jdk giving problem after running sucessfully

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

jdk giving problem after running sucessfully

Postby sakbar » Mon May 05, 2003 1:30 am

hi,
installed jdk1.3.1 on my rh9 box.
i use netbeans for development.
Now weired thing has happend, i tried to run netbeans no response ofr lobg time, when i tried to run the javac, java executables from

/usr/java/jdk1.3.1_0/bin nothing happens & no javac messages come.

I tried to re-install / update the rpm (which i downloaded from sun site)) but there was message RPM already exsits (which should have appeared.

But when i user "rpm -e rpmfile" message comes that this rpmfile is not installed. I think my JDK has somethings wrong with it .. may be its corrputed...

Any ideas, solution for this problem.... as iam in middle of project.

TIA
SHAKEEL
sakbar
Naik
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Website: http://www.rootshell.be/~linuxpak
WLM: sakbar76
Yahoo Messenger: shakeel_akbar
Location: Lahore

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Mon May 19, 2003 12:17 am

did u also install the java runtime environment (JRE) for linux?
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby fawad » Mon May 19, 2003 10:30 pm

Faraz.Fazil wrote:did u also install the java runtime environment (JRE) for linux?

The JRE is part of the JDK. It's in the jre/ directory within the jdk dir.

sakbar, use rpm -Uvh instead of rpm -i (update not install). rpm -e expects a package name, not the complete filename (i.e. jdk, not jdk1.3.1). do rpm -q to find out what the canonical name of the package is.
fawad
Site Admin
 
Posts: 918
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
ICQ: 17672437
Website: http://www.fawad.net
WLM: fawadhalim@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: fawad2048
AOL: fawadhalim
Location: Addison, IL


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron