Intel 537 modem or conexant AC-link ?

Taking care of your Linux box.

Intel 537 modem or conexant AC-link ?

Postby MarcJ » Mon Jul 05, 2004 3:46 pm

Good morning,

Im using SUSE 9.1 with kernel 2.6 and can't get my modem to work on a HP 4400 laptop.

Windows says it's a conexant AC-link modem.
Linux scanmodem gives me an ALI INTEL537 modem.

I tried both the hcf and hsf files at www.linuxant.com but when I try to configure the modem linux says 'no hcf/hsf modem found".

So it must be 'something different'.

I also looked at the Intel-website but there only seem to be packages for older kernels.

Any suggestions to get my modem to function ??

Marc
Belgium
MarcJ
Cadet
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 3:33 pm

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Mon Jul 05, 2004 9:42 pm

Dear MarcJ,
Salam,

You could try the new Intel537 packages:

There are Five types of Intel 537 chipsets sold to a variety of modem
assemblers.

http://linmodems.technion.ac.il/archive ... 02463.html
http://linmodems.technion.ac.il/archive ... 02476.html

Intel 537, a 8086:0003 subsystem PCI card modem with TigerJet AC'97
Controller - e159:0001 The compiler is: intel-537-2.27.39.0.ZIP version of 2003 Nov 20 Intel 537EP, an Intel PCI modem si3052 chip(Intel 537EP(G)), si=Silicon Instruments 8086:1080 Intel ac'97 controller with modem subSystem 8086:100[7,8,A,0] with compiler intel-537EP_secure-2.27.39.0.ZIP at:

http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scripts ... d_nm=537ep

Intel 537SP (was known as MD5690) a PCI modem with dsp on board but disabled. 8086:1040 Intel ac'97 controller, with modem subsyst 086:1005 with compiler intel-537SP-2.27.39.0.ZIP Intel 537AA, MDC controller with si3054 modem chip currently supported AC97 controllers - Intel (ICH3,4,5), VIA, NVIDIA, SIS, Realtek, ALI with compiler intel-537AA_secure-2.27.39.0.ZIP Intel 537EA, CNR controller with si3038 modem chip currently supported AC97 controllers - Intel (ICH3,4,5), VIA, NVIDIA, SIS, Realtek, ALI with compiler intel-537EA_secure-2.27.39.0.ZIP Get Intel support at:

http://downloadfinder.intel.com/scripts ... nldID=6801

with backups at:

http://linmodems.technion.ac.il/packages/Intel/537

Therein, there are also some pre-compiled drivers packages with
names like: intel-537EP_SuSE-9.0_2.4.21-99-default_ONLY.tgz

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi

Postby MarcJ » Mon Jul 05, 2004 10:24 pm

Dear Färrükh Ähmëd,

I thank you for this swift reply.

Unfortunately I tried these already.

I also tried the sis2003 file already.

Best regards,
Marc
MarcJ
Cadet
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jul 05, 2004 3:33 pm

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Tue Jul 06, 2004 12:56 am

Dear MarcJ,
Salam,

http://linmodems.technion.ac.il/packages/Intel/537/

From above link you can find Intel 537 Modem Drivers. and for Dialing though your modem to internet use KPPP, Gnome Dialer, wvdial or minicom.

Howto KPPP

Allow specific users to use KPPP to dialup and connect to internet
I'am a great fan of KDE and especially the KPPP programme as it offers a nice range of features like Accounting, Pre-Connection/Post-Connection command execution etc.

Note : If you have setup firewall rules and or scripts to work with the command line ppp, do take the necessary precaution !

KPPP by default doesn't permit non-root users to connect to the internet. The plan is to setup a group of users and permit the users in the group to use KPPP. Here's how to do it :

1. Add a new group say, dialout :

pw groupadd dialout

2. Add users say, user1 to the group :

pw groupmod dialout -M user1

3. set the permissions :

chown root.dialout /usr/local/bin/kppp
chmod 4750 /usr/local/bin/kppp

4. Create a file /etc/kppp.allow and add users, (who are authorised to do the dialup; user1 in our case) one on each line. There's NO need to add root user here. You can use # for comments. Spaces are also allowed.

5. create a file /etc/ppp/options if not already present

That's all. Setup KPPP (modem port, username, password etc.) as user1, as you would as root and try connecting. You should now be able to use KPPP as user1. Happy Browsing !

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi


Return to “%s” Administration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron