how to connect through ISA server

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.
barlas
Naib Subedar
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 11:07 am
Location: Lahore, Pakistan
Contact:

how to connect through ISA server

Postby barlas » Mon Aug 25, 2003 5:36 pm

AOA!
I am using red hat linux 9 and win98 with dual boot mode. I connect through ISA server. I don't know how to setup these things in linux. I know its settings in win98.
just tell me where to enter IP address and other things. if you want to know any thing plz inform me thnks.
Aqeel Zafar

Faraz.Fazil
Major General
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe
Contact:

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Mon Aug 25, 2003 9:56 pm

Hmm.Post in detail as to what sort of isa based service or conn you are using.
Are u using a desi cable net and trying to use it with linux?

NOrmally in redhat 9 such network settings etc can be added through the redhat-config-network utility which can be accessed from main menu=> system settings => network or by invkoing it by typing "redhat-config-network" from the terminal (without quotes)...or or u can also type setup at terminal and go to network settings.

as i said, post your scenario in detail.

barlas
Naib Subedar
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 11:07 am
Location: Lahore, Pakistan
Contact:

Postby barlas » Thu Aug 28, 2003 12:33 am

I am using "desi cable network". Server has win2000 installed.
I have checked "network-config" but didn't quite understood it.
well...what else you want to know? just tell me, i will provide you with as much details as i can.
Aqeel Zafar

Faraz.Fazil
Major General
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe
Contact:

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Thu Aug 28, 2003 11:11 am

Well, that depends on how ur desi cable wala provides the connection.
Different cable walaas have different ways of providing the connection.Like some just require you to enter an ip adress in a controller and start browsing.Some require a proxy etc.

So post the entire details of how u connect to the desi cable net in windows 98.

The more better and the more detail u explain how u connect to the net in win98, the more better we will be able to help u set it up in linux.

So post the complete info.

barlas
Naib Subedar
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 11:07 am
Location: Lahore, Pakistan
Contact:

Postby barlas » Fri Aug 29, 2003 10:47 pm

setting in win98 are just simple
just have to enter IP address in Control Panel>Network and specify proxy server in browser(never specified proxy settings in MSN or Yahoo messenger). Microsoft Firewall client is also needed.
1-ISA server name and proxy server name are same.
2-domain name is not same as server name.
Note:- I dont know anyting abt networking, just came to know little bit setting due to this cable.
Aqeel Zafar

Babarq
Lance Naik
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 12:30 pm

Proxy Client

Postby Babarq » Sat Aug 30, 2003 5:56 pm

AOA

i wanted to connect my Linux Box via Win Proxy Server .... but it used to refuse my connection ... on contacting my server administrator i was told that the settings were such that Windows Proxy Client was taking the Authentication with itself ... while as the Linux box did not have a Client there was no authentication .....
so he applied a rule for my machine and allow it through the Proxy server ....

Maybe you have the Same case .... The Server Admins usually take such kind of measures to trust the Windows Authentication ....

Hope my narration would be of any help.
Regards
BQ

barlas
Naib Subedar
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 11:07 am
Location: Lahore, Pakistan
Contact:

Re: Proxy Client

Postby barlas » Sat Aug 30, 2003 10:42 pm

Babarq wrote:AOA....................................................................................................Hope my narration would be of any help.

thnx for reply, but as i had told i am completely newbie and dont even know where and how to enter ip address etc. hope u understood, i will still ask my Network Administrator, but what should i ask him. plz tell me in detail.
Aqeel Zafar

lemon
Naik
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: karachi
Contact:

Postby lemon » Sat Aug 30, 2003 10:52 pm

Yar just go to Set up internet connection from k menu in kde in system menu there in internet connection wizard just select ethernet and then answer simple questions and ur desi cable is set to go.
Wasay Ahmed
B.E. CE SSUET
MBA IBA

Faraz.Fazil
Major General
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe
Contact:

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Sun Aug 31, 2003 4:13 am

Goto terminal and run this command:

/usr/bin/redhat-config-network

Create an ethernet connection with your device like eth0
Make sure, you ethernet card is installed properly.Use the lspci or the corresponding command to check if its installed.
In any case do set it up in the hardware section of redhat/config-network

Enter the Ip addresses, DNS and other information there.

Reboot and if required enter the proxy in the browser or as a global network proxy.

You can also type setup at terminal, and goto set up networking and enter the settings there.

Now different cable wallas have different setups.So the setup instructions vary from case to case.For this very reason, you may have to ask your desi cable walla as to what settings are required.

barlas
Naib Subedar
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 11:07 am
Location: Lahore, Pakistan
Contact:

Postby barlas » Sun Aug 31, 2003 11:22 am

thnx Faraz.Fazil and all others, i will now try the setting and inform you guys if problem is not solved. thnx again
Aqeel Zafar

barlas
Naib Subedar
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 11:07 am
Location: Lahore, Pakistan
Contact:

Re: Proxy Client

Postby barlas » Sun Sep 14, 2003 9:39 pm

AOA!
problem is not solved yet...

1) I am using realtek 8029 Ethernet card. It's driver can be found at Realtek.com. Three drivers are listed there, I downloaded them in win98 but didnt understood whichone to use and how to use.

Babarq wrote:so he applied a rule for my machine and allow it through the Proxy server ....


2) I talked to server admin but he dont know anything. Whenever I talk to him on anything like that he says "Yaar mujhe to nahin maloom aap khood hee check kar lo". Can anyone help me how to setup this rule.
Last edited by barlas on Mon Sep 15, 2003 7:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Aqeel Zafar

farhanksa
Subedar
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 6:40 am
Location: Lahore
Contact:

Postby farhanksa » Mon Sep 15, 2003 12:40 am

i i think there is some compatiability issue btw isa and linux....it should not be...
pls check here
http://www.ibiblio.org/gferg/ldp/Web-Br ... HOWTO.html

but i had successfult used net behind winproxy which is not good sw i think

spawnisalive
Lance Naik
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2003 8:21 pm
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Postby spawnisalive » Tue Sep 16, 2003 9:01 pm

i have the same situation as urs what i did was that i configured my network card the way discribed previously gave it an ip and i also enabled SAMBA thats the key u need samba enabled and wallah u got net !!!! if u need details plz let me know thx bye


i m also new here so let me know the rules.

LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Re: ISA Server

Postby LinuxFreaK » Tue Sep 16, 2003 11:01 pm

Dear PLUCians,
i would like to tell you that you must read the old posts on the same topic and if you don't find out the solution then post your Query.
Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed

barlas
Naib Subedar
Posts: 315
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2003 11:07 am
Location: Lahore, Pakistan
Contact:

Postby barlas » Tue Sep 16, 2003 11:04 pm

thnx for the help! there are three drivers listed under unix(linux) at the site of my NIC Realtek.com. They are

1. Packet driver
2.SCO Unix
3.Unixware 7.x

Tell me which one to and how to install. BTW my card is Realtek 8029[/url]
Aqeel Zafar


Return to “Installation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest