Page 1 of 1

how to enable remote desktop and set password in RH Desktop

Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 9:54 am
by khurramiqbal
how to enable remote desktop and set password in RH Desktop.
I mean How can i enable vnc supptort from shell.

Posted: Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:26 pm
by x2oxen

Re: how to enable remote desktop and set password in RH Desk

Posted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 10:10 am
by LinuxFreaK
Dear khurramiqbal,
Salam,

khurramiqbal wrote:how to enable remote desktop and set password in RH Desktop. I mean How can i enable vnc supptort from shell.


You can follow link provided by x2oxen. You can also take a look into NoMachine NX if you want to use remote desktop other then VNC.

FYI, http://www.nomachine.com

Best Regards.

Yaseen

Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2008 3:22 am
by ghulam yaseen
Hello :) ,

Please follow these quick steps to configure and use VNC on your server
----------------
--> yum -y install vnc vnc-server

--> Edit /etc/sysconfig/vncservers

Add the following lines, like in the example bellow, following these criteria:
VNCSERVERS="id:username"
#where id is the display port of the X Server - put 5 for example.
VNCSERVERARGS[2]="-geometry <desired_resolution> -nolisten tcp -nohttpd -localhost"

-->Configuring X Window System

Type vi /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Search for section "Screen" - should be in the last part of the configuration file and add the lines

Option "SecurityTypes" "VncAuth"
Option "UserPasswdVerifier" "VncAuth"
Option "PasswordFile" "/userhomedirectory/.vnc/passwd"
Note that I used /root/.vnc/passwd because root is the username i configured. If you configure VNC for another account (specified in /etc/sysconfig/vncservers) tha path to the PasswordFile should be "/home/your_username/.vnc/passwd"
Save the file and close the editor.

--> chkconfig vncserver on

--> service vncserver start
----------------------
I hope this is done 8)