PTCL DSL Modem

Taking care of your Linux box.

PTCL DSL Modem

Postby shahzor » Fri Oct 10, 2008 12:06 pm

I have one questions and the question is that I have a PTCL DSL Modem which doesn't have any fix IP okay fix IP is still not a problem the problem is that I want to access the ssh on that modem but I don't get access to the remote machine machine.

if some one configured it already please let me know I have the Shiro DSL 805E ADSL2+Ethernet Modem
LinuxBoy
shahzor
Naik
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 11:33 am
ICQ: 000
WLM: none
Yahoo Messenger: shahzor007@yahoo.com
AOL: none
Location: Quetta

Postby x2oxen » Fri Oct 10, 2008 5:18 pm

I completely lost with your question don't know what you are saying.. I Hope even you don't know what you talking about
Muhammad Usman
+92-321-6640501
Chemonics International
http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby shahzor » Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:37 pm

x2oxen wrote:I Hope even you don't know what you talking about


well brother when you don't want to answer don't blame some one to be lost also I know what I am asking any way thanks for your reply.

PTCL Modem means that I am using PTCL services.

I don't have fix IP means that I get the IP from a DHCP server.

I have two servers a and b configured with SSH.

but when I ssh from a to b I don't get connected there is something with the modem which should be configured.

any how thanks

shahz
Last edited by shahzor on Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
LinuxBoy
shahzor
Naik
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 11:33 am
ICQ: 000
WLM: none
Yahoo Messenger: shahzor007@yahoo.com
AOL: none
Location: Quetta

Postby x2oxen » Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:52 pm

shahzor wrote:well brother when you don't want to answer don't blame some one to be lost also I know what I am asking I have seen in many places that you are more intrested to get posts not to give answer any way thanks for your reply.


Thanks for watching me out in my posts but you are getting completely wrong idea about that.

shahzor wrote:I don't have fix IP means that I get the IP from a DHCP server.

You don't get ip from a DHCP server but PPPOE Server and your ip is dynamic.

shahzor wrote:I have two servers a and b configured with SSH.

but when I ssh from a to b I don't get connected there is something with the modem which should be configured.

Here again you didn't tell that where point A and B exactly are. I assume your Point A is in your lan behind modem and your pint B is somewhere on internet and you want to ssh your point A from point B. For this purpose you have to do port forwarding in your DSL modem (I assuming your pppoe dialed from your modem and you are behind nat). And also check your ssh servers are working fine and listening on right ports.

If it is not this way then describe your scenario again.
Muhammad Usman

+92-321-6640501

Chemonics International

http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby shahzor » Sat Oct 11, 2008 1:37 pm

First a real sorry to MR. USMAN

I have two server on diffrent places using the PTCL services. with a DSL modem.


I have opend the graphical interface for my modem and added a LAN client IP, its host and the MAC address for it. now I want to add the port forwarding but din't see SSH port by default, it gives me option to add a rule which says.


Rule Management

Rule Name:
Protocol: TCPUDPTCP,UDP
Port Start: Port End:
Port Map:


Rule Name:- SSH
Protocol:- TCP
Port Start:-
Port End:-
Port Map

I know that the ssh port is 22 but Port start port end and port map what should be there.

thanks if some one helps.

shahz
LinuxBoy
shahzor
Naik
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 11:33 am
ICQ: 000
WLM: none
Yahoo Messenger: shahzor007@yahoo.com
AOL: none
Location: Quetta

Postby lambda » Sat Oct 11, 2008 5:00 pm

port start = 22
port end = 22
port map = your local server
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby x2oxen » Sat Oct 11, 2008 7:04 pm

Mr. Farid answered your question hope it will help you out now.
Muhammad Usman

+92-321-6640501

Chemonics International

http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby lambda » Sat Oct 11, 2008 10:08 pm

who?
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby x2oxen » Wed Oct 15, 2008 9:35 pm

Mr. Farid Nawaz.. Or you can say Mr, Fareed Nawazz.. Whatever you like to being spelled..
Muhammad Usman

+92-321-6640501

Chemonics International

http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby lambda » Thu Oct 16, 2008 11:42 am

don't you have a cart to pull, ox?
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby x2oxen » Fri Oct 17, 2008 2:05 am

lambda wrote:don't you have a cart to pull, ox?


Nop I don't :wink:
Muhammad Usman

+92-321-6640501

Chemonics International

http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Re: PTCL DSL Modem

Postby Saad Khan » Fri Oct 17, 2008 11:35 am

shahzor wrote:I have one questions and the question is that I have a PTCL DSL Modem which doesn't have any fix IP okay fix IP is still not a problem the problem is that I want to access the ssh on that modem but I don't get access to the remote machine machine.

if some one configured it already please let me know I have the Shiro DSL 805E ADSL2+Ethernet Modem


Convert your modem into bridge mode, normally dsl/adsl modems work in router mode.
when you will convert your modem into bridge mode, it will give live(dynamic) IP to your machine.
you just need to ask PTCL for vci/vpi values, and put the vci/vpi values on modem interface (you should know, how to access modem interface), then change your modem mode to bridge. and restart your modem.
now your check your machine interface, it will have LIVE(dynamic) IP from PTCL.
now you need to install dynamic dns client on your machine and register your machine with some dynamic dns service providers.

like
www.no-ip.com
freedns.afraid.org

after performing above steps, you can access to your machine from anywhere by using its dynamic domain name.
Saad Khan
Company Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 6:19 pm
Location: Karachi

Postby shakirz1 » Fri Oct 17, 2008 2:40 pm

after installing following service you do not need to configure your modem in bridge mode, port forwarding in DSL for ssh is also work for you.

www.no-ip.com
freedns.afraid.org
shakirz1
Battalion Quarter Master Havaldaar
 
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 5:00 pm
Website: http://www.fattanis.cjb.net
WLM: shakirz1@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: shakirz1@yahoo.com
Location: Karachi

Postby nomankhn » Mon Oct 20, 2008 8:09 pm

shakirz1 wrote:after installing following service you do not need to configure your modem in bridge mode, port forwarding in DSL for ssh is also work for you.

www.no-ip.com
freedns.afraid.org



Hi,

By the way if you search forum I think Lambda already answer in some old post, but you did not search :(

Thanks,
Noman Liaquat
nomankhn
Colonel
 
Posts: 714
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm

Postby shahzor » Fri Oct 31, 2008 11:27 am

I am using Shiro DSL 805E ADSL 2 + Ethernet Modem, within the rule management section when I add a user specific service which in my senario is ssh I give the following adding but it comes out with an page error don't know what it is.

Protocol is TCP
Port start is = 22
Port end is = 22
Port map = my local ip

any one knows what problem it can be.

thanks in advance

shahz
LinuxBoy
shahzor
Naik
 
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 11:33 am
ICQ: 000
WLM: none
Yahoo Messenger: shahzor007@yahoo.com
AOL: none
Location: Quetta


Return to “%s” Administration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron