Isa server 2000 with squid

Taking care of your Linux box.
xenoboy
Cadet
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2003 5:07 pm
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Isa server 2000 with squid

Postby xenoboy » Thu Jan 08, 2004 9:39 am

Dear ,

i m running 2 proxy . one isa server 2000 and other squid . Could it possible that squid use the cache of isa server . how could i config the squid.conf to use the cache of isa server 2000.

help plz

xenoboy

absar
Cadet
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2003 11:55 pm
Location: Islamabad
Contact:

RE : Isa server 2000 with squid

Postby absar » Thu Jan 08, 2004 10:52 am

Salam

U will configure ur squid server normally. But there is one another thing that u must be configure natting ( masquerading ) with transparent squid cache server. Then u will just give the IP of ur squid server as gateway in ISA server.

Well I would suggest that y u wana use ISA proxy server I think squid can do any thing u want and its easy to handle and trouble shoot.

regards.
Absar Naqvi

kernel-trap
Havaldaar
Posts: 105
Joined: Thu Dec 25, 2003 2:31 pm

Re: Isa server 2000 with squid

Postby kernel-trap » Thu Jan 08, 2004 12:38 pm

xenoboy wrote:Dear ,

i m running 2 proxy . one isa server 2000 and other squid . Could it possible that squid use the cache of isa server . how could i config the squid.conf to use the cache of isa server 2000.

help plz

xenoboy


you have to use sytax like this in squid.conf

cache_peer 192.168.4.1 parent 3128 3130

where 3128 is your windows isa port and 3130 its ICP protocal port

for more information see
http://squid.visolve.com/squid24s1/neig ... cache_peer


Regards

lambda
Major General
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Location: Lahore
Contact:

Re: RE : Isa server 2000 with squid

Postby lambda » Thu Jan 08, 2004 1:09 pm

by the way, the right way to do this is to use icp -- the cross-platform caching protocol. unfortunately, a few sites i found on google claim isa 2000 doesn't do icp.

shakirz1
Battalion Quarter Master Havaldaar
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 5:00 pm
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Re: Isa server 2000 with squid

Postby shakirz1 » Thu Jan 08, 2004 6:03 pm

cache_peer 192.168.4.1 parent 3128 3130

may not work in case of ISA, you should write this

cache_peer 192.168.4.1 parent 3128 0 no-query


kernel-trap wrote:
xenoboy wrote:Dear ,

i m running 2 proxy . one isa server 2000 and other squid . Could it possible that squid use the cache of isa server . how could i config the squid.conf to use the cache of isa server 2000.

help plz

xenoboy


you have to use sytax like this in squid.conf

cache_peer 192.168.4.1 parent 3128 3130

where 3128 is your windows isa port and 3130 its ICP protocal port

for more information see
http://squid.visolve.com/squid24s1/neig ... cache_peer


Regards


Return to “Administration”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests