HP ProLiant DL360 G5 Server series Installation

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

Postby lambda » Fri May 11, 2007 12:55 pm

no, it's because of the sata raid controller. linux has had support for sata drives and controllers for several years, but support for sata raid is relatively weak.

is there some reason you don't want to use fc6 instead of fc4? it might have better hardware support.
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby Atif_Khan » Mon May 14, 2007 12:45 pm

Try this in rescue mode

grub> root (hd0,0)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub> root (hd1,0)
grub> setup (hd1)
grub> quit
Atif_Khan
Battalion Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 6:26 pm
Website: http://atif.weblog.pk/

Postby lambda » Mon May 14, 2007 1:17 pm

Atif_Khan wrote:Try this in rescue mode
ah yes, another useless suggestion from someone who can't be bothered to read the problem description.
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby ather_36 » Tue May 15, 2007 10:12 am

Salam
Why u not calling ur Hardware vendor?May be the problem is in ur Hardware.....Dont think this is new server.My dear we all are focusing on Linux Side.....Raza call ur vendor for Support.
Thanks & Regards
Athar Hussain
ather_36
Naik
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2003 11:38 am
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net
WLM: ather_36@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: ather_36@yahoo.com
Location: karachi

Postby lambda » Tue May 15, 2007 11:46 am

ather_36 wrote:Why u not calling ur Hardware vendor?
the hardware vendor does not support fc4 on the hardware.

May be the problem is in ur Hardware.....
wrong. it's a linux driver issue.
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

ok

Postby syed » Thu May 17, 2007 3:51 pm

A.A 2 All,

I have downloaded all the drivers of said server in rpm format from hp site. Now I want to know that can we merage those rpm files with ISO image of linux cd1 and burn new bootable cd containg the drivers of the server. If yes then what is procedure for merging these rpm file with ISO.

Regards ,

Syed Mohammd Raza
syed
Subedar Major
 
Posts: 439
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 3:51 pm

Postby Atif_Khan » Wed May 23, 2007 5:35 pm

lambda wrote:
Atif_Khan wrote:Try this in rescue mode
ah yes, another useless suggestion from someone who can't be bothered to read the problem description.


Bully attitude doesnt help.

I had the same problem and I did try the mentioned solution and it got resolved.
Atif_Khan
Battalion Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 287
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 6:26 pm
Website: http://atif.weblog.pk/

Postby lambda » Wed May 23, 2007 7:04 pm

...except you didn't have the same problem. unless your sata raid controller was also unsupported by linux?

if you can't see the drives in the installer, how do you expect to see them under rescue mode, and how do you expect to do the install in rescue mode?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby dajazzguy » Thu May 24, 2007 1:13 pm

maybe this link will be useful and clear the i core of the problem
http://www.mcnabbs.org/andrew/linux/proliant/
Farhan Diwan
RHCE, Certified MySQL DBA
dajazzguy
Naik
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat May 31, 2003 11:34 pm
WLM: farhan_494@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: farhan_494@yahoo.com
Location: karachi


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron