HOT: Here is How to Install linux without cdrom!!

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Fri Aug 29, 2003 9:42 pm

Creating iso images is simple too.

You can use dd or mkisofs to create them in linux

First mount the cdrom using mount command.

To create iso images using dd command:
=================================
dd if=/dev/cdrom of=filename.iso

To create iso images using mkisofs command:
====================================
mkisofs -o filename.iso /mnt/cdrom

To create iso images in windows, use a tool like WINISO or nero.

Its that simple.What did u not understand?

eternal peace wrote:i've got Redhat 9 on 3 cds but i don't want to install it through my cds,i want to make iso of my cds on my hdd.
how can i do that??

i've read,

farhanksa Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2003 11:03 pm Post subject: u can also make ISO from cd

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

to make iso from cd use the command
dd if=/dev/cdrom of=file.iso

then agasin same method of F.F and newbie



plz elaborate!!!
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby newbie » Sat Aug 30, 2003 3:14 am

there is another option

cat /dev/cdrom >> /root/filename.iso
newbie
Company Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 156
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2002 4:18 am
WLM: usman_fool@hotmail.com
Location: lahore

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Sat Aug 30, 2003 6:10 am

Yup, and there are tons of other ways to create the iso images as well.

newbie wrote:there is another option

cat /dev/cdrom >> /root/filename.iso
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby eternal peace » Sun Aug 31, 2003 7:02 pm

thanks alot now i've completely understand the thing,

i was searching for installing linux from hdd for a long time but now i've found the right answer.

thanks alot!!
hail to linux!!!
eternal peace
Naik
 
Posts: 86
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2003 6:44 pm

Postby farhanksa » Mon Sep 08, 2003 2:15 am

if u have already inserted the linux bootable cd in the cdrom....and u r booting from floopy with boot.img written on it.........then mostly it directly jumps to cd from floopy just after it reads image from floopy....
in other case it askes u after some screens ..where is the image of cd...either cd or partitions of hd.....they may be fat or ext..
farhanksa
Subedar
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 6:40 am
ICQ: 116765501
WLM: farhan12@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: commdsl@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Mon Sep 08, 2003 6:04 pm

Well, i think it may be considered as a side Info.
Becoz, there is no use in using boot floppies to start linux setup with the cd already inserted into the cd drive...and then installing from the cd.

The main use of using Linux Setup Boot floppies is to install linux without a cdrom/cd
.

farhanksa wrote:if u have already inserted the linux bootable cd in the cdrom....and u r booting from floopy with boot.img written on it.........then mostly it directly jumps to cd from floopy just after it reads image from floopy....
in other case it askes u after some screens ..where is the image of cd...either cd or partitions of hd.....they may be fat or ext..
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby farhanksa » Tue Sep 09, 2003 8:00 pm

wt i tried to say was... i had experienced.
i installed rh7.3 on the pc with cdrom but it didnt supported cd-boot.
and i knew that i have to use boot.img but wheni reads img from floopy it directly jumped to cdrom....then no difference btween booting from floopy or cd...

wt the new thing i tried to post is if ur pc dot support cd-boot and u r using floopy to boot then then there wil be not difference in instalation after it reads img from floopy and control jumps to cd rom...

so if u trying to install from .iso dont put linux bootable cd in the cdrom then u boot from floopy with boot.img file then u can have the option either u want to install from hd or cd...other wise by default it goes for cdrom -instalation
farhanksa
Subedar
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 6:40 am
ICQ: 116765501
WLM: farhan12@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: commdsl@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

but ther is another problem

Postby farhanksa » Tue Sep 09, 2003 8:04 pm

i got debian iso i cant open the iso as u posted in ur post ..that u dont need to worry if u dont have boot.img... use winrar to take the boot.img file out of .iso??

how to do that...i tried it with winrar but it didnt work
farhanksa
Subedar
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 6:40 am
ICQ: 116765501
WLM: farhan12@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: commdsl@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Wed Sep 10, 2003 10:30 am

Good point.

farhanksa wrote:
so if u trying to install from .iso dont put linux bootable cd in the cdrom then u boot from floopy with boot.img file then u can have the option either u want to install from hd or cd...other wise by default it goes for cdrom -instalation
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Re: but ther is another problem

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Wed Sep 10, 2003 10:39 am

Still no problem.
I use winrar with iso's and it works fine.
If you still cant use winrar to open/extract iso contents, worry not.
There are tons of programs that let you do the same.

Download and Use WinIso or ISobuster.

Here is what the makers of WinIso say:

=======================================================
WinISO is a CD-ROM image file utility that can convert BIN to ISO, extract/edit/create ISO files directly, make bootable CDs and as a BIN/ISO converter/extractor/editor.

It can process almost all CD-ROM image file(s) including ISO and BIN. With WinISO, you can add/delete/rename/extract file(s) within image files. You can convert image files to the standard ISO format and you have the ability to create ISO image file(s) from a CD-ROM.

The operating system requirements are Windows 95, Windows 98/98SE, Windows Me, Windows NT4, Windows 2000 or Windows XP.
========================================================

Download and more info: www.winiso.com
Download of Isobuster: www.isobuster.com

Make sure you make a copy of the iso image, and use the copied iso to extract the contents so that the original iso may not in any way get corrupt.

farhanksa wrote:i got debian iso i cant open the iso as u posted in ur post ..that u dont need to worry if u dont have boot.img... use winrar to take the boot.img file out of .iso??

how to do that...i tried it with winrar but it didnt work
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Wed Sep 10, 2003 11:21 am

Also note that, debian has a slightly different procedure from redhat.

Some people have reported to use loadlin to install debian on win98 dual boot box successfully.

Debian also provides an install.bat to accomplish passing the
right arguments to loadlin. You might check out a debian mirror

(http://http.us.debian.org/dists/stable/ ... 6/current/ should
work) and see what they do in the install.bat file.

Also you may get hold of an install boot disk for debian from debian.org
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Wed Sep 10, 2003 11:31 am

Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby farhanksa » Sun Sep 28, 2003 4:53 am

u should place the iso image in FAT or ext partition........boot.img is cant to read from NTFS
farhanksa
Subedar
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 6:40 am
ICQ: 116765501
WLM: farhan12@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: commdsl@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Postby farhanksa » Sun Sep 28, 2003 4:54 am

u should place the iso image in FAT or ext partition........boot.img is cant to read from NTFS
farhanksa
Subedar
 
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 6:40 am
ICQ: 116765501
WLM: farhan12@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: commdsl@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Sun Sep 28, 2003 5:16 pm

Yup...

The iso image must obviously be either on a fat/fat32 or ext2/ext3 partition.
Iso images located on ntfs partitions would not work...also, as a side note, most kernels like those on redhat by default come without ntfs support and you have to recompile your kernel to include ntfs support.

At this moment only stable ntfs read only support is available..
Ntfs write support is available in 2.6 kernel but is highly experimental and is not advised.

Also you cannot access ntfs partitions in dos....unless u use a utility like NTFS4Dos professional by erd.
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron