Mounting Other windows partitions in RH9

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

Mounting Other windows partitions in RH9

Postby usman767 » Fri Jun 13, 2003 4:21 pm

i nhave a little problem in RH9 .The problem is that i v\cannot mount my had disk partitions. I used to do iy easily in KDE but now it is not working.
I give the command"/dev/hda8"and it says that mount point doesn't exists. All the partitions are of FAT32.Please Help!
usman767
Cadet
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2003 4:03 pm
WLM: musman_2002@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: usmanfcs
AOL: usman767

Re : Mounting Windows Partisions

Postby LinuxFreaK » Fri Jun 13, 2003 8:33 pm

Dear Usman,
Use Mount Command or Add Entry of your Partision in /etc/mtab
Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi

Postby gh4z4nf4r » Sat Jun 14, 2003 12:23 am

salam,
make a mount point in /mnt
#mkdir /mnt/windrv
to mount at any time
#mount -t vfat /dev/hda8 /mnt/windrv
gh4z4nf4r
Naik
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 3:51 pm
WLM: gh4z4nf4r@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: gh4z4nf4r@yahoo.com
Location: Wah Cantt

Postby shaheryar786pk » Sat Jun 14, 2003 9:51 pm

Type df at Bash Prompt or goto KDE control panel and expand the Information tree and then click on disks, to see partition table.

If you can see your DOS partitions there then checkout their names i.e. /dev/hdaX where X is a number. Then try to use that name in mount command.

If you can't find your DOS partitions in any of this. Then your Partition table might have some conflict. Best way to deal with it is to reinstall the Linux with LBA Mode (Large Binary Array Mode) enabled in Advanced Disk Configuration.

Note: Your harddisk must have support for LBA Mode and you have to enable it in Bios Setup on Harddisk Information Secreen. Typically all harddisks having capacity above or equal to 10GB have this support enabled by default. But make sure yourself. :)
Shaheryar S. Sheikh
shaheryar786pk@yahoo.co.uk
shaheryar786pk
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2003 1:17 pm
WLM: shari_786pk@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: shari_786pk@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

ntfs support

Postby skswati » Sun Jun 15, 2003 7:01 am

do linux support NTFS partitions
skswati
Naik
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2003 5:33 am

ntfs support

Postby skswati » Sun Jun 15, 2003 7:23 am

do linux support NTFS partitions
skswati
Naik
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Jun 15, 2003 5:33 am

Postby zaeemarshad » Sun Jun 15, 2003 9:26 am

linux does support NTFS but u will have to recompile the kernel for that option. also use it for reading purposes only and dont try to write to the ntfs file system as this may cause file corruption.

Regards
Zaeem
zaeemarshad
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 12:35 pm
Website: http://zaeem.no-ip.org
WLM: zarshadvirk@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: negativecreep61@yahoo.com
AOL: zarshadvirk
Location: Islamabad

ya linux support ntfs..

Postby farhanksa » Mon Jun 16, 2003 2:12 am

aoa

linux support ntfs but its safe only for read only.. if u write then its going to damage it..

and how the modules r available .. also u can find the rpm for modules.... o ru have to recompile kernel... the easiest for u will be inserting the module...
its already posted on the forum regardign the modules
http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/
http://linux-ntfs.sourceforge.net/downloads.html#ntfs


it will be easiest for u
http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/linu ... 1.i386.rpm
farhanksa
Subedar
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 6:40 am
ICQ: 116765501
WLM: farhan12@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: commdsl@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron