slackware switching desktops

Taking care of your Linux box.

slackware switching desktops

Postby shahzad » Sun Mar 28, 2004 10:00 pm

hei mates, salam

i have installed slackware and i used to boot it from floppy. While at the end when i type startx, it switches to kde. i want to use gnome as well, plz give me the syntax of switching desktop from shell prompt. help will be appreciated. :D
There is no glory without sufferings...
shahzad
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2004 6:10 pm
Website: http://comradblues.spymac.net
WLM: asm4c@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: shezibhai@yahoo.com
Location: Pakistan

Postby farhantoqeer » Sun Mar 28, 2004 10:57 pm

keep trying by yourself lemon i am sure you can do it

HINT:No command is to switch desktop system ;) but it doesnt mean that you cannot use gnome by typing startx
A: Yes
Q: Is top-posting bad?
farhantoqeer
Major General
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 5:45 pm
Website: http://www.emergen.biz
Location: Karachi

Postby jargon » Sun Mar 28, 2004 11:51 pm

cd over to /etc/X11/xinit

do...
#: ls -l

you should see something similar

$ cd /etc/X11/xinit/
$ ls -l
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 28 Jan 17 22:30 xinitrc ->/etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.gnome*
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 630 Jan 1 19:13 xinitrc.gnome*
-r--r--r-- 1 root root 664 Feb 19 13:55 xinitrc.new

you will have xinitrc.kde and your xinitrc file will be symbolically linked to xinitrc.kde,
just change the link to point to xinitrc.gnome

read 'man ln'

that should work


If you have the time , you can write a script to automate this , then you would have a command.
jargon
jargon
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 691
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 9:40 am

Postby zaeemarshad » Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:34 am

i think there is a command by the name of startkde that you can use to launch kde and there is a similar script for gnome. Should check

Regards
Zaeem
zaeemarshad
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 12:35 pm
Website: http://zaeem.no-ip.org
WLM: zarshadvirk@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: negativecreep61@yahoo.com
AOL: zarshadvirk
Location: Islamabad

Postby jargon » Tue Mar 30, 2004 8:27 am

shahzad: BTW...
X reacts to a file called .xinitrc, either in /etc/... or you can create a local copy of .xinitrc and place commands for the window manager, etc. and X , once executed, will run your copy of .xinitrc w/i /home/... if it exists.
jargon
jargon
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 691
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 9:40 am

Postby farhantoqeer » Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:17 am

Shahzad, it is almost 2 days now, i HOPE you went through some documentation and all other related stuff to achieve your task.

Here is the solution

xinitrc file is used to control all these kind of processes change directory to /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xinit here you will find a file named xinitrc open it in your favourite editor, mine is vi, in the end you can see startkde, remark it by placing # before it or replace it with gnome-session. Viola!

its working :)
A: Yes

Q: Is top-posting bad?
farhantoqeer
Major General
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 5:45 pm
Website: http://www.emergen.biz
Location: Karachi

Postby jargon » Tue Mar 30, 2004 10:54 am

farhantoqeer wrote:Shahzad, it is almost 2 days now, i HOPE you went through some documentation and all other related stuff to achieve your task.

Here is the solution

xinitrc file is used to control all these kind of processes change directory to /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xinit here you will find a file named xinitrc open it in your favourite editor, mine is vi, in the end you can see startkde, remark it by placing # before it or replace it with gnome-session. Viola!

its working :)


But slackware sets xinitrc as a symbolic link to either xinitrc.gnome or xinitrc.kde , so he just has to swap the links.
jargon
jargon
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 691
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 9:40 am

Postby farhantoqeer » Tue Mar 30, 2004 11:08 am

But slackware sets xinitrc as a symbolic link to either xinitrc.gnome or xinitrc.kde , so he just has to swap the links.


yes you are right, i was sitting quiet after reading your post about it but you see, he didnt reply so i thought he is still unable to do it thats why i wrote an alternate though it is not a good idea to play with script files but i always feel good doing that :P

for linking:

cd /usr/X11R6/lib/X11/xinit
mv xinitrc xinitrc.bak
ln -s xinitrc.gnome xinitrc
A: Yes

Q: Is top-posting bad?
farhantoqeer
Major General
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 5:45 pm
Website: http://www.emergen.biz
Location: Karachi

The eaisest thing

Postby dajazzguy » Sun Apr 25, 2004 1:55 pm

The easiest method is login as root
goto shell prompt and type
gdm & exit
this would display gnome desktop manager and choose urdesktop and go ahead or else

kdm & exit
would also do the trick incase u dont have gnome installed on ur box
Farhan Diwan
RHCE, Certified MySQL DBA
dajazzguy
Naik
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat May 31, 2003 11:34 pm
WLM: farhan_494@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: farhan_494@yahoo.com
Location: karachi


Return to “%s” Administration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron