IBM Netfinity 5500 M20

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

IBM Netfinity 5500 M20

Postby AcidEYE » Sun Feb 04, 2007 12:54 pm

Asalam U Alikum,

i've bought a server machine IBM Netfinity 5500 M20, when i am trying to install Redhat Enterprise Linux AS or ES, it says no drive device found, i've 2 18 gb scsi drives installed on the machine, windows xp, windows 2000 server working on this machine, someone please help me it's urgent.

thanks

sorry i forgot to tell it's IBM XEON machine
Linux Addicted
AcidEYE
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 5:41 pm
WLM: a_flame@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: acid_eye69@yahoo.com
AOL: none
Location: Lahore (Pakistan)

Postby kbukhari » Sun Feb 04, 2007 2:31 pm

all u need to make a raid on the server
for such do you have the server raid utility ?
--
Syed Kashif Ali Bukhari
+92-345-8444420
http://sysadminsline.com
http://kashifbukhari.com
kbukhari
Major General
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 12:29 am
Website: http://kashifbukhari.com
Location: Lahore

Postby AcidEYE » Sun Feb 04, 2007 3:13 pm

yes i think so, IBM ServRAID version 7.10.18
Linux Addicted
AcidEYE
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 5:41 pm
WLM: a_flame@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: acid_eye69@yahoo.com
AOL: none
Location: Lahore (Pakistan)

Postby kbukhari » Sun Feb 04, 2007 4:12 pm

AcidEYE wrote:yes i think so, IBM ServRAID version 7.10.18

then build a raid 1st
--

Syed Kashif Ali Bukhari

+92-345-8444420

http://sysadminsline.com

http://kashifbukhari.com
kbukhari
Major General
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 12:29 am
Website: http://kashifbukhari.com
Location: Lahore

Postby AcidEYE » Sun Feb 04, 2007 5:17 pm

i do not know how to work with RAID, i've no experince, and one thing more, fedora core 4 detects that hard drives, and all windows os can also detect, but redhat9, fedora 5, redhat enterprise as4 es can't detect it
Linux Addicted
AcidEYE
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 5:41 pm
WLM: a_flame@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: acid_eye69@yahoo.com
AOL: none
Location: Lahore (Pakistan)

Postby kbukhari » Sun Feb 04, 2007 5:41 pm

it mean you raid is already configured

seems like listed OSes not supporting your raid ( may be )
--

Syed Kashif Ali Bukhari

+92-345-8444420

http://sysadminsline.com

http://kashifbukhari.com
kbukhari
Major General
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 12:29 am
Website: http://kashifbukhari.com
Location: Lahore

Postby AcidEYE » Sun Feb 04, 2007 5:44 pm

hmmm yes i think so, these OS not supporting, what Xeon machine should i buy? in used? and on this machine should i install fedora core 4 becuz i've 100 users and i want to run squid making this machine a proxy server kindly guide me
Linux Addicted
AcidEYE
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 5:41 pm
WLM: a_flame@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: acid_eye69@yahoo.com
AOL: none
Location: Lahore (Pakistan)

Postby kbukhari » Sun Feb 04, 2007 6:29 pm

AcidEYE wrote:hmmm yes i think so, these OS not supporting, what Xeon machine should i buy? in used? and on this machine should i install fedora core 4 becuz i've 100 users and i want to run squid making this machine a proxy server kindly guide me


yes usre can use it and buy it . If it is low in cost
--

Syed Kashif Ali Bukhari

+92-345-8444420

http://sysadminsline.com

http://kashifbukhari.com
kbukhari
Major General
 
Posts: 1222
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 12:29 am
Website: http://kashifbukhari.com
Location: Lahore

Postby AcidEYE » Sun Feb 04, 2007 8:23 pm

i give on this machine, i installed fedora core 4, with few errors and in the end gui is not supported by it's vga card, can someone please tell me which Xeon machine should i buy in used condition which can be supported by linux distro

i bought this machine from hafeez center at rs/=12500
please guide me

the machine i bought is

IBM Xeon 4 processor 550
1 GB ram
2 scsi 18GB hard
RAID controller version 7.10.18

not working with redhat enterprise linux as4 es, fedora core5 etc..etc..
only windows OS working fine on it
Linux Addicted
AcidEYE
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 5:41 pm
WLM: a_flame@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: acid_eye69@yahoo.com
AOL: none
Location: Lahore (Pakistan)

Postby AcidEYE » Sun Feb 04, 2007 8:25 pm


IBM Xeon Netfinity 5500 M20 (8662)
4 processor 550 mhz
1 gb ram
2 scsi 18 GB hards
RAID controller version 7.10.18
Linux Addicted
AcidEYE
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 5:41 pm
WLM: a_flame@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: acid_eye69@yahoo.com
AOL: none
Location: Lahore (Pakistan)

Postby lambda » Sun Feb 04, 2007 8:44 pm

if you can see the drives, but not the raid, then use the drives directly. you don't need hardware raid.

if fc4 sees the drives but not fc5, you should google to find out if there are some flags you can set at install time to see the drives. maybe support for your raid controller went away, but that's unlikely.

if it'll be used as a server, you don't need a graphical environment running on it. that is not a deal breaker.
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby AcidEYE » Sun Feb 04, 2007 8:49 pm

what i changed the server machine from my vendor and ask him to give me another machine which should i buy?

and yes there is written on the backside of cover that u can disable RAID but switching off the jumper and now i do not know how to remove that jumper i've no experince with Xeon machines
Linux Addicted
AcidEYE
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Feb 28, 2005 5:41 pm
WLM: a_flame@msn.com
Yahoo Messenger: acid_eye69@yahoo.com
AOL: none
Location: Lahore (Pakistan)

Postby Saad Khan » Mon Feb 05, 2007 2:39 pm

Before installing Redhat on the server, you had to make sure, is your hardware certified by Redhat?
if it doesn't support Redhat then ask your vendor to provide linux supported harware.
Saad Khan
Company Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 6:19 pm
Location: Karachi


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron