How to run OpenOffice on RH8 (KDE) on 32 MB of RAM

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

How to run OpenOffice on RH8 (KDE) on 32 MB of RAM

Postby Khalid Umer » Wed Jan 15, 2003 1:01 pm

Dear fellows!

I have a pentium 133 MHZ machine with 32MB of RAM. Presently I am using Windows-95 and MSOffice-97 on it. Now I want to move to Linux.
Is it possible to run OpenOffice on RH8 (KDE) on this machine of 32MB RAM. How can I setup it. If it is not possible in RH8, is there any method in older versions. My requirement is to use MS-Office Documents.

Please Help......


Khalid Umer
Khalid Umer
Cadet
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 11:58 am
Location: Karachi

Postby fawad » Thu Jan 16, 2003 6:45 am

Khalid,
I'm afraid OpenOffice would be sluggish at best on your setup. You'll have to make do with koffice or gnome office apps. Hopefully the openoffice problem will be remedied soon when all the applications become seperate instead of being one monolithic whole.
fawad
Site Admin
 
Posts: 918
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
ICQ: 17672437
Website: http://www.fawad.net
WLM: fawadhalim@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: fawad2048
AOL: fawadhalim
Location: Addison, IL

Is there any way to improve performance

Postby Khalid Umer » Thu Jan 16, 2003 10:19 am

I installed RH8 with KDE and OpenOffice on 64MB RAM but it Office documents opens very slowly. Is there any way to improve the performance.
The picture/graphics quality of KDE/RH8 is very good as compared to Windows-95 (which runs well on 16MB). Is it possible to improve speed by downgrading the picture/graphics quality equal to as of Windows-95


Please Help.....


Khalid Umer
Khalid Umer
Cadet
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2002 11:58 am
Location: Karachi

Postby newbie » Sun Jan 19, 2003 4:10 am

when it comes to linux it is very very less resource hungry.
but when it comes to KDE , i think you will not even feel well on 128 mb ram while running KDE.
the new versions of redhat have very resource hungry KDE and GNOME.
but still GNOME is less resource hungry than KDE .Try redhat 7.0 its KDE and GNOME was a great experience for me on a 64 MB RAM.
newbie
Company Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2002 4:18 am
WLM: usman_fool@hotmail.com
Location: lahore

Re: Is there any way to improve performance

Postby mahin » Sun Jan 19, 2003 11:34 am

Khalid Umer wrote:I installed RH8 with KDE and OpenOffice on 64MB RAM but it Office documents opens very slowly. Is there any way to improve the performance.
The picture/graphics quality of KDE/RH8 is very good as compared to Windows-95 (which runs well on 16MB). Is it possible to improve speed by downgrading the picture/graphics quality equal to as of Windows-95


Please Help.....


Khalid Umer


Things are still being worked upon nothing simple as yet but what you want is reasonable and has been proven to work. You can wait till every thing is nice and clean or join the project [ even as beta tester/user ] and help others as well yourself.

http://www.rule-project.org/en/

Go there today or wait for few months :-) choice is yours!
mahin
Major
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php/LinuxPakistanKarachi
Location: Karachi

Postby fawad » Mon Jan 20, 2003 1:14 am

Khalid, I'm afraid to speed things up, you'll probably want to use a non-{kde|gnome} window manager. Your bottleneck is not the speed of the processor, but the memory. 32MB is _too_ little. The problem with openoffice is that it's a monolithic app right now. so it _will_ take a lot of memory.

I bet SIMMs will be really cheap these days. consider getting a couple for this machine. :)
fawad
Site Admin
 
Posts: 918
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
ICQ: 17672437
Website: http://www.fawad.net
WLM: fawadhalim@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: fawad2048
AOL: fawadhalim
Location: Addison, IL

Postby AsaifullahK » Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:27 pm

i don't know whether this suggestion is valid in its content, but you could consider increasing your SWAP partition's size to more than 3-4 times that of your current RAM
Regards,
Ali Saifullah Khan

Hail The Penguin !!!
AsaifullahK
Cadet
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2003 11:38 pm
ICQ: 279788507
Website: http://hack-probe.sourceforge.net
WLM: alisaifullah@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: saifulla1984@yahoo.com
Location: Earth > Asia > Pakistan > Karachi


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron