Cannot Install Madrake 9.0

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

Cannot Install Madrake 9.0

Postby Radiant_Metal » Sun Jan 26, 2003 9:06 pm

I have P4,1.7Ghz and 40 GB HDD. XP home edition is running.
I am trying to install Mandrake 9.0 on a linux partition created through partition magic. At the reboot when I press F1 for options and then proceed by pressing 'Enter' key, I get the message: "boot falied, please change the disks and press any key".I tried it through installation floppy diskette also but got the same message at the same point. Need Help.
Thanx
Radiant_Metal
Cadet
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2003 8:53 pm
ICQ: 63744248

Postby newbie » Mon Jan 27, 2003 8:26 am

i think you can start installation on mandrake within windows.
like in win98 or win2k your insert winxp cd and it starts.
dont press F1 just press "ENTER"

but in your case i think there is a problem with your harddrive or data cable of your harddrive. change the data cable and try.

post the complete error message there must be some reason that kernel detected bad disks.

and dont use the partition magic thats the most stupid tool for partition.linux fdisk is very good than partition magic.try to learn it.its very easy.
newbie
Company Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2002 4:18 am
WLM: usman_fool@hotmail.com
Location: lahore

Postby sakbar » Mon Jan 27, 2003 12:42 pm

newbie wrote:dont use the partition magic thats the most stupid tool for partition.linux fdisk is very good than partition magic.try to learn it.its very easy.


Mandrake has its own good partition creation system during isntall, you don't need Partition Magic, the setup of mandrake is user friendly & u will not feel problem if u are acuqainted with partitions working !

Which CD u r using, the one with linuxpakistan recommendation words on it !

--shakeel
sakbar
Naik
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Website: http://www.rootshell.be/~linuxpak
WLM: sakbar76
Yahoo Messenger: shakeel_akbar
Location: Lahore

Postby mrkkhattak » Mon Jan 27, 2003 2:01 pm

Assalamualaikum,

I too would recommend using Mandrake's own partitioning tool. Boot your PC from Mandrake's first CD, once It comes to HardDrake. There u would be able to see ur parition table, modify it as you need or like.

Fore more info regarding modifying paritions under that tool, let us know.

-Meraj
mrkkhattak
Site Admin
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
ICQ: 173967661
WLM: mrkkhattak
Yahoo Messenger: mrkkhattak
AOL: mrkkhattak
Location: Karachi

I did it

Postby Radiant_Metal » Mon Jan 27, 2003 11:39 pm

I had a successful install of mandrake 9.0 by changing my boot priority to cd rom from BIOS.
Radiant_Metal
Cadet
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2003 8:53 pm
ICQ: 63744248

Postby mrkkhattak » Thu Jan 30, 2003 5:35 pm

wow... Hum kidher ja rahey they, aur masla kia nikla :-)

wish u enjoy ur time with Mandrake Linux 9.0 !
mrkkhattak
Site Admin
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
ICQ: 173967661
WLM: mrkkhattak
Yahoo Messenger: mrkkhattak
AOL: mrkkhattak
Location: Karachi

Postby sakbar » Fri Jan 31, 2003 1:18 am

Thats good ! U r able to install it !

has anyone tried mandrake 9 install with Nt/2k/ or xp i mean a mulit boot system !

--shakeel
sakbar
Naik
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Website: http://www.rootshell.be/~linuxpak
WLM: sakbar76
Yahoo Messenger: shakeel_akbar
Location: Lahore

Postby fawad » Fri Jan 31, 2003 9:28 am

Shakeel, I had mandrake 9 dual booting with 98 and 2000 for quite a while. Nothing to it.
fawad
Site Admin
 
Posts: 918
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
ICQ: 17672437
Website: http://www.fawad.net
WLM: fawadhalim@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: fawad2048
AOL: fawadhalim
Location: Addison, IL

Postby mrkkhattak » Fri Jan 31, 2003 11:49 am

Assalamualaikum,

I was running a few systems ...

1) Mandrake 9.0 + Redhat 8.0 + Windows 2000 Advance Server
2) Mandrake 9.0 + Windows ME
3) Redhat 7.3
4) Lycoris Desktop

Currently I only have
1) Mandrake 9.0 + Windows ME
2) Lycoris Desktop

I didn't have any problem with multiboot, but in last I had some problems with Windows 2000 Advance Server's NTFS filesystem, my partition table got corrupted or something ... now this system is running only Mandrake 9.0 + Windows Me, I didn't get time to install Redhat on this :-( but it is possible & very easy to do :-) u can try too ...

-Meraj
mrkkhattak
Site Admin
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
ICQ: 173967661
WLM: mrkkhattak
Yahoo Messenger: mrkkhattak
AOL: mrkkhattak
Location: Karachi

Postby sakbar » Fri Jan 31, 2003 12:51 pm

Thanks a lot for the information ! I will also have try on mandrake also

--SHAKEEL
sakbar
Naik
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Website: http://www.rootshell.be/~linuxpak
WLM: sakbar76
Yahoo Messenger: shakeel_akbar
Location: Lahore


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron