VLAN - Bonding problem Cent-OS 5.2

Taking care of your Linux box.

VLAN - Bonding problem Cent-OS 5.2

Postby syedbilalmasaud » Tue Nov 18, 2008 2:30 pm

Hi All,

I have created bond0 on which eth0 and eth1 is bonded . after bonding i have created one vlan using vconfig
# vconfig add bond0 980

than i make this vlan down using ip and assign it some name and make it up

# ip link set dev bond0.980 down
# ip link set dev bond0.980 name pub-traffic
# ifconfig pub-traffic 1.2.3.4 netmask 255.255.255.192 up

routes are added to default gateway is also added

once i done this all i am unable to ping my gateway , but i am able to see the mac address of my bonding interface on my switch on which vlan is tagged with 980 but i am not able to ping my gateway

arp ping is working from outside to centos machine but normal ping is not working

but same thing if i will configure it on debian , its working why its not working centOS please share your ideas


Looking forward to hear from you
Cheers :)

:D B I L A L :D
syedbilalmasaud
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:25 am
WLM: bm1984@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: syedbilalmasaud@yahoo.com
Location: Attock

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Wed Nov 19, 2008 9:29 am

Dear syedbilalmasaud,
Salam,

FYI, http://www.linux-corner.info/bonding.html

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi

Postby syedbilalmasaud » Thu Nov 20, 2008 10:59 am

Farrukh bhai ,


yaar my bonding configuration is correct , I am doing this from last two years on redhat/debian but for this particular case bonding and vlan works on debian but not on centos
this is wired
Cheers :)



:D B I L A L :D
syedbilalmasaud
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:25 am
WLM: bm1984@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: syedbilalmasaud@yahoo.com
Location: Attock

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Sun Nov 23, 2008 1:13 pm

Dear syedbilalmasaud,
Salam,

syedbilalmasaud wrote:yaar my bonding configuration is correct , I am doing this from last two years on redhat/debian but for this particular case bonding and vlan works on debian but not on centos this is wired


Then you are missing something which is very common.

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi

Postby syedbilalmasaud » Tue Nov 25, 2008 12:44 pm

:D

on switch side vlan was not tagged properly by our network engineer


Cheers :)


Bilal
Cheers :)



:D B I L A L :D
syedbilalmasaud
Naib Subedar
 
Posts: 347
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 9:25 am
WLM: bm1984@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: syedbilalmasaud@yahoo.com
Location: Attock


Return to “%s” Administration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron