Installing red hat 7.1 on extended dos partition...

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

Installing red hat 7.1 on extended dos partition...

Postby arbil » Wed Oct 29, 2003 11:52 pm

hi guyz...

i am trying to install red hat linux 7.1 in an empty partition (logical drive) in extended dos partition...

the installation gives the following error message:

'cant allocate native parition to disk space above 12000 cylinder'...

i 've got windows Me in primary dos partition (8 GB), and windows XP having NTFS (10GB) in extended dos partition along with a 1 GB formatted (FAT32) parition (which i want to use for linux installation...)

can any1 plz tell me how to workaround this problem?

thanx,
arbil
Cadet
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 11:29 pm

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Thu Oct 30, 2003 12:16 am

Dear arbil,
Salam,

Sir, Boot from RH 7.1 CD and Press Enter and then You see Help and follow the instructions and you will INSAHALLAH Install the RH 7.1 on your HDD. but in case as you mention that you are trying to install it on Extended Partion which is DOS partion then you must convert your partion into Linux Native and Linux Swap...

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Thu Oct 30, 2003 4:26 am

Use the disk druid utility during the setup to do the partitioning.

Delete that 1 gb free partition.
in the free space that is created, create an ext2/ext3 linux partition with mount point "/"
Also create a swap partition.

1 GB may be a bit less if you choose to install some heavy packages.
I have installed linux on as low as 630 mb (including the GUI) and i have also installed it on as much as 3.5 gb...it all depends on which and how many packages you choose to install.
So if you are installing it on a 1 gb partition, either increase the partition size to atleast 2-3 gb..or select the minimal amount of packages.

Swap partition size should be around 2.5 to 3 times tme amount of your system ram.
Normally, a swap partition of around 250 to 320 mb is optimal.
Linux for Life!
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby outstream » Thu Oct 30, 2003 4:55 am

AoA

I agree with Faraz.Fazil.

use disk druid. do not allow it to automatically do partitioning. in that case u may end up with loosing all ur data in ur hdd. or in other words u may end up having a same new empty hdd as it was at the time when u bought it :)

Good Day
Testing?What's that? If it compiles, its good, if it boots up it is perfect.
----------------------------------------------------
Imran
Registered Linux User # 334322
outstream
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2003 10:04 pm
Location: islamabad

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Thu Oct 30, 2003 4:57 am

Salam,

Always Choose Workstation not Server bcoz if you choose Server then you lost your Data which can't be recover able..:)

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi

Re:

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Thu Oct 30, 2003 6:07 am

Wrong.

You only lose your data or partitions if you select auto partitioning.
Selecting a different install type like server or custom does not delete any of your data on other partitions.

See it for yourself.

LinuxFreaK wrote:Salam,

Always Choose Workstation not Server bcoz if you choose Server then you lost your Data which can't be recover able..:)

Best Regards.
Linux for Life!
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

i did just that...

Postby arbil » Fri Oct 31, 2003 12:22 am

thanx for the support guyz....

yes, i did use disk durid... but the thing is that, while a native linux partition, it gives error message of cylinder number... that ur parition is above XXXX cylinder and thus anaconda can not support it...

is there any way to avoid this problem n continue the installation?
arbil
Cadet
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 29, 2003 11:29 pm

Easy way to instal

Postby kashif » Fri Oct 31, 2003 2:32 am

Assalam 0 alaikum!

Easy way to install is before starting the delete the partation (Trough Disk mangement in win2000) at which you want to isntall the linux.

Then boot from CD use Disk Druid make linux Native / partition and swap partation by using this free space which you have created by deleting the partition.

Allah Hafiz
kashif
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 2:44 am
Location: Okara

Re: Easy way to instal

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Fri Oct 31, 2003 4:32 am

Yes that can be done too.
Also, one can also use tools like partition magic or dos fdisk to delete the partitions.
But the best option is to do the deletion through disk druid as well.
Now, the cylinder problem does not occur during the partition deletion.
It occurs during the new linux partition creation.

kashif wrote:Assalam 0 alaikum!

Easy way to install is before starting the delete the partation (Trough Disk mangement in win2000) at which you want to isntall the linux.

Then boot from CD use Disk Druid make linux Native / partition and swap partation by using this free space which you have created by deleting the partition.

Allah Hafiz
Linux for Life!
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Re: i did just that...

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Fri Oct 31, 2003 4:41 am

Thats strange.
Normally, such errors donot pop up in disk druid.
Post the exact error.
Which cylinder number does it say?
What is the total capacity of your hdd?
Is it set up properly in the bios.?

You may need to swtich between LBa, LBA32 and hdd modes in the bios.

In most cases, the cylinder limit problem occurs in the bootloader installation.
The bootloader needs to be between a specific range of cylinders.
In most cases, installing it on the mbr works.

Post in detail the error, and what partition scheme u used.

arbil wrote:thanx for the support guyz....

yes, i did use disk durid... but the thing is that, while a native linux partition, it gives error message of cylinder number... that ur parition is above XXXX cylinder and thus anaconda can not support it...

is there any way to avoid this problem n continue the installation?
Linux for Life!
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby farhantoqeer » Fri Oct 31, 2003 9:54 am

Well i would suggest arbil to go for atleast RH 7.2. And yes i dont think after successful instalaion he can boot tux from the extended partion (according to my experience and knowledge) so do make boot floppy when installer asks you.
A: Yes
Q: Is top-posting bad?
farhantoqeer
Major General
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 5:45 pm
Website: http://www.emergen.biz
Location: Karachi

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Sat Nov 01, 2003 7:20 am

Yup.

FYI, Lilo and Grub are bootloaders

Some old versions of lilo donot support hard disks above 8 gb

It is recommended that you install a new version of redhat preferably redhat 9 or 8 or atleast RH 7.2 which have a fairly new version of lilo/ grub and should be able to boot.

Also, it is recommended that you create a Linux Boot floppy during the setup, in case anything goes wrong or if you are not able to boot from the hdd.

And as i said before, Post in detail the error, and what partition scheme u used.
Linux for Life!
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Postby farhantoqeer » Sat Nov 01, 2003 11:53 am

Is anyone tired any linux distribution installed at beyond 8GB and boot it successfuly from lilo/grub? Like we have example of arbil lets suppose he has partitioned his hdd by making initial 10GB partition for Windows and left rest of the space for linux will he able to boot linux (most probably redhat 9.0) successfuly without bootable floppy?
A: Yes

Q: Is top-posting bad?
farhantoqeer
Major General
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 5:45 pm
Website: http://www.emergen.biz
Location: Karachi

Re: Easy way to instal

Postby mahin » Sat Nov 01, 2003 1:19 pm

Yes! but we used Xosl not Grub and it was btw RH8 plus some others.

IMHO arbil should check out Xosl or some other similar tool which will allow him to boot any O/S from any where.
mahin
Major
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php/LinuxPakistanKarachi
Location: Karachi

Postby farhantoqeer » Sat Nov 01, 2003 3:16 pm

xosl didnt worked for me, i tried it for the above problem :(
A: Yes

Q: Is top-posting bad?
farhantoqeer
Major General
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 5:45 pm
Website: http://www.emergen.biz
Location: Karachi


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron