remotely connect DSL Connection

Protecting your Linux box
majidnazeer
Naik
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 12:37 pm

remotely connect DSL Connection

Postby majidnazeer » Fri Mar 24, 2006 11:53 am

i want to connect DSL connection ip from remote site (just like home). how can i do that?

kbukhari
Major General
Posts: 1222
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 12:29 am
Location: Lahore
Contact:

Postby kbukhari » Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:13 pm

wht is ur basic task
--
Syed Kashif Ali Bukhari
+92-345-8444420
http://sysadminsline.com
http://kashifbukhari.com

ranatanveer
Subedar
Posts: 355
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 11:54 am
Location: Lahore
Contact:

Postby ranatanveer » Fri Mar 24, 2006 1:54 pm

Dear Majid Nazir,

You need to purchase IP pool, and provide one ip to the eth interface of the DSL modem and other to the eth interface to your Computer, disable firewall from modem,

and if modem is in bridge mode, create pppoe connection from your machine to connect, and in the properties of connection enable/add ssh (or other service) on port 22 (or other port)
Regards

Rana Tanveer
+923224194457
Linux Student

For Affordable Web Development http://www.affordableprogrammers.com
http://www.qualityprogrammers.com

LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Re: remotely connect DSL Connection

Postby LinuxFreaK » Sat Mar 25, 2006 8:46 am

Dear majidnazeer,
Salam,

majidnazeer wrote:i want to connect DSL connection ip from remote site (just like home). how can i do that?


Use SSH

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed

Abdul Wajid
Lance Naik
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 12:42 am
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Postby Abdul Wajid » Thu Jan 11, 2007 11:07 pm

But Farrukh Bhai, which one IP we'll use? I mean to say that I've a DSL connection which IP is 192.168.1.5 and I want to access on it from my Office. In my office we're using Multinet ISP and my home DSL ISP is Cybernet.
Abdul Wajid
I'm one of those bad things that happen to good people...

ranatanveer
Subedar
Posts: 355
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 11:54 am
Location: Lahore
Contact:

Postby ranatanveer » Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:36 am

You need to purchase IP pool, and provide one ip to the eth interface of the DSL modem and other to the eth interface to your Computer, disable firewall from modem,

and if modem is in bridge mode, create pppoe connection from your machine to connect, and in the properties of connection enable/add ssh (or other service) on port 22 (or other port)
Regards

Rana Tanveer
+923224194457
Linux Student

For Affordable Web Development http://www.affordableprogrammers.com
http://www.qualityprogrammers.com

ranatanveer
Subedar
Posts: 355
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 11:54 am
Location: Lahore
Contact:

Postby ranatanveer » Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:39 am

there is also a port forwarding facility in modem. request on port 22 can be forwarded to any computer in your lan. consult your serivce provider in this matter.
Regards

Rana Tanveer
+923224194457
Linux Student

For Affordable Web Development http://www.affordableprogrammers.com
http://www.qualityprogrammers.com

Abdul Wajid
Lance Naik
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2006 12:42 am
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Postby Abdul Wajid » Fri Jan 12, 2007 10:27 pm

Thanks Mr. Rana. I'll workout on your suggestion...
Abdul Wajid

I'm one of those bad things that happen to good people...

LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Sat Jan 13, 2007 10:17 am

Dear ranatanveer,
Salam,

ranatanveer wrote:You need to purchase IP pool, and provide one ip to the eth interface of the DSL modem and other to the eth interface to your Computer, disable firewall from modem,

and if modem is in bridge mode, create pppoe connection from your machine to connect, and in the properties of connection enable/add ssh (or other service) on port 22 (or other port)


I beleive he can also use services like http://www.dyndns.org or http://www.no-ip.com to achieve this goal.

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed

ranatanveer
Subedar
Posts: 355
Joined: Sat May 07, 2005 11:54 am
Location: Lahore
Contact:

Postby ranatanveer » Sat Jan 13, 2007 10:29 am

I think it should be more clear to you:

there are two (or three) interfaces at your DSL router

1. ethernet for your lan
2. interface where you plug in your telephone
3. might be a usb port (only one can be use either ethernet or usb)

and there are two modes in which DSL router works.

a. through bridge mode (you create pppoe connection at your computer)
b. through pppoe connection innitiated by DSL router itself

remember!!!!!! There is always one live ip assigned by your service provider to your connection.

if you start with mode (b) your live ip would be at interface 2 and at interface 1 you apply your private lan ip. use port forwarding facility of the router.

and if you start with mode (b) this is just like any dialup connection. which you created yourself. (obviouslly you have live ip at your machine).
[/b]
Regards

Rana Tanveer
+923224194457
Linux Student

For Affordable Web Development http://www.affordableprogrammers.com
http://www.qualityprogrammers.com

LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:13 am

Dear ranatanveer,
Salam,

I think you should take a look into following links.

FYI, http://www.dyndns.com/support/clients/ and http://www.no-ip.com/downloads.php

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed


Return to “Security”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest