LAN Network

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

LAN Network

Postby amkali » Tue Jun 12, 2007 9:53 am

I have been trying to achieve something for sometime now but still I have no clue. I mean I have seen many tutorials and How To's but still noi results.

Now, I will explain what I am trying to do:

I have a Linux Box (Ubuntu 6.10 Server) and Windows XP client machines.

Now, what I want to do is that I want to setup a LAN with Linux as the DNS server and I want to use static addressing. I also want to use this linux machine as the gateway. I have connected everything to a Gateway Router which is connected to internet.

The ip of Linux machine is 192.168.1.100
Router 192.168.1.1
client machines 192.168.1.110 - 120 - 130 .... so on

...

In the end I would also feel better if I tell you that I am not very good at networking and stuff (but can certainly find my way around after a little pocking) and also I am not that expert in Linux (again can find my way around -- long live internet :P).

Help anyone...
amkali
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 9:53 pm
Location: Lahore, Pakistan

Postby muhammadali » Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:02 am

Dear amkali

Use two lan cards in your server machine to properly work it as a gateway and dns.

Regards
Ali
Voice: 923216533221
Email: rmuhammadali26@gmail.com
Web: www.tsbaseline.com
muhammadali
Cadet
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 11:57 pm
Website: http://www.techsource.pk
WLM: rmuhammadali@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: visualroots@yahoo.com
Location: Faisalabad - Pakistan

Postby amkali » Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:19 am

muhammadali wrote:Use two lan cards in your server machine to properly work it as a gateway and dns.


This part i already know just want to know how to do the settings in UBUNTU.
amkali
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 9:53 pm
Location: Lahore, Pakistan

Postby mahin_pk » Tue Jun 12, 2007 2:26 pm

amkali wrote:This part i already know just want to know how to do the settings in UBUNTU.

Check this if you still face problem then post here.
Hope this helps.
mahin_pk
Site Admin
 
Posts: 204
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 10:43 am

Postby amkali » Tue Jun 12, 2007 4:36 pm

mahin_pk wrote:Check this if you still face problem then post here.
Hope this helps.


First, thanx for your prompt reply...
Secondly, I have already gone through this tutorial but this tutorial uses DHCP and it doesn't tell us how to configure Bind9 or any other DNS for that matter.

and i would like to rephrase again that i want to setup a Firewall/DNS ... not just a firewall..
amkali
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 9:53 pm
Location: Lahore, Pakistan

Postby lambda » Tue Jun 12, 2007 10:56 pm

amkali wrote:Secondly, I have already gone through this tutorial but this tutorial uses DHCP
you shouldn't dismiss dhcp. you can give each client host a static ip address using dhcp if you know its ethernet address. it's not a bad idea for you to know who's on your network.
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby amkali » Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:43 am

lambda wrote:you shouldn't dismiss dhcp. you can give each client host a static ip address using dhcp if you know its ethernet address. it's not a bad idea for you to know who's on your network.


I am sorry if u got me wrong I have nothing against DHCP its just that I want to give static addresses to some of my PCs. If you have a better way to set it up you are welcome to suggest something.
amkali
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 9:53 pm
Location: Lahore, Pakistan

Postby lambda » Wed Jun 13, 2007 4:14 pm

amkali wrote:I am sorry if u got me wrong I have nothing against DHCP its just that I want to give static addresses to some of my PCs.
let me repeat this thread in an easy to understand format.

you: i want to set up a linux gateway with a few clients using static addressing
mahin: try this tutorial [link]
you: thanks, but that uses dhcp
me: you can give each client host a static ip address using dhcp
you: I have nothing against DHCP its just that I want to give static addresses to some of my PCs.

do you want to give clients static addresses? yes.
does dhcp do that for you? yes.

so, what's the problem?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby amkali » Wed Jun 13, 2007 4:19 pm

Now :P if you put it this way then I think i got it ...

...... Pata naheen mera dimagh kahaan per tha

I will try it and get back to you ......... like what happened ...
was i able to make it fly
amkali
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Aug 03, 2002 9:53 pm
Location: Lahore, Pakistan


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron