How to change the Password of GRUB on Redhat

Taking care of your Linux box.

How to change the Password of GRUB on Redhat

Postby kashif » Thu Oct 16, 2003 12:07 am

Assalam 0 alikum!
Please tell me

How can I change the Password of GRUB on Redhat.

More over Please tell me anybody I want to Make virtual ip adress on REdhat 7.2.

i use the following commad for it
ifconfig eth0:0 192.168.0.1

it declares and work well .

But when i reboot the system then virtual intface become disappeard .
kashif
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 2:44 am
Location: Okara

Postby jargon » Thu Oct 16, 2003 8:25 am

Follow the below link to reset the password for grub. If you have root priveldges then it shouldn't be a problem.
http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Remote-Serial ... -grub.html

For the virtual ip address, stuff like ifconfig and path settings,etc. in Linux/Unix will never survive a reboot so you have to add this line in one of your startup scripts. these are found in /etc/rc.d/,

You could safely add it to the file rc.local, which is used for user settings and next time you
reboot you will not face this problem.

KH
Good Luck
Tehmasp Chaudhri
jargon
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 691
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 9:40 am

Thanks Mr Tehmasp Chaudhri

Postby kashif » Fri Oct 17, 2003 12:26 am

Assalam 0 alikum!
Thanks Mr Tehmasp Chaudhri for your valueable reply about Grub.

Actually i want to configure Apache web server.
There are two options in apachee for virtual hosting.
1-IP based hosting
2-Name based Hosting

For IP based hosting One have to make virtual IP adresses. INfact computer have only one NIC but many ip adresses through this secheme.
I am not able to perform this job accurately.
If YOu have done this Please guide me .

Allah Hafiz
LinuxLover
kashif
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 2:44 am
Location: Okara

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Fri Oct 17, 2003 1:01 am

Dear Kashif,
Salam,

if you want to add more then one IP @ one NIC then you can do this by the following Command:
# ifconfig eth0:0 ipaddress netmask 255.x.x.x broadcast x.x.x.255 up
Hope it will solve ya problem if you want to create ip based hosting server.

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi

LinuxFreaK

Postby kashif » Fri Oct 17, 2003 2:17 am

Assalam 0 alaikum!
Dear LinuxFreaK
Thank for your valuabe comments.

Sir you mentioned the following command


# ifconfig eth0:0 ipaddress netmask 255.x.x.x broadcast x.x.x.255 up


It is good .I have used it already.I work well.
But problem arise when I reboot the system
after rebooting eth0:0 and similaar all other virtual hosts disapear expect eth0 which is real ip adress

Mine Redhat version is 7.2

Waiting for regard of any one
Allah Hafiz
kashif
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2003 2:44 am
Location: Okara

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Fri Oct 17, 2003 2:25 am

Dear Kashif,
Salam,

The Easiest thing to do is stick that ifconfig command in /etc/rc.d/rc.local

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi


Return to “%s” Administration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron