Fedora Core 8 Installation on Dell Power Edge 6650

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

Fedora Core 8 Installation on Dell Power Edge 6650

Postby muzaffar » Fri Mar 21, 2008 12:22 am

Hi all,

I have Dell Power Edge 6650 server with quads processor.I failed to install fedora core 8 on this machine.sever management console not giving me option to install Fedora.I can install RHEL 3 and 4.
Please help me out that how can I install fedora on it.

Regards
Muzaffar Abbas
Laore
Regards
Muzaffar Abbas
CCNA JNCIA JNCIS
+92312-4400442
muzaffar
Cadet
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:07 am
Website: http://Cisco-Guides.blogspot.com
WLM: mabbasj@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: mabbasj@ymail.com
Location: Lahore

Postby ranatanveer » Fri Mar 28, 2008 2:50 pm

What error you get while installation FC8
on which screen ?
Regards

Rana Tanveer
+923224194457
Linux Student

For Affordable Web Development http://www.affordableprogrammers.com
http://www.qualityprogrammers.com
ranatanveer
Subedar
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 11:54 am
ICQ: 133032001
Website: http://www.affordableprogrammers.com
WLM: ranatanveer@gmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: ranahard@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Postby muzaffar » Fri Mar 28, 2008 8:09 pm

You know such servers require management CD in order to configure RAID and then giving option to install operating system from given option.
I tried changing CD with latest management CD of server but in vain.
secondly i use built in mechanism to configure RAID and try to install Fedora by Fedora DVD but server not able to detect any media.
All my setting in BIOS is correct.
Latter i install RHEL 4 with same mechanism without any hurdle.
Regards

Muzaffar Abbas

CCNA JNCIA JNCIS

+92312-4400442
muzaffar
Cadet
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:07 am
Website: http://Cisco-Guides.blogspot.com
WLM: mabbasj@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: mabbasj@ymail.com
Location: Lahore

Postby ranatanveer » Sat Mar 29, 2008 3:46 pm

have you tested your FC distribution DVDs on other machines ?
Regards

Rana Tanveer
+923224194457
Linux Student

For Affordable Web Development http://www.affordableprogrammers.com
http://www.qualityprogrammers.com
ranatanveer
Subedar
 
Posts: 355
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 11:54 am
ICQ: 133032001
Website: http://www.affordableprogrammers.com
WLM: ranatanveer@gmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: ranahard@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Postby muzaffar » Sat Mar 29, 2008 4:32 pm

Yup it is working fine on other system I've also checked it on Dell PowerEdge 2950.No problem at all.
Regards

Muzaffar Abbas

CCNA JNCIA JNCIS

+92312-4400442
muzaffar
Cadet
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 2:07 am
Website: http://Cisco-Guides.blogspot.com
WLM: mabbasj@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: mabbasj@ymail.com
Location: Lahore

Postby nasacis » Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:39 am

try to configure RAID thruough BIOS instead of management Cd then try to install FC8

Regards
Nafees Ahmed
Cell: +92.300.8653568
UAN: 041-111432432
Nexlinx Faisalabad
www.nexlinx.net.pk
nafees29@gmail.com
nasacis
Battalion Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 3:58 pm
ICQ: 22342780
Website: http://www.homepages.com.pk/nafeesahmed
WLM: nafees21
Yahoo Messenger: n_ahmad.rm
Location: Faisalabad


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron