Dual Boot Problem in Red hat 8

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

Dual Boot Problem in Red hat 8

Postby PuRe EviL » Mon Jun 02, 2003 3:13 pm

guyz i need some help i have intall red hat 7.3 with wondows 2000 serve and it dual boots perfectly but when i tryied in red hat 8 the same methods isn't working ... ....... is lilo doesn't load the dual setting and its goes with windows os and i can't go to linux os i tryied few options with diffrent boot loader but can make it to work on Red hat 8 ..
Is red hat 8 dual suport?
{PuRe EviL}
PuRe EviL
Cadet
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 2:58 pm
Website: http://www.geocities.com/spider_wolf2003/evil.html
WLM: only2raheel@hotmail.com
Location: Pakistan/Karachi

yar any of the linux supports boots as much u like

Postby farhanksa » Mon Jun 02, 2003 8:06 pm

saalam
u can dual boot with any of OS other than windows with linux.. for tha tu must be expert in lilo or grub configuration
u didnt postes ur problem detail.
boot from bootable
write at the prompt linux rescue
then when u reach shell write there
chroot /mnt/sysimage


then vi /etc/lilo.conf
look in there is there any option for linux rh 9??

if not write the lines by ur self after pressing the insert u can edit the file

press escape then :x for write and exit
write at shell : lilo -t
then lilo
it will write ur loared again at the place u told it in the lilo.conf file
god luck bye
farhanksa
Subedar
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 6:40 am
ICQ: 116765501
WLM: farhan12@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: commdsl@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Didn't needed Vi editor lesson

Postby PuRe EviL » Tue Jun 03, 2003 12:36 pm

Problem is when linux 8 is install and default boot in lilo loader it should load lilo fist . M I right ?
but it doesn't load lilo it loads boot.ini from windows ....????
same method works in 7.3 i checked and recheck it again but not in red hat 8 . Why ?
have any 1 tryied linux red hat 8 to boot dual with any other os ...



Contact me :evil: :twisted:
{PuRe EviL}
PuRe EviL
Cadet
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 2:58 pm
Website: http://www.geocities.com/spider_wolf2003/evil.html
WLM: only2raheel@hotmail.com
Location: Pakistan/Karachi

r u sure that u write ur loader at MBR

Postby farhanksa » Tue Jun 03, 2003 4:08 pm

salam
r u sure that . u had written ur lilo loader at MBR.. if its written on mbr it will encapsulate the boot.ini options by default

if the lilo loader dont boots up it means lilo is not written on mbr
u may have written it on the first sector of the linux partition
farhanksa
Subedar
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 6:40 am
ICQ: 116765501
WLM: farhan12@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: commdsl@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Postby PuRe EviL » Wed Jun 04, 2003 4:00 pm

Alright i boot from repair disc then what should i type u make lilo dual boot .
my windows is on c:\windows and linux is on d:
tell me what u type in lilo i can use vi editor on it ...
{PuRe EviL}
PuRe EviL
Cadet
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2003 2:58 pm
Website: http://www.geocities.com/spider_wolf2003/evil.html
WLM: only2raheel@hotmail.com
Location: Pakistan/Karachi

pls post ur /etc/lilo.conf file here

Postby farhanksa » Thu Jun 05, 2003 5:45 pm

salam
while installing u either choosed grub or lilo??remember somw thing about it
pls copy the etc/lilo.cong file in to window partition and post it here....then we can recomend u wt to do

to copy the file into windows partition u need to mount the fat partition if u have ntfs its another problem to mount ....easiest way is to copy the lilo.conf file in to flloopy then open it with notepad in windows and pls paste it here on forum...
if u had installed grub then its configuration file is in /etc /grub.conf
pls also paste the out put of folowing command

fdisk -l

good luck
farhanksa
Subedar
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 6:40 am
ICQ: 116765501
WLM: farhan12@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: commdsl@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Postby kadnan » Thu Jun 05, 2003 7:08 pm

I use Grub,its better than Lilo

during installation i install it on MBR rather going for other option because I installed linux on Extended partition of Windows

Grub rocks and if grub isn`t comming up then boot with your Linux CD
and type

"linux rescue" without qoutes then you may configure your Grub/Lilo

if you are using Lilo then replace linear mode with lba32 in lilo.conf

after doing tht run the command lilo ,thats it

-adnan
kadnan
Battalion Quarter Master Havaldaar
 
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
ICQ: 12940796
Location: Karachi,Pakistan

Postby fawad » Fri Jun 06, 2003 7:36 pm

On a related note, a standalone GRUB floppy comes in real handy when you run into problems like this. All you need to do is tweak your menu.lst file and boot into the OS of your choice.
fawad
Site Admin
 
Posts: 918
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
ICQ: 17672437
Website: http://www.fawad.net
WLM: fawadhalim@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: fawad2048
AOL: fawadhalim
Location: Addison, IL

Postby linuxgeek » Sat Jun 07, 2003 11:44 am

Salams


That's pretty amazing , we fell into the same problem at almost the same time. Here's What I did

1) Boot from the bootable cd

2) Type linux rescue and press enter

3) when it will boot , it will show the command line

4) type chroot /mnt/sysimage

5) type mkbootdisk

6) insert a formatted floppy in your floppy drive

7) reboot the system ... boot from the floppy and u will have u linux system restored .. now you can install the boot loader by going into the gui and then into system utls -> boot loader option!


regards

uppal
Junaid Saeed Uppal
uppal at linux dot net dot pk
Cell : +92.345.8586045
linuxgeek
Site Admin
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
ICQ: 15619696
Website: http://www.linux.net.pk
AOL: pakipenguin
Location: Multan, Pakistan

red hat dual boot

Postby zaeemarshad » Mon Jun 09, 2003 7:58 am

This is the procedure i use when dual booting with windows 2000/XP. Install redhat linux on the first sector of the boot partition. after the installation is complete, reboot the computer with the installation cd in the cd drive but at the linux prompt type linux rescue
>boot: linux rescue
it will attempt to find your linux installation. after it finds one issue this sequence of commands.
>chroot /mnt/sysimage
>rdev

it will return something like "/dev/hda5 /" depending upon which partition u installed linux. take the /dev/hda5 or whatever it is parameter and then issue this command
> dd if=/dev/hda5 of=/boot/linux.ldr bs=512 count=1
mount a fat32 partition. i assume it is mounted under /mnt. then type this
>cp /boot/linux.ldr /mnt
now the file linux.ldr is copied to a fat32 filesystem. boot into windows now and then copy this file to the c drive. open up your boot.ini and add a line like this
>c:\linux.ldr="Red Hat Linux"
save it and reboot. you will now have a red hat linux entry which will load your boot loader or linux depending upon your installation. this method always works for me.
zaeemarshad
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 12:35 pm
Website: http://zaeem.no-ip.org
WLM: zarshadvirk@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: negativecreep61@yahoo.com
AOL: zarshadvirk
Location: Islamabad


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron