checking for X... configure: error

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

checking for X... configure: error

Postby outstream » Tue Oct 21, 2003 12:59 am

AoA

I am having some problem in installation of Kopete. Actually its not just Kopete, earlier I had problem in installing kvirc and ksirc too. I think all the programs that need to have x-server configured are giving me problems in installation. The message that i get after writing ./configure command is this:



"checking for X... configure: error: Can't find X includes. Please check your installation and add the correct paths!"


Does any one has any idea whats going wrong?

Thanks for ur precious time

Good Day
Testing?What's that? If it compiles, its good, if it boots up it is perfect.
----------------------------------------------------
Imran
Registered Linux User # 334322
outstream
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 10:04 pm
Location: islamabad

Postby if » Tue Oct 21, 2003 6:37 pm

Aslam-o-Aliakum,

As far as i see... these type of errors appear when u didn't install X or u don't have necessary previliges...

Do u login with root and i think so u r not... login with root... i hope this error don't come...
if u find anything which shows my lack of knowledge,
please guide me... thx
------------------------------------
Aslam-o-Aliakum-Wa-Rahmatullah-Wa-Barakatuhu
------------------------------------
if
if
Battalion Quarter Master Havaldaar
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2002 12:52 pm
WLM: ifhope@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: hope_never@yahoo.com
Location: Islamabad

Postby outstream » Wed Oct 22, 2003 5:32 am

AoA

yeah i login with root, but still the error comes.
just to make sure i`ll install X again. can u tell me the link to download it in rpm form?

Thanks for ur precious time

Good Day
Testing?What's that? If it compiles, its good, if it boots up it is perfect.

----------------------------------------------------

Imran

Registered Linux User # 334322
outstream
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 10:04 pm
Location: islamabad

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Wed Oct 22, 2003 9:09 am

Hmm...most probably , your XF86Config contains an error, which is not serious enough to cause X not to work, but it does cause trouble when compiling programs that check for X configuration.

As a first step, check your /etc/XF86Config file and make sure there is no error.I remember once u edited it during the screen resolution part.sometimes people by mistake type extra characters.Even a single extra character like a "/" would also cause XF86Config not to be read correctly.

In case you decid to reinstall XFree86 rpms, install them from the redhat 9 cd's.They have the latest version of X/XFree86
Also make sure u donot mess up anything or X wil not work
Linux for Life!
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby outstream » Wed Oct 22, 2003 8:33 pm

AoA

Mr Faraz.Fazil sir

sir jii i checked it but X is installed for sure, i did whereis X and it returned me the path to X.
As far as xf86.conf is concerned, i checked it but i dont find any error in it. For better understanding i am pasting the contents of file here so u can have a better idea whats going on in my machine

===================================================

# XFree86 4 configuration created by redhat-config-xfree86

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "DevInputMice" "AlwaysCore"
EndSection

Section "Files"

# RgbPath is the location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.
# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (they are concatenated together)
# By default, Red Hat 6.0 and later now use a font server independent of
# the X server to render fonts.
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
FontPath "unix/:7100"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe"
Load "extmod"
Load "fbdevhw"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "freetype"
Load "type1"
Load "dri"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# Specify which keyboard LEDs can be user-controlled (eg, with xset(1))
# Option "Xleds" "1 2 3"
# To disable the XKEYBOARD extension, uncomment XkbDisable.
# Option "XkbDisable"
# To customise the XKB settings to suit your keyboard, modify the
# lines below (which are the defaults). For example, for a non-U.S.
# keyboard, you will probably want to use:
# Option "XkbModel" "pc102"
# If you have a US Microsoft Natural keyboard, you can use:
# Option "XkbModel" "microsoft"
#
# Then to change the language, change the Layout setting.
# For example, a german layout can be obtained with:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# or:
# Option "XkbLayout" "de"
# Option "XkbVariant" "nodeadkeys"
#
# If you'd like to switch the positions of your capslock and
# control keys, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:swapcaps"
# Or if you just want both to be control, use:
# Option "XkbOptions" "ctrl:nocaps"
#
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "PS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "yes"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# If the normal CorePointer mouse is not a USB mouse then
# this input device can be used in AlwaysCore mode to let you
# also use USB mice at the same time.
Identifier "DevInputMice"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Unprobed Monitor"
DisplaySize 280 210
HorizSync 30.0 - 69.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 120.0
Option "dpms"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "trident"
VendorName "Videocard vendor"
BoardName "Trident CyberBlade (generic)"
VideoRam 8192
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
Group 0
Mode 0666
EndSection

====================================================

also, i tried to install X again from cd. I went to system settings -> addremove applications. But for packages or the contents of packages there was only add ot remove, no update. i mean its like i have to remove xfree86 to install it again. it just doesnt lets me update and re-install it over the existing one. would u please be kind enuff to tell me how to update it or install it again on existing installation?

Thanks for ur precious time

Good Day
Testing?What's that? If it compiles, its good, if it boots up it is perfect.

----------------------------------------------------

Imran

Registered Linux User # 334322
outstream
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 10:04 pm
Location: islamabad

Postby fawad » Wed Oct 22, 2003 10:33 pm

Umm, I think you guys misunderstood his question. The error he's getting

Code: Select all

checking for X... configure: error: Can't find X includes. Please check your installation and add the correct paths!


Means just that. He needs to install the xfree86-devel package which contains the X headers required for apps building from source against X.
fawad
Site Admin
 
Posts: 918
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
ICQ: 17672437
Website: http://www.fawad.net
WLM: fawadhalim@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: fawad2048
AOL: fawadhalim
Location: Addison, IL

Postby outstream » Thu Oct 23, 2003 12:32 am

AoA

yah fawad sahib..from where can i get that devil package?

Good Day
Testing?What's that? If it compiles, its good, if it boots up it is perfect.

----------------------------------------------------

Imran

Registered Linux User # 334322
outstream
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 10:04 pm
Location: islamabad

Postby slick » Thu Oct 23, 2003 2:03 am

haha..the devil..good one :p
I only run as fast as my angels can fly
slick
Naik
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 1:29 am
Location: CA

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Thu Oct 23, 2003 4:01 pm

Oh thanx for pointing out fawad.
Yes i read the question in a hurry and did not pay close attention to the error.

Also i thought he already had xfree86-devel package installed.

Anywayz outstream,

the xfree86-devel package is there in the redhat cds.
locate it and then install it by using the rpm -Uvh command in terminal.

ore u can also try doing it from the package management tol (redhat-config-packages) in redhat.

But it would be better it u located it and installed it through rpm -Uvh command.
Linux for Life!
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby outstream » Fri Oct 24, 2003 1:51 am

AoA

Mr Faraz.Fazil sir

ok sir ji the devel package is installed for X and that error is gone. But this time yet another error comes in ./configure part. this error states that :

====================================================
configure: WARNING: libjpeg not found. disable JPEG support.
checking for Qt... configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.0) (headers and libraries) not
found. Please check your installation!
====================================================

what is a qt problem?. I remember at the time when i was installing Gaim, i came across some failed dependencies and one of them was some thing like qt. so i downloaded it and right now qt2-2.3.1-13.i386.rpm paclage is installed in my system. is it the same thing?

Thanks for ur precious time

Good Day
Testing?What's that? If it compiles, its good, if it boots up it is perfect.

----------------------------------------------------

Imran

Registered Linux User # 334322
outstream
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 10:04 pm
Location: islamabad

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Fri Oct 24, 2003 1:33 pm

AS clear from the error, the program u are trying to compile/install requires qt version 3 or higher but you have version 2-2.3

To remedy this problem , Download and install the latest vrsion of QT.

If u can take the pain of installing from sources download it from:
----------------------
http://www.trolltech.com/download/qt/x11.html

or directly:

ftp://ftp.trolltech.com/qt/source/qt-x1 ... 2.2.tar.gz

Or download and install it in rpm format.
---------------------------------
http://rpm.pbone.net/index.php3?stat=26 ... 2.i386.rpm

or search for an appropriate rpm from any rpm repository like rpm.pbone.net

I recommend u download and install the rpm i specified.I have downloaded and tested it and it works fine on my redhat 9

Hehe...make a habbit to read the errors carefully.

If you are curious to know what QT is, then as stated on their website www.trolltech.com:

=====================================

Trolltech(R) is a software company with two flagship products: Qt(R) and Qtopia(R). Qt is a multi-platform C++ application framework developers can use to write single-source applications that run -- natively -- on Windows, Linux, Unix, Mac OS X and embedded Linux. Qt has been used to build thousands of successful commercial applications worldwide, and is the basis of the open source KDE desktop environment. Qtopia is the first comprehensive application environment built for embedded Linux, and is used in Sharp's line of Zaurus PDAs. Trolltech is headquartered in Oslo, Norway, with offices in Brisbane, Australia, and Palo Alto, California. More about Trolltech can be found at http://www.trolltech.com.

=================
outstream wrote:AoA

Mr Faraz.Fazil sir

ok sir ji the devel package is installed for X and that error is gone. But this time yet another error comes in ./configure part. this error states that :

====================================================
configure: WARNING: libjpeg not found. disable JPEG support.
checking for Qt... configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.0) (headers and libraries) not
found. Please check your installation!
====================================================

what is a qt problem?. I remember at the time when i was installing Gaim, i came across some failed dependencies and one of them was some thing like qt. so i downloaded it and right now qt2-2.3.1-13.i386.rpm paclage is installed in my system. is it the same thing?

Thanks for ur precious time

Good Day
Linux for Life!
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby outstream » Fri Oct 24, 2003 5:33 pm

AoA

Mr Faraz.Fazil sir

sir ji i installed the qt rpm,the one u suggested, new 3.X one but the problem still seems there.
then after getting the error again, i checked for the rpm by rpm -q rpmname, and it was there and installed. here is the out put again

=====================================

checking for libpng... no
checking for libjpeg6b... no
checking for libjpeg... no
configure: WARNING: libjpeg not found. disable JPEG support.
checking for Qt... configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.0) (headers and libraries) not
found. Please check your installation!
For more details about this problem, look at the end of config.log.
[root@localhost kopete-0.7.3]# rpm -q qt2-2.3.1-13
qt2-2.3.1-13
[root@localhost kopete-0.7.3]#

=====================================

these are some last lines after ./configure command. the ones who said no no no on the tests.

Thanks for ur precious time

Good Day
Testing?What's that? If it compiles, its good, if it boots up it is perfect.

----------------------------------------------------

Imran

Registered Linux User # 334322
outstream
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 10:04 pm
Location: islamabad

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Fri Oct 24, 2003 11:00 pm

Thats strange.
It should have worked if the problem was with qt less than 3.0 being installed, which u now installed the new version.

Post the details of config.log

As a first step, Give the command ldconfig in terminal , which creates shared library cache and maintains symlinks

Then try ./configure again.

If that does not work, remove the old version of qt using rpm --erase qt2-2.3.1-13 command
and then install the qt3.x rpm again using rpm -Uvh command.
Then try ./configure

Also download and install the libjpeg rpm from:

http://rpm.pbone.net/index.php3?idpl=49 ... 4.rpm.html

And then try the ./configure as well.

outstream wrote:AoA

Mr Faraz.Fazil sir

sir ji i installed the qt rpm,the one u suggested, new 3.X one but the problem still seems there.
then after getting the error again, i checked for the rpm by rpm -q rpmname, and it was there and installed. here is the out put again

=====================================

checking for libpng... no
checking for libjpeg6b... no
checking for libjpeg... no
configure: WARNING: libjpeg not found. disable JPEG support.
checking for Qt... configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.0) (headers and libraries) not
found. Please check your installation!
For more details about this problem, look at the end of config.log.
[root@localhost kopete-0.7.3]# rpm -q qt2-2.3.1-13
qt2-2.3.1-13
[root@localhost kopete-0.7.3]#

=====================================

these are some last lines after ./configure command. the ones who said no no no on the tests.

Thanks for ur precious time

Good Day
Linux for Life!
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby outstream » Sat Oct 25, 2003 6:52 am

AoA

mr Faraz.Fazil sir

sir ji that idconfig command didnt work :cry:

=======================================

[root@localhost home]# idconfig
bash: idconfig: command not found
[root@localhost home]#

=======================================

As far as that libjpeg rpm is concerned, I downloaded libjpeg-6b-26.x86_64.rpm from the site u suggested. during its install it failed some dependencies. i searched for them and found them. after downloading dependencies when i tried to install them, it said they are already installed.

===========================================

[root@localhost home]# rpm -Uvh libjpeg-6b-26.x86_64.rpm
error: Failed dependencies:
libc.so.6()(64bit) is needed by libjpeg-6b-26
libc.so.6(GLIBC_2.2.5)(64bit) is needed by libjpeg-6b-26
libc.so.6(GLIBC_2.3)(64bit) is needed by libjpeg-6b-26
============================================

i searched for libc.so.6 on www.rpmfind.net and it returned me glibc-2.3.2-11.9.i686.rpm.

when i tried to install it, it said its already installed.

========================================

[root@localhost home]# rpm -Uvh glibc-2.3.2-11.9.i686.rpm
Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
package glibc-2.3.2-11.9 is already installed
You have new mail in /var/spool/mail/root
[root@localhost home]#

========================================

also, i would like to ask what does this means "you have new mail in /var/spool/mail/root

Thanks for ur precious time

Good Day
Testing?What's that? If it compiles, its good, if it boots up it is perfect.

----------------------------------------------------

Imran

Registered Linux User # 334322
outstream
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 10:04 pm
Location: islamabad

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:00 am

Its ldconfig (small L) and not idconfig
Try it out

Also the /var/spool/mail/root ..it by default contains messages and logs generated by the system for you to read.

To view them, open the /var/spool/mail/root file with a text editor like gedit or emacs.

outstream wrote:AoA

mr Faraz.Fazil sir

sir ji that idconfig command didnt work :cry:

=======================================

[root@localhost home]# idconfig
bash: idconfig: command not found
[root@localhost home]#

=======================================

As far as that libjpeg rpm is concerned, I downloaded libjpeg-6b-26.x86_64.rpm from the site u suggested. during its install it failed some dependencies. i searched for them and found them. after downloading dependencies when i tried to install them, it said they are already installed.

===========================================

[root@localhost home]# rpm -Uvh libjpeg-6b-26.x86_64.rpm
error: Failed dependencies:
libc.so.6()(64bit) is needed by libjpeg-6b-26
libc.so.6(GLIBC_2.2.5)(64bit) is needed by libjpeg-6b-26
libc.so.6(GLIBC_2.3)(64bit) is needed by libjpeg-6b-26
============================================

i searched for libc.so.6 on www.rpmfind.net and it returned me glibc-2.3.2-11.9.i686.rpm.

when i tried to install it, it said its already installed.

========================================

[root@localhost home]# rpm -Uvh glibc-2.3.2-11.9.i686.rpm
Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
package glibc-2.3.2-11.9 is already installed
You have new mail in /var/spool/mail/root
[root@localhost home]#

========================================

also, i would like to ask what does this means "you have new mail in /var/spool/mail/root

Thanks for ur precious time

Good Day
Linux for Life!
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron