Change Objects in Squid Cache

Taking care of your Linux box.
shakirz1
Battalion Quarter Master Havaldaar
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 5:00 pm
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Change Objects in Squid Cache

Postby shakirz1 » Fri Feb 20, 2004 3:58 pm

I am using RH 7.3 with Squid-2.4.STABLE6-1.7.2

When I visit at www.hotmail.com it show a jpg from this location
http://global.msads.net/ads/1/000000000 ... 040814.jpg

i want to replace this image with my own image which is copy in /etc/squid directory with same name 0000000001_000000000000000040814.jpg

Is is possible ? but not with thrid party tools.

If it is possible mannually I will do it.

thanks

LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Sat Feb 21, 2004 12:30 am

Dear shakirz1,
Salam,

No Idea :roll: I think its really hard for squid to first download the page in your cache then replace a particular gif file on the page :) If you find any software which will do that then lemme know :)

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed

lambda
Major General
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Location: Lahore
Contact:

Re: Change Objects in Squid Cache

Postby lambda » Sat Feb 21, 2004 5:16 am

stick global.msads.net into your /etc/hosts, make sure the url to the real image is the same as the url to the fake image on your web server.

shakirz1
Battalion Quarter Master Havaldaar
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 5:00 pm
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Change Objects in Squid Cache

Postby shakirz1 » Sat Feb 21, 2004 10:15 am

I think putting global.msads.net in /etc/host file replace all images of that web site but i want to replace only one image.

zaeemarshad
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 12:35 pm
Location: Islamabad
Contact:

Postby zaeemarshad » Sat Feb 21, 2004 7:23 pm

you replaced the image in /etc/squid??? i think thats /var/squid . you need to replace the cache but the size and timestamp of the file will differ from that of the metadata stored and squid will download the file from the net. if you do find such a thing let us know here.

Cheers
-Zaeem

shakirz1
Battalion Quarter Master Havaldaar
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 5:00 pm
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Change Objects in Squid Cache

Postby shakirz1 » Wed Feb 25, 2004 11:44 am

I have done this, here I am posting link of that software.

http://www.rambris.com/fredrik/sleezeball/


Return to “Administration”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest