how to install creative vibra sound card and modem

Taking care of your Linux box.

how to install creative vibra sound card and modem

Postby azeem_khan » Wed May 26, 2004 2:47 pm

how we install creative vibra sounc card on linux 8.0. i have following particulars

1: Intel D845BV2
with buikt in video card :: 64MB Buffer

2: monitor is View sonic : E40

3: we have a two sound card install in the motherboard

one is embeded sounbd card (Built in card)
second is my own external sound card (Creative Vibra 128)

i m disable my embeded sound card but he detect same bultin card and not to detect my usable sound card.

4: Modem with Externam Robotics with no builtin Modem.

pplz tell me how to install or detect all these.

Azeem
azeem_khan
Cadet
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 23, 2004 1:42 am
WLM: azeem143
Location: karachi

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Sat May 29, 2004 1:18 am

Dear azeem_khan,
Salam,

kudzu command for detecting all new hardware on linux box, Xconfigurator command for detecting Video Card with Monitor, sndconfig command for configuring Sound Card, kudzu will detect your modem and from minicom command you can connect your linux box to computer.

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Sat May 29, 2004 2:04 am

I myself am using a Creative Vibra 16x PNP sound card.
It gets detected and configured by sndconfig.

SO try the sndconfig command from terminal.

For the modem, try running kudzu from terminal and see if it detects and configures it.

If it doesnt ...then that means you will have to install seperate drivers for them..and u may need to compile the sound.o as module.But first try the sndconfig and kudzu commands.Let us know.
Linux for Life!
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Sat May 29, 2004 5:54 am

Dear Faraz.Fazil,
Salam,

Faraz.Fazil wrote:If it doesnt ...then that means you will have to install seperate drivers for them


I think US Robotics Modem will automatically detect and working fine there are lots of people who are using External US Robotics Modem Including Tariq Sahib and i don't think that he had faced problem with that modem :)

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi

Re:

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Sun May 30, 2004 10:14 am

Thats is why I said "if it doesnot detect"
It should de detected and configured.

LinuxFreaK wrote:Dear Faraz.Fazil,
Salam,

Faraz.Fazil wrote:If it doesnt ...then that means you will have to install seperate drivers for them


I think US Robotics Modem will automatically detect and working fine there are lots of people who are using External US Robotics Modem Including Tariq Sahib and i don't think that he had faced problem with that modem :)

Best Regards.
Linux for Life!
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
 
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
WLM: faraz7476@hotmail.com
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe


Return to “%s” Administration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron