linux, ISDN & ISA

Taking care of your Linux box.
zaeemarshad
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 12:35 pm
Location: Islamabad
Contact:

linux, ISDN & ISA

Postby zaeemarshad » Mon Sep 08, 2003 2:15 am

hi all
i have a problem regarding a desi cable isp setup. we have a 128k 2B channel link. at first we ran freesco and it ran fine but the only problem we had was that only a single 64k link was working under it and the second channel was disabled. so we moved on to ISA server which happily supported the both B channels. (we are using a 128TA i.e terminal adapter from dlink ; a usb model). anyway windows clients easily got on the information superhighway. the problem came when we wanted to connect a linux client. the linux client could ping the network and access all the resources except that it could not get on the net. even basic name resolvin didnt work. when i typed ping www.yahoo.com it would immediately retrun a message that host unknown. now plz tell me how can i remove this problem. i will be thankful for any help. thanks

regards
zaeem

farhanksa
Subedar
Posts: 359
Joined: Sun Nov 03, 2002 6:40 am
Location: Lahore
Contact:

ISA makes problem with linux clients

Postby farhanksa » Mon Sep 08, 2003 3:53 am

ISA makes problem with linux clients..
but i used win-proxy or ms-proxy they work fine.but they r not that good..



u try rh...i hered from 1 of the guy that it works fine for both B-channels.
btw which isp u r using with bri?

zaeemarshad
Lieutenant Colonel
Posts: 660
Joined: Sat Jul 06, 2002 12:35 pm
Location: Islamabad
Contact:

Postby zaeemarshad » Mon Sep 08, 2003 5:41 am

they r multiple but we often use world online. plz note that we r offering cable services and i am not a single user of some cable net. i hope u will help me. we want a ms free solution based completely on opensource. once complete we will start offering services for those willing to launch a modest desi cable net setup with linux that will definitely prove its ROI(return on investment) as we believe and what we have seen until now.

regards
zaeem

mahin
Major
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Karachi
Contact:

linux, ISDN & ISA

Postby mahin » Mon Sep 08, 2003 2:42 pm

I could be wrong but looks like ISA Proxy may be the cause.

Please read the How-to by our member Raheel Abdul Hameed at:

http://ibiblio.org/gferg/ldp/Web-Browsi ... HOWTO.html

apart from above check out following also:

http://www.netintegrity.com.au/webindex.html

some parts are quite relevent to your project.

Faraz.Fazil
Major General
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe
Contact:

Postby Faraz.Fazil » Mon Sep 08, 2003 6:11 pm

Yup tariq bhai (mahin) is right!

Most probably its a problem with the isa server and/or a mismatched setting.
As mahin said, read that excellent howto by Mr..Raheel.It will surely help you solve your problem if it is caused by ISA.

fawad
Site Admin
Posts: 918
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Addison, IL
Contact:

Postby fawad » Tue Sep 09, 2003 1:21 am

Disclaimer: I have no idea what ISDN is or how it works.

zaeemarshad, please check out the [url=http://www.ipcop.org/]IPCop[/ipcop] distro. It's a specialized router/firewall distro. The credits page claims to support dual ISDN. In my experience it detects all the network cards out of the box and you have to spend about 5 minutes before you have a working router. At work, I've installed it on a 133 MHz machine and has been working like a charm. Is doing NAT, port forwarding, IPSEC VPN etc. The user community is very nice and helpful too.

sakbar
Naik
Posts: 88
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Lahore
Contact:

Postby sakbar » Tue Sep 09, 2003 8:00 pm

i totally agree with fawad about ipcop, it does support ISDN (dual) connectivity !!

A pluc member JUNAID has worked with it a lot .. u can contact him .. just in case ..

--SHAKEEL


Return to “Administration”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest