Proxy Server / Router Setting on 386 machine (coyote linux)

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

Proxy Server / Router Setting on 386 machine (coyote linux)

Postby sakbar » Wed Aug 21, 2002 2:15 pm

hi,

iam planning to add a 386 machine as proxy/router which will be connected to my dial up /cable connection (future).

Iam planning to use coyote linux

my system configuration is:-

* amd 386 with 4 mb ram
* 130 mb hdd
* cga monitor & card <can i use it as only for text, no need for any gui env)
* 32 bit super i/o card


Is above config right for coyote linux or should i go for some other distribution or machine.

TIA
SHAKEEL :roll:
sakbar
Naik
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Website: http://www.rootshell.be/~linuxpak
WLM: sakbar76
Yahoo Messenger: shakeel_akbar
Location: Lahore

Postby mrkkhattak » Wed Aug 21, 2002 4:23 pm

yaar ... yeh specification tu bahut kaam kamzoor hai :(

it is minimum requirment is http://www.coyotelinux.com/modules.php? ... le&artid=6

386SX Processor or greater
12Mb RAM
1.44Mb Floppy Drive
MDA Display
mrkkhattak
Site Admin
 
Posts: 285
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
ICQ: 173967661
WLM: mrkkhattak
Yahoo Messenger: mrkkhattak
AOL: mrkkhattak
Location: Karachi

Postby sakbar » Thu Aug 22, 2002 1:03 am

yaar ... yeh specification tu bahut kaam kamzoor hai

it is minimum requirment is http://www.coyotelinux.com/modules.php? ... le&artid=6

386SX Processor or greater
12Mb RAM
1.44Mb Floppy Drive
MDA Display
:cry: can u plz than tell me than other distribution which can run such small sized machine & it can act as router / proxy server
sakbar
Naik
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Website: http://www.rootshell.be/~linuxpak
WLM: sakbar76
Yahoo Messenger: shakeel_akbar
Location: Lahore

Setting on 386 Machine

Postby mahin » Thu Aug 22, 2002 9:18 am

Take a look at MuLinux that will work on your system without any problem :) but you will need to do some tweaking [ how much not sure - as never tried doig that ] but it is worth a look.

With your hardware may I suggest that you keep copy of this list handy:ftp://garbo.uwasa.fi/pc/fileutil/00index.txt

These are DOS utilities some you will need. BTW it is University of Vaasa, Finland [ Country where Linux was born - not this University ] site.

May I suggest that you take a look at http://www.ipcop.org, this is a firewall and very good one at that, some of the earlier version may be made to run on your hardware. Try increasing the ram, if you can!

If you want to go the firewall route [ advisable - you can make it work as router. IPCop is in fact stripped down Linux Distro ] then Bob fryer has an excellent resource http://www.netintegrity.com.au/webindex.html hope this helps.
mahin
Major
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php/LinuxPakistanKarachi
Location: Karachi

Re: Setting on 386 Machine

Postby sakbar » Fri Aug 23, 2002 1:15 am

mahin wrote:Take a look at MuLinux that will work on your system without any problem :) but you will need to do some tweaking [ how much not sure - as never tried doig that ] but it is worth a look.

With your hardware may I suggest that you keep copy of this list handy:ftp://garbo.uwasa.fi/pc/fileutil/00index.txt

These are DOS utilities some you will need. BTW it is University of Vaasa, Finland [ Country where Linux was born - not this University ] site.

May I suggest that you take a look at http://www.ipcop.org, this is a firewall and very good one at that, some of the earlier version may be made to run on your hardware. Try increasing the ram, if you can!

If you want to go the firewall route [ advisable - you can make it work as router. IPCop is in fact stripped down Linux Distro ] then Bob fryer has an excellent resource http://www.netintegrity.com.au/webindex.html hope this helps.


Thanx a lot for the information i will check above sites & iam also considering in moving some good old stuff :)
sakbar
Naik
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Website: http://www.rootshell.be/~linuxpak
WLM: sakbar76
Yahoo Messenger: shakeel_akbar
Location: Lahore

Re: Setting on 386 Machine

Postby linuxgeek » Fri Aug 23, 2002 1:48 pm

sakbar wrote:
mahin wrote:Take a look at MuLinux that will work on your system without any problem :) but you will need to do some tweaking [ how much not sure - as never tried doig that ] but it is worth a look.

With your hardware may I suggest that you keep copy of this list handy:ftp://garbo.uwasa.fi/pc/fileutil/00index.txt

These are DOS utilities some you will need. BTW it is University of Vaasa, Finland [ Country where Linux was born - not this University ] site.

May I suggest that you take a look at http://www.ipcop.org, this is a firewall and very good one at that, some of the earlier version may be made to run on your hardware. Try increasing the ram, if you can!

If you want to go the firewall route [ advisable - you can make it work as router. IPCop is in fact stripped down Linux Distro ] then Bob fryer has an excellent resource http://www.netintegrity.com.au/webindex.html hope this helps.


Thanx a lot for the information i will check above sites & iam also considering in moving some good old stuff :)



bro , routing ... i would suggest FREESCO <www.freesco.org> , the best thing out there ... rox! runs off floppy and really rox ... dhcp .. dns , proxying ( with hdd ) , web server , firewalling ... every thing preconfigured ... web based administration , blockin on mac level / ip levels ....

and its very very stable. .. i am running it


--uppal
Junaid Saeed Uppal
uppal at linux dot net dot pk
Cell : +92.345.8586045
linuxgeek
Site Admin
 
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
ICQ: 15619696
Website: http://www.linux.net.pk
AOL: pakipenguin
Location: Multan, Pakistan


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron