jdk giving problem after running sucessfully

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.
sakbar
Naik
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Lahore
Contact:

jdk giving problem after running sucessfully

Postby sakbar » Mon May 05, 2003 1:30 am

hi,
installed jdk1.3.1 on my rh9 box.
i use netbeans for development.
Now weired thing has happend, i tried to run netbeans no response ofr lobg time, when i tried to run the javac, java executables from

/usr/java/jdk1.3.1_0/bin nothing happens & no javac messages come.

I tried to re-install / update the rpm (which i downloaded from sun site)) but there was message RPM already exsits (which should have appeared.

But when i user "rpm -e rpmfile" message comes that this rpmfile is not installed. I think my JDK has somethings wrong with it .. may be its corrputed...

Any ideas, solution for this problem.... as iam in middle of project.

TIA
SHAKEEL

Faraz.Fazil
Major General
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe
Contact:

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Mon May 19, 2003 12:17 am

did u also install the java runtime environment (JRE) for linux?

fawad
Site Admin
Posts: 918
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Addison, IL
Contact:

Postby fawad » Mon May 19, 2003 10:30 pm

Faraz.Fazil wrote:did u also install the java runtime environment (JRE) for linux?

The JRE is part of the JDK. It's in the jre/ directory within the jdk dir.

sakbar, use rpm -Uvh instead of rpm -i (update not install). rpm -e expects a package name, not the complete filename (i.e. jdk, not jdk1.3.1). do rpm -q to find out what the canonical name of the package is.


Return to “Installation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest