Page 1 of 1

CABLE NET LICENCE

Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 8:06 pm
by Mahmood-ul-Hassan
Assalaam O' Alaikum!!

IS there any licence for setting up NET CAfe, NEtcable or BOth.

If exist. then

Procedure :?: :?: :?:

How much costs it :?: :idea: :idea: to run :arrow:

Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2006 11:19 pm
by hackerslog
Well, as far as my knowledge is concerned there is no license fees for a setup.

Well to make a Netcafe Setup all you need is a Place with some Computers, Open Cabins as closed cabins are now been banned (P-II's or P-III clients machines are good for an average Cafe) you may make a P-IV Server few switches and some Cable thats all. It depends upon how much you wanted to invest into the business. An average Cafe Setup with 6 to 7 workstations may cost not more than Rs. 25000/-.

Re: CABLE NET LICENCE

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 12:15 am
by syedali999
Mahmood-ul-Hassan wrote:Assalaam O' Alaikum!!
IS there any licence for setting up NET CAfe, NEtcable or BOth.


Yes!!!
There is a licence. for cable service operator. which cost you a 1-5 lacs....issued by PTA...
but its not for desi cable net.
its for cable broadband operators, tv cable operators, dsl operators, and isp operators...etc etc....
So dont worry about that...go a head and best of luck...

you may make a P-IV Server few switches and some Cable thats all. It depends upon how much you wanted to invest into the business. An average Cafe Setup with 6 to 7 workstations may cost not more than Rs. 25000/-.


Only One Switch is Enough if you are talking about 6-7 computers...
and cost is not just for pcs...
he must have to invest for location, cabins, office stationary, office furniture...etc etc

according to my opinion, if you want a high fy cafe to run in compedition at defence type area...
then you must have to invest approx. 1-2 lacs on all of these (remember! shop rent and advance is not included)
you have to pay for your marketing. otherwise you have to close your cafe within 6 months (hopefully not)
you have to became friend of the linemen of the area so everytime your line goes under heavy noise or producing humming, it will get you out. the only way for the friendship is sweets (mithayee) :D
you have to pay your utility bills and bandwidth charges atleast 3 months from your very own sweet pocket.

Suggestion :
Survey the area where u are planning to deploy internet cafe.
ask to the other cafe person about his setup (dont tell him about your planning otherwise he will not going to tell you even a single word truely...) :D

Feel free to Ask More!

EDL you mean?

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 2:46 am
by s7r1k3r
I think this licence is known as EDL (Electronic Data License). So does it mean that a Internet Cable Network can be "legally" run without this license? Is it not the same thing as an ISP? providing Internet Services to users. And if it is legal, where does the line end? we can get E1 line(s) if there are many users, with a PRI we can have dialups, will it then come under EDL?

My question is, does EDL imply a scale over wich if providing Internet Service or other such thing you have to get it?

Regards.

Re: EDL you mean?

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 9:00 am
by syedali999
I think this licence is known as EDL (Electronic Data License). So does it mean that a Internet Cable Network can be "legally" run without this license?


Ofcourse Not! even Net Cafe has a licence i think but not sure!

Is it not the same thing as an ISP? providing Internet Services to users.

Ofcourse it is! coz only in our country, they are known as cablenet provider.
exception of india and pakistan, all over the world they knowned as Broadband Service Provider or you can say digital service provider providing multimedia broadcasting (tv) and internet.


And if it is legal, where does the line end? we can get E1 line(s) if there are many users, with a PRI we can have dialups, will it then come under EDL?


FYI, PTCL will not issue you E1 until you gets PTA licence :)

and purchasing and maintaining PRIs is not a childs play. lots of
headache, first is NTN :( second is UIN mapping. and lots of more.

if there are many users, then dont think of E1. better to switch over DSL. and providing them the services through your exchange and their existing copper Line by placing a DSLAM in exchange premises. this is 24 hours and always on connection. with Digital Keying Encoding. means that user can use internet and place a call at the same time just like isdn. even they dont need to dial for internet. just like cable net.
in DSL, you may also need of PRI if you wants to provide backups for your customers in case of any technical issue.

100% SURE that it will comes under the same licence but EDL ??? i think the name is different.




My question is, does EDL imply a scale over wich if providing Internet Service or other such thing you have to get it?[/quote]

Yes Scale implies on it!
don't know the exact price but you can get it in 1 lac for 1 city only.
after that, go on and cover karachi :D

Feel Free To Ask More!

Thanks.

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 2:59 pm
by s7r1k3r
Thankyou for your detailed reply. To get an E1 line for personal use, that wouldn't require a licence from PTA would it? ;) It is interesting to note that for once city it doesn't cost that much (comparitively) and allows a cablenet provider to cover a whole city.

Re: Thanks.

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 3:37 pm
by syedali999
s7r1k3r wrote:Thankyou for your detailed reply. To get an E1 line for personal use, that wouldn't require a licence from PTA would it? ;) It is interesting to note that for once city it doesn't cost that much (comparitively) and allows a cablenet provider to cover a whole city.


I m afraid you have to pay even for a single E1. not for service charges but also for licence too.

deploying isp is not a big deal. its childs play if you are fimiliar with your very own OS....depends...preferred and recommended is Linux . but on the other hand, you can achieve this scenario on Windows, Solaris, Macintosh etc etc.
but, maintaining your service level is a headache...but why you are planning to purchase a E1 line? if its just for practice than you can achieve it through normal analog lines.
and you dont worry to need RAS or RAS card to put your line in it ;)

if you seriously wants to start an ISP, then only technical issues are not enuff...first of all can u compete the others? such as cubexs is giving 24 hours unlimited just in rs. 299/-
can you beat that price?
try to plan for small areas...such as sukkur, balochistan, gawadar etc etc.


Feel Free to Ask More!

Not planning an ISP really!

Posted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 5:57 pm
by s7r1k3r
Oh no, I am not really planning an ISP. You are right, these days its more the marketting and all other such stuff than just technical know how etc. and yes, there is just tooooo much competition. All I was wondering that if I have legitimate requirements for some real bandwidth and I don't plan on distributing it (providing it as a service to others) then why do I have to pay for a licence? I just want it to use my self. Getting a 2MB DSL connection from an ISP would cost more than Rs. 1 Lac here in Rwp/Isb. On the other hand, before the last reduction of rates, I understand that PIE charges $ 600 for 1 MB. Meaning around Rs. 72,000 for 2 MB link. Say I want to run my very own site like slashdot, distrowatch or I want to mine the web for some research, I would need that bandwidth but it isn't actually being used by anone else than me.

Seems strange to buy a licence just for using more bandwidth yourself doesn't it? The web is a wonderful resource for research given that the proper infrastructure is there to use it.

And what about the universities? They have legitimate high bandwidth requirements for academic purposes. I am sure they wouldn't need a license, would they?

Regards,

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:47 am
by mahin
Yes you can, while you may not need licence still you would need to complete formalities. You will be eligable for Bandwidth at rates less then ISP pays but catch will be the assurance / gurantees or pre-payment for one year.

If you can spend that then contact me and we will assist you in completing the formalities. We can assist with every thing except money :).

Universities do not need license but they do have to complete formalities and fore most among them is that they must have charter which is much more expensive [ currently you have to have 100 million + - get this kind of money for Linux Pakistan University and we will bestow an honrary doctrate :) ] then getting this licence for oprating an ISP.

Having said that there is more to it then the cost of Bandwidth. We can help negotiate colocation at similar or lessor costs.

If need is educational / research of an individual then 8k is more then enough IMHO with certain exceptions.

Re: Not planning an ISP really!

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 4:30 pm
by syedali999
Hmm,,,

Great!!!

it seems that he is interesting in deploying web hosting services.
so dear...for that you dont need any licence....just purchase a low downlink with higher uplink...
such as ISDN Downlink and IVS Uplink....or get a DSL with whatever bandwidth you want....
request isp to assign you a ip pool....
and further procedure can be found on net...
or can ask me...

Feel Free To Ask More!

Re: Not planning an ISP really!

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 7:10 pm
by mahin
syedali999 wrote:it seems that he is interesting in deploying web hosting services.
so dear...for that you dont need any licence....


He will need a licence if he makes a local Data Center and wants to re-sell the space locally. My information is bit dated, if there has been change I am not aware of.