Problem with win98 with DHCP SERVER

General discussion about PLUC and Linux in Pakistan.

Problem with win98 with DHCP SERVER

Postby tahiralijafri » Sat Dec 17, 2005 8:48 pm

Hi Friends!

I have a configured a DHCP Server on Fedora Core3, its working fine with winxp and win2k, but not with win98. It assigns ip address to win98 clients but am not able to browse through DHCP server.
Server is running dhcp, named and squid
Here is my dhcpd.config file

ddns-update-style interim;
ignore client-updates;
subnet 192.168.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {

# --- default gateway
option routers 192.168.0.3;
option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
option nis-domain "mydomain.com";
option domain-name "mydomain.com";
option domain-name-servers 192.168.0.3, 203.135.0.2, 203.135.1.117, 203.135.0.5;
# option time-offset 5; # Pakistan Standard Time
# option ntp-servers 192.168.1.1;
# option netbios-name-servers 192.168.1.1;
# --- Selects point-to-point node (default is hybrid). Don't change this unless
# -- you understand Netbios very well
# option netbios-node-type 2;

range dynamic-bootp 192.168.0.10 192.168.0.254;
default-lease-time 86400;
max-lease-time 86400;

# we want the nameserver to appear at a fixed address
host ns {
next-server marvin.redhat.com;
hardware ethernet 12:34:56:78:AB:CD;
fixed-address 207.175.42.254;
}
}
tahiralijafri
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 8:40 pm
WLM: ali_tahir10@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: alliionline@hotmail.com
Location: Rawalpindi

Re: Problem with win98 with DHCP SERVER

Postby lambda » Sun Dec 18, 2005 1:29 am

tahiralijafri wrote:I have a configured a DHCP Server on Fedora Core3, its working fine with winxp and win2k, but not with win98. It assigns ip address to win98 clients but am not able to browse through DHCP server.


why don't you tell us why it can't browse? use tcpdump if you have to.
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby tahiralijafri » Sun Dec 18, 2005 5:19 pm

hi lambda!

Thanks for your reply. I have tried to browse win98 using DHCP server on linux. But its throwing back DNS error. Any suggestions...

Regards
Tahir ALi
tahiralijafri
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 8:40 pm
WLM: ali_tahir10@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: alliionline@hotmail.com
Location: Rawalpindi

Postby lambda » Sun Dec 18, 2005 8:06 pm

what does "browse" mean? what program throws a dns error?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby LinuxFreaK » Mon Dec 19, 2005 1:32 am

lambda wrote:what does "browse" mean? what program throws a dns error?


?
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi

Re: Problem with win98 with DHCP SERVER

Postby ashariqbal » Mon Dec 19, 2005 12:46 pm

tahiralijafri wrote:Hi Friends!

I have a configured a DHCP Server on Fedora Core3, its working fine with winxp and win2k, but not with win98. It assigns ip address to win98 clients but am not able to browse through DHCP server.


What is the result of
ipconfig
on the win98 machine? This will tell you what has been picked up by it and what hasn't. Since the win2000 machines work its not a problem with your dhcp server.

can you ping the gateway? if yes then its probably a problem with the browser - use firefox !

Ashar
ashariqbal
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2002 10:01 am
Location: Karachi

Re

Postby tahiralijafri » Mon Dec 19, 2005 10:12 pm

Hi Ashar!

Thankyou for your kind reply.

Problem is that my win98 client is being assigned Default Gateway, IP Address and DNS server address. I have checked by pinging the default gateway but its not pinging the default gateway. However every thing is assigned to the client by DHCP server.

My dhcp server is working for win2k and winxp without problem.

Please advise.

Regards
Tahir ALi
tahiralijafri
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 8:40 pm
WLM: ali_tahir10@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: alliionline@hotmail.com
Location: Rawalpindi

Re

Postby tahiralijafri » Mon Dec 19, 2005 10:15 pm

Hi Ashar!

Thankyou for your kind reply.

Problem is that my win98 client is being assigned Default Gateway, IP Address and DNS server address. I have checked by pinging the default gateway but its not pinging the default gateway. However every thing is assigned to the client by DHCP server.

My dhcp server is working for win2k and winxp without problem.

Please advise.

Regards
Tahir ALi
tahiralijafri
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 8:40 pm
WLM: ali_tahir10@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: alliionline@hotmail.com
Location: Rawalpindi

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Tue Dec 20, 2005 8:55 am

Dear tahiralijafri,
Salam,

Use this configuration...

Code: Select all

default-lease-time 86400;
max-lease-time 86400;
option nis-domain "mydomain.com";
option domain-name "myndomain.cxm";
option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
option broadcast-address 192.168.0.255;
option routers 192.168.0.3;
option domain-name-servers 192.168.0.3, 203.135.0.2, 203.135.1.117, 203.135.0.5;
range dynamic-bootp 192.168.0.10 192.168.0.254;

subnet 192.168.1.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
        range 192.168.0.10 192.168.0.254;
}

host ns {
next-server marvin.redhat.com;
hardware ethernet 12:34:56:78:AB:CD;
fixed-address 207.175.42.254;
}


FYI, http://linuxgazette.net/issue48/pollman.html

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi

Re : Problem with win98 with DHCP SERVER

Postby zAm » Tue Dec 20, 2005 2:59 pm

Hello,
tahiralijafri ... if your dhcp server is assiging appropriate IP'S/Gateways to win2k/xp users then it means it's running fine , no need to change your dhcp configuration . just try to figure out the problem with win9x users , check the IP address of win98 users via ipconfig & try to release & renew the ip address & see that error it shows you , does this shows a a dhcpd server kinda error , then probably that client has manually entered the ip address from TCP/IP protocol of ethernet card. hope it works , otherwise try to reconfigure your dhcpd server .... Thanks
Regards,
zAm (Lyarianz Internet Cable Network)
Proud To Be Lyarianz !
zAm
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 9:28 am
Website: http://www.zubair.moghal.ukonline.co.uk
WLM: z_moghal@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: z_moghal@yahoo.com
Location: Pakistan, Karachi

Postby tahiralijafri » Tue Dec 20, 2005 7:31 pm

Hi Farrukh/Zam!

Thanks for your kind reply, I have done every thing. released the ip then renewd it , no prb in renewing and releasing the ip , Tried the new configuration file sent by Farrukh but still same results, one thing more today ive experienced one xp computer having same problem.

I am running a cable net and in the past i used to assign manual ip addresses to the clients. Now i ve configured some users to dhcp and rest of them are still running on manual configuration.Am using same network for both of them, that is 192.168.0. Can things be better to change network of DHCP SERVER TO 10.0.0 or any other network apart from my manual ips network.

Regards
tahiralijafri
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 8:40 pm
WLM: ali_tahir10@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: alliionline@hotmail.com
Location: Rawalpindi

Postby tahiralijafri » Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:32 pm

Hi Farrukh!
Thanks for your kind support, My dhcp is working for win98 now also, had to change dhcp network to 10.0.0.0.

Need your support on iptables.
I am using below mentioned rules as u provided before for yahoo but yahoo is not working for me.

iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -p tcp --dport 5050 -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE

iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -p tcp -m multiport --dport 5000,5001,5100,5101 -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE

iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -p udp -m multiport --dport 5000,5001,5100,5101 -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE

Looking for support
tahiralijafri
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 8:40 pm
WLM: ali_tahir10@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: alliionline@hotmail.com
Location: Rawalpindi

Postby tahiralijafri » Tue Dec 20, 2005 10:38 pm

Hello Farrukh!

Sorry to bother u again.

My MSN is also not working on following rules
iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -p tcp --dport 1863 -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE
One thing more, i am also running an ISA server. In the past i was using isa as proxy server. now i am shifting my network to squid , can this problem accour due to presence of ISA server on our network ???

As i am very new to iptabes Please help me to resolve this yahoo/msn problem :S

Regards
Tahir ALI
tahiralijafri
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2005 8:40 pm
WLM: ali_tahir10@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: alliionline@hotmail.com
Location: Rawalpindi

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Wed Dec 21, 2005 9:37 am

Dear tahiralijafri,
Salam,

Might be an issue but i do not know why people will not use socks server under linux ?

Squid is Web proxy server. it will let you connect to msn but if your msn dc you will not able to know its connected or disconnected.

Use SS5

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi


Return to “%s” General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron