How To instal Drivers ?

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

Re: How To instal Drivers ?

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Sat Aug 30, 2003 6:35 am

As always, Thanx for the encouragement and appreciation mahin brother.
It really encourages me to post and help others a lot more.
Ill be making a lot of wiki threads soon.

mahin wrote:
Faraz.Fazil wrote: <snip>
I downloaded that vga driver of yours and unpacked it.
<snip>
Be thankful to those who help you.

These days no one bothers to download files for you, unpack them and spend loads of time giving you install instructions

Good luck!


Some one we know do bothers :wink: now all we need is to request him to add this to Wiki :)

Great Work :!: Thanks
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby arpanet » Sat Aug 30, 2003 4:39 pm

ADAB.....

wELL bahi jan my bad luch alway stric me back and i ma having relay bad time as i configer all the linux stings and drivers all and go to sleep and my cozon come to play unfotunatliy linux partion is shown in windows 2000 y i did not know he try to acces but it not all then going to formate it and :roll: he sticks me back a week that is rellay bad 4 me but now i again done all the work

i download the driver that u mention in you post but i did not know ho to recopli a kernal as i an a new bytes :( now tell me what to do...

about intel v90 put it behinde the barss but tell me which winmodem sports linux as you say some winmodems sport linux tell me the name as i have linux 9 on my system ..

i can abloe to get external modem coz i did not have too much mony as i need cd rom too and i am not able to get it that then how i get external so tell me that name of winmodem that sport ...

thakns 4 you help u help me alot to do all ...
i relay thank full to u ....

Faraz.Fazil wrote:Well for the modem, try using the driver i mentioned in my earlier post. (the .tar.gz file)

If it works ok, otherwise try recompiling your kernel, and compile all ppp related stuff as module.Then load all the required modules through /etc/modules.conf

If that does not work, then you may have to do some kludging.

It may well be that your v90 winmodem does not work under linux at all...due to the simpla fact that most winmodems dont work under linux, since winmodems are not true modems.

The best option is to buy a good isa or pci modem that is supported under linux.GOod modems arent that expensive these dayz after all.



RAB RAKAHA.
{s7r1k3r}
Be MiNe.
arpanet
Naik
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 2:27 am
Website: http://www.reciteofquran.tk
WLM: allahlok@hotmail.com
Location: PaK1S7aN / LaH0r3

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Sun Aug 31, 2003 11:38 am

Arpanet,

Im warning you.
Dont buy a winmodem for using under linux.
Most winmodems dont work under linux, and are crap anyway.

Buy a good pci or isa based modem that is supported under linux.
Like any modem using a conexant chip.

There is not much price difference between a winmodem and a good isa or pci based modem.

Be on the safe side and buy a good isa or pci based modem.

Goto the hardware shop, and note down the models of the modems u thought u could buy.
Then check their compatibility with linux on the WEB.
IF u find a good isa or pci modem that is compatible with linux, buy it!!
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby arpanet » Mon Sep 01, 2003 8:54 am

ADAB

thnks is pci and isa modems are not exteranl modems
and which one is good one from these pci or isa so that i chek 4 that

i try my best to get the list of good modems pry 4 me that i get the right plce :(

RAB RAKAHA..
{s7r1k3r}

Be MiNe.
arpanet
Naik
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 2:27 am
Website: http://www.reciteofquran.tk
WLM: allahlok@hotmail.com
Location: PaK1S7aN / LaH0r3

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Mon Sep 01, 2003 9:13 pm

I think i already elaborated on the modem issue in much detail arpanet!
REad carefully!

Good luck finding a good modem.
As i said, make a list of available modems first, and check if they are compatible with linux.

B.T.W New modems mostly come for pci slots these days.
ISA slots were used in the good old days.
I have an isa modem on 1 system, and a pci one on another one.Both work equally good.

Also some motherboards have isa and pci slots , both but some only have pci slots.

SO also make sure which slot u have!!

ISA slots are normally larger in viewing than the pci ones, and are normally coloured black.
PCI slots are white in color mostly and have a two fold junct.


arpanet wrote:ADAB

thnks is pci and isa modems are not exteranl modems
and which one is good one from these pci or isa so that i chek 4 that

i try my best to get the list of good modems pry 4 me that i get the right plce :(

RAB RAKAHA..
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby arpanet » Tue Sep 02, 2003 8:01 am

ADAB

YAM i have whie one mena pci slots but what is that with junks ?

RAB RAKAHA..
{s7r1k3r}

Be MiNe.
arpanet
Naik
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 2:27 am
Website: http://www.reciteofquran.tk
WLM: allahlok@hotmail.com
Location: PaK1S7aN / LaH0r3

Postby farhantoqeer » Tue Sep 02, 2003 10:19 am

you can fine any cheap external modem.
farhantoqeer
Major General
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 5:45 pm
Website: http://www.emergen.biz
Location: Karachi

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Tue Sep 02, 2003 10:27 pm

First of all, let me clarify on the difference between internal and external modems.

Internal Modems
Internal modems are those that are seated on your motherboard.
They can be normal pci or isa based modems inserted in the slots OR they can be the winmodems or the modems that are builtin the motherboard and just require extension brackets... like the hsp56 buitlin modem on an gfxcel mother board.

Out of those, Winmodems are strongly discouraged.They are crap and as stated earlier most of them dont work under linux.

The ones that are recommended are the normal pci or isa based modems, that are not built in the system and donot use extension brackets but those that are inserted in the pci or isa slot.

External modems

These are modems that are not inside the PC.Instead they are placed besides the cpui like on a table! They are connected to the pc via a serial port etc. These are good too but they are expensive and there is not much advantage from your perspsective in buying them.
Also they require connector cords and an extra power supply.

Conclusion:

Buying a normal pci modem is the best option, i.e a modem that is seated in your pci slot.It should not be a winmodem or shoult not be one that uses extension brackets.


OKies. then good luck finding a pci modem that is compatible with linux.
I think buyging a good pci modem that is compatible with linux is not that difficult.
You need to put some effort by yourself as well, like making a list of the modems available with your vendor, and then checking their compatibility with linux on the Web.

arpanet wrote:ADAB

YAM i have whie one mena pci slots but what is that with junks ?

RAB RAKAHA..
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Wed Sep 03, 2003 1:51 am

Arpanet, do check out the Intel's 536ep.

As stated here:

http://www.linuxpakistan.net/forum2x/vi ... =3095#3095
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby arpanet » Wed Sep 03, 2003 4:14 am

ADAB...

Faraz.Fazil
as you sujest me to get a pci Modem coz i found a pci slot on my sestem with white color and they are 3 in no and on one my intel modem is working and 2 are free

now tell me wich pci modem you are using so that i get that..

thanks to all who help me .. espacialy Faraz.


RAB RAKAHA..
{s7r1k3r}

Be MiNe.
arpanet
Naik
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 2:27 am
Website: http://www.reciteofquran.tk
WLM: allahlok@hotmail.com
Location: PaK1S7aN / LaH0r3

Postby arpanet » Wed Sep 03, 2003 4:23 am

ADAB..


Faraz.Fazil wrote:Arpanet, do check out the Intel's 536ep.

As stated here:

http://www.linuxpakistan.net/forum2x/vi ... =3095#3095


I Did not want to get any win modem any more as i have i did if some later version of linux come to play and this not sport then again i had to get pci then y i spend $ on it ... :(

RAB RAKAHA.
{s7r1k3r}

Be MiNe.
arpanet
Naik
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 2:27 am
Website: http://www.reciteofquran.tk
WLM: allahlok@hotmail.com
Location: PaK1S7aN / LaH0r3

Re: How To instal Drivers ?

Postby mahin » Wed Sep 03, 2003 9:42 am

arpanet wrote:ADAB
<snip>
now tell me wich pci modem you are using so that i get that..
<snip>
RAB RAKAHA..


May I suggest if you post a list of modems available in your area and the asking price.

This will help all to identify the best among them and with price available they can comment upon it also.
mahin
Major
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php/LinuxPakistanKarachi
Location: Karachi

Re: How To instal Drivers ?

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Wed Sep 03, 2003 1:01 pm

Well said.
That is exactly what i am trying to tell arpanet to do.

B.T.W arpanet, im using an old isa modem: Apache V34-IV Sp+ 33.6
Since u dont have an isa slot, so it is not meant for your system.

As already stated, post the list of modems available with your vendor.

mahin wrote:
arpanet wrote:ADAB
<snip>
now tell me wich pci modem you are using so that i get that..
<snip>
RAB RAKAHA..


May I suggest if you post a list of modems available in your area and the asking price.

This will help all to identify the best among them and with price available they can comment upon it also.
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

prices r

Postby farhanksa » Thu Sep 04, 2003 12:22 am

external USR 56k 2900rs
ISA second hand from hall road or hafeez center
56k rarely found @400rs 33.6 @300rs

pci 56k conexant ,rockwell,inteln,lucent,pctel @300 used @500-600 new

well u can go hall road and find Zafar computers they got god collection of modems :)
farhanksa
Subedar
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 6:40 am
ICQ: 116765501
WLM: farhan12@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: commdsl@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Postby arpanet » Thu Sep 04, 2003 3:13 am

ADAB.
Thanks bro tomaro visist is set 4 the hall road thanks once again..

me friend have apachi modem he want to sale but i did not yet know the model but he say that was 56k is all apacahi modems are isa?

RAB RAKAHA..
{s7r1k3r}

Be MiNe.
arpanet
Naik
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2003 2:27 am
Website: http://www.reciteofquran.tk
WLM: allahlok@hotmail.com
Location: PaK1S7aN / LaH0r3


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron