accessing internet on LAN

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

accessing internet on LAN

Postby outstream » Thu Jan 11, 2007 3:28 pm

Hi all,

I have done a clean fresh install of slack 11.

This machine is on LAN and the problem is that slack isnt picking up my LAN card or something. I cant browse internet.

earlier when i installed slack 11 on same machine, i couldt browse the net normally. i didnt have to install any drivers for my LAN card. slack picked it up automatically.

The network is set on DHCP. I enabled DHCP during installation.

here is the out put from my ifconfig and lspci

Code: Select all

root@cisco:~# ifconfig
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

root@cisco:~# /sbin/lspci

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82865G/PE/P DRAM Controller/Host-Hub Interface (rev 02)

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82865G Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)

00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)

00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)

00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)

00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)

00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)

00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev c2)

00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)

00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) IDE Controller (rev 02)

00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801EB (ICH5) SATA Controller (rev 02)

00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) SMBus Controller (rev 02)

00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)

01:03.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)


doesnt this means, it has picked up my ethernet controller?

any ideas why i cant access internet from this box?

thanks.
Testing?What's that? If it compiles, its good, if it boots up it is perfect.
----------------------------------------------------
Imran
Registered Linux User # 334322
outstream
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 10:04 pm
Location: islamabad

Postby Anjum Butt » Thu Jan 11, 2007 5:15 pm

AA!

It appears that you have not configured this system's networking details.
To resolve this, you need to

1. Login as root
2. Run netconfig
3. Provide networking details
4. Restart networking using /etc/rc.d/rc.inet1 restart

I hope this will resolve your issue
Take care
More will follow :)

Anjum Butt
Registered Linux User #314299
Anjum Butt
Company Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2003 9:02 am
Location: Karachi

Postby lambda » Thu Jan 11, 2007 6:04 pm

try "modprobe 8139cp" or "modprobe 8139too", and see if it recognizes your ethernet device ("ifconfig -a" or "dmesg" should show something like "eth0").
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Re: accessing internet on LAN

Postby nomankhn » Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:20 am

outstream wrote:Hi all,

I have done a clean fresh install of slack 11.

This machine is on LAN and the problem is that slack isnt picking up my LAN card or something. I cant browse internet.

earlier when i installed slack 11 on same machine, i couldt browse the net normally. i didnt have to install any drivers for my LAN card. slack picked it up automatically.

The network is set on DHCP. I enabled DHCP during installation.

here is the out put from my ifconfig and lspci

Code: Select all

root@cisco:~# ifconfig
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

root@cisco:~# /sbin/lspci

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82865G/PE/P DRAM Controller/Host-Hub Interface (rev 02)

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82865G Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)

00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)

00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)

00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)

00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)

00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)

00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev c2)

00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)

00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) IDE Controller (rev 02)

00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801EB (ICH5) SATA Controller (rev 02)

00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) SMBus Controller (rev 02)

00:1f.5 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 02)

01:03.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)


doesnt this means, it has picked up my ethernet controller?

any ideas why i cant access internet from this box?

thanks.


Dear brother,

Check your kernel version, and also update download a new kernel from kernel.org and recompile it, i faced that issue with slackware mostly.

Regards
Noman Liaquat Khanzada Rajput
Linux means productivity and fun.
We all love Linux, but it's also a fact that some people might not be able to migrate.
nomankhn
Colonel
 
Posts: 714
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm

Postby Saad Khan » Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:45 pm

run the following command and kindly paste here output

ifconfig eth0


if your ethernet is not detected, then you should have a following message.
e.g

eth0: error fetching interface information: Device not found
Saad Khan
Company Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 6:19 pm
Location: Karachi

Re: accessing internet on LAN

Postby lambda » Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:51 pm

just load the module. there's no need to install or build a new kernel.
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Re: accessing internet on LAN

Postby outstream » Fri Jan 12, 2007 2:37 pm

Saad Khan wrote:run the following command and kindly paste here output

ifconfig eth0


if your ethernet is not detected, then you should have a following message.
e.g

eth0: error fetching interface information: Device not found


I`ve already pasted output of my ifconfig and lspci, it lists my ethernet card in output of lspci.

lambda wrote:just load the module. there's no need to install or build a new kernel.


You are right. I think the problem is of modules. I did a silly mistake of unchecking something, that I dont remember now, under the Networking section during kernel recompile. May be thats why its not picking up my LAN.

I tried to recompile the kernel with default settings but I`m running into some problems booting up with the new kernel. I`ve mentioned that in another thread.
http://www.linuxpakistan.net/forum2x/viewtopic.php?t=6445
Testing?What's that? If it compiles, its good, if it boots up it is perfect.

----------------------------------------------------

Imran

Registered Linux User # 334322
outstream
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 10:04 pm
Location: islamabad

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:02 am

Dear outstream,
Salam,

I prefer do as lambda told you. For detailed Kernel Recompilation Help you can take a look into following thread.

FYI, http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions ... p?t=127095

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron