company Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Jul 31, 2004 7:05 am
Website: http://geocities.com/urdutext/
Location: Toronto

Postby mannan » Mon Aug 15, 2005 11:29 am

Mein ne bhi apnay cable wale ko bula hai mager sale ko kuch pata hi nahin hai part time mein cable net chalata hai aur pooray area mein yeehi hai ,,,aur is ki waja se mera Gaim Aur Thunderbird connect nahin hootay
mannan
Naik
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2004 4:37 am
WLM: mannan_999@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: manitrim@yahoo.com

Alas !

Postby lemon » Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:56 pm

I almost converted my areas cable net to linux but that Damn 3COM ISDN pro TA Modem didnt connected at 128k under linux and i was unable to find any driver or resource for it.
Wasay Ahmed
B.E. CE SSUET
MBA IBA
lemon
Naik
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Website: http://www.geocities.com/cyrix_pk
WLM: wasayahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: cyrix_pk@yahoo.com
AOL: wasayinstead@netscape.net
Location: karachi

salam

Postby AsadRasheed » Thu Sep 01, 2005 7:07 am

hmm i m using dial up .
No cable net no tension.
registered linux user #394856
http://www.bsdpakistan.org
AsadRasheed
Battalion Quarter Master Havaldaar
 
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 6:23 pm
Location: Karachi

Re: Switching your cable guy to linux!

Postby syedbilalmasaud » Sat Sep 03, 2005 11:29 am

Yaar if u r doing to do this
i am with u send me ur hardware information i will send u script that will run ur cable net with one single command
please give me information for the following
ur ISDN modem name model no
what kind of distrubution u want to use
what setup of hardware u r using
if u r using satelite internet card tell me its name

i will send u everything and u have to type just single command to do this also i will provide u monitoring solution of ur clients usig mrtg or weblizer

Best Regards!
Syed Bilal Masaud
0321-5165768
Cheers :)

:D B I L A L :D
syedbilalmasaud
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:25 am
WLM: bm1984@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: syedbilalmasaud@yahoo.com
Location: Attock

Postby barlas » Thu Sep 08, 2005 1:41 pm

syedbilalmasaud, Why not post a general script or configuration file, that can be used with all cards or hardware (or that can be customised for that easily)? :)

It can help lots of people that way :)

Regards
barlas
Aqeel Zafar
barlas
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 11:07 am
Website: http://aqeeliz.com
Location: Lahore, Pakistan

SANTIS - ISDN Modem under linux

Postby Anjum Butt » Thu Sep 08, 2005 4:02 pm

syedbilalmasaud wrote:Yaar if u r doing to do this
i am with u send me ur hardware information i will send u script that will run ur cable net with one single command
please give me information for the following
ur ISDN modem name model no
what kind of distrubution u want to use
what setup of hardware u r using
if u r using satelite internet card tell me its name

i will send u everything and u have to type just single command to do this also i will provide u monitoring solution of ur clients usig mrtg or weblizer

Best Regards!
Syed Bilal Masaud
0321-5165768


Modem:

SIEMENS SANTIS-Communicator
Model No: S1608-K2100-A92-7

Distribution:
Debian Sarge 3.1

Hardware:
Processor: AMD Duron 1200+
Mainboard: EliteGroup K7SEM
Ram: 128MB

CDR/W: Samsung 48-24-48


Please post to the LinuxPakistan Wiki so everyone can benefit from it. Thanks!
More will follow :)

Anjum Butt
Registered Linux User #314299
Anjum Butt
Company Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 9:02 am
Location: Karachi


Return to “%s” General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron