Modem Help!!!!!!!

General discussion about PLUC and Linux in Pakistan.
Lance Naik
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 12:09 am

Modem Help!!!!!!!

Postby gabriel_ameen » Sun Aug 21, 2005 8:51 pm

Dear Friends!
First of all, I apologize for asking a non-linux question. My problem is the speed of my dialup connection. My modem is 100% all right. My configuration is ok too and I am sure of that. But, whenever i cannot connect to cybernet ISP, it connects at 32.6kbps. I used to have connections above 50kbps in the past some days ago. Then what's wrong. I think my phone wiring is not proper. If it is so, please help me about the phone wiring. How can I set it up properly to get a good speed.

Site Admin
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
Location: Karachi


Postby LinuxFreaK » Sun Aug 21, 2005 10:37 pm

Dear gabriel_ameen,

First of all you did not told us you modem brand and model.

If you think it is wiring issue then only Line man can help you :D

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed

Lance Naik
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 4:03 pm
Location: Karachi

Postby Mohtashim » Mon Aug 22, 2005 12:23 pm

usually it's up to the ISP, what speed you are going to have.
if you get a constant 32kbps connection then it most likly be given by your ISP.
if for some reason your telephone line would not be in order, then you would
not get a constant 32kbps connection , rather it would ask you to reconnect to your ISP again
and again. modems are not so intellegent that they would keep connect you
on the some speed related to your line connection quality.

Battalion Quarter Master Havaldaar
Posts: 228
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 6:23 pm
Location: Karachi


Postby AsadRasheed » Thu Sep 01, 2005 7:00 am

I think when load on server is too much than you face such problems.
Or admin set 33k as a maximum rate.
And may be wire problem.

M Asad Rasheed
registered linux user #394856

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest