Qmail Smtp problem

Taking care of your Linux box.

Qmail Smtp problem

Postby mejam » Wed Feb 11, 2009 3:31 am

I am running qmail...i am having a problem with smtp...incomming mails are fine...i can recieve mails from every domain ...but i am not being able to send e-mails...it just sends mails to local domain....and whenever i try to send it to another domain....it queues up that mail....every time i try to send an email outside my domain it gets queued....i have allowed my local network in relay client....please tell me where is the issue...?
Regards
Abdulrehman
mejam
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 12:30 pm
WLM: bmw1000cc@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: vagabond_aw@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Postby lambda » Wed Feb 11, 2009 9:59 am

you didn't look at the log file and read the messages describing what happens to your outgoing mail.
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby mejam » Wed Feb 11, 2009 8:21 pm

This is what i can see from my log file.....mails are getting in queue....

tail -f /var/log/qmail/qmail-send/current

@400000004992ea970c77bbfc info msg 2032802: bytes 1443 from <abdulrehman@beaconet.net> qp 4815 uid 1008
@400000004992ea970cc6c65c starting delivery 269: msg 2032802 to local linuxgurru.com-test@linuxgurru.com
@400000004992ea970cc6e59c status: local 1/10 remote 0/255
@400000004992ea970f1628e4 delivery 269: success: did_0+0+1/
@400000004992ea970f17cec4 status: local 0/10 remote 0/255
@400000004992ea97102523fc end msg 2032802
@400000004992eb640ffc04a4 starting delivery 270: msg 2032772 to remote abdulrehman@beaconet.net
@400000004992eb640ffc1c14 status: local 0/10 remote 1/255
@400000004992eb780ffdbe0c delivery 270: deferral: CNAME_lookup_failed_temporarily._(#4.4.3)/
@400000004992eb780ffe17e4 status: local 0/10 remote 0/255

Waiing for help....!
Regards

Abdulrehman
mejam
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 12:30 pm
WLM: bmw1000cc@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: vagabond_aw@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Postby mejam » Wed Feb 11, 2009 9:51 pm

Lambda bhai i figured it out...the problem was due to my DNS....SMTP is now fine...but there is an issue....i can only send e-mail to those domain that are listed in my "/var/qmail/control/rcpthosts" file....i want to send emails to all domains...i dont want this rcphosts file to tell my SMTP about the allowed domains...what should i do for that....
Regards

Abdulrehman
mejam
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 12:30 pm
WLM: bmw1000cc@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: vagabond_aw@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Postby lambda » Wed Feb 11, 2009 10:10 pm

and does that happen with every domain, or just that one domain?

i hope you installed netqmail instead of qmail.
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby mejam » Wed Feb 11, 2009 10:25 pm

i read an article and managed to solve this too...the rcphost file only tells qmail from which domains to accept the e-mails...i am hosting 2 domain on my qmail.i listed these two domains in rcphosts...now from qmail i can send emails to anywhere except yahoo...i cant even send mail to yahoo even if i list yahoo in rcphosts.....and recieving is fine from every where....
Regards

Abdulrehman
mejam
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 12:30 pm
WLM: bmw1000cc@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: vagabond_aw@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Postby x2oxen » Thu Feb 12, 2009 9:41 am

And what error msg pop up while you trying to send emails on yahoo. On yahoo sometimes it takes a little long to deliver.
Muhammad Usman
+92-321-6640501
Chemonics International
http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby mejam » Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:23 pm

you are rite usman bhai...it has sent the email to yahoo but it has taken too long....its almost 12hrs later....
Regards

Abdulrehman
mejam
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 12:30 pm
WLM: bmw1000cc@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: vagabond_aw@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Postby mejam » Thu Feb 12, 2009 1:27 pm

another problem is with my IMAP...mailserver is working fine with POP and SMTP...but IMAP gives me authentication error....i am not able to send/recieve emails through IMAP....please help...!
Regards

Abdulrehman
mejam
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat Oct 18, 2008 12:30 pm
WLM: bmw1000cc@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: vagabond_aw@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore

Postby lambda » Thu Feb 12, 2009 2:03 pm

which imap server is it?
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Sat Feb 14, 2009 3:27 pm

Dear mejam,
Salam,

mejam wrote:another problem is with my IMAP...mailserver is working fine with POP and SMTP...but IMAP gives me authentication error....i am not able to send/recieve emails through IMAP....please help...!


If you are running Courier-IMAP then make sure authdaemon is running.

# ps -auwx | grep authdaemon

or

# telnet localhost 106

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi

Postby lambda » Sat Feb 14, 2009 8:12 pm

also, if you use courier, you should seriously consider using dovecot instead.
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore


Return to “%s” Administration

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron