ether 03:BF:00:00:00:00????

Protecting your Linux box

ether 03:BF:00:00:00:00????

Postby sevensins » Mon May 22, 2006 1:18 pm

AOA,
There is a system on my network which has this mac address 00:b0:d0:da:2f:da and uses a linux box to access internet. the strange this is that when I arp -aven I get 03:BF:00:00:00:00 against his ip in the arp list...


any idea????
Regards,

-----------------------------------------------------------------
A wise monkey never monkies w/ another monkey's monkey!
sevensins
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 1:45 pm
ICQ: 3655945
Website: http://www.us-cert.gov/
WLM: shehzad_h@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: shehzadhamid@yahoo.com
Location: PAKISTAN

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Wed May 24, 2006 1:58 pm

Dear sevensins,
Salam,

might be he have spoofed his MAC.

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi

Postby sevensins » Wed May 24, 2006 3:06 pm

AOA,
I just googled and came up with this

03-BF-00-00-00-00/16 MS-Loadbalancing-Multicast

at http://ftp.tpnet.pl/vol/d6/ftp.sunet.se ... /manuf.txt


ahh still dont get it.....any help would be much appreciated...


I am using ur mac script and if someone is not in the allow list... they can not access the servers services...
Last edited by sevensins on Wed May 24, 2006 3:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regards,



-----------------------------------------------------------------

A wise monkey never monkies w/ another monkey's monkey!
sevensins
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 1:45 pm
ICQ: 3655945
Website: http://www.us-cert.gov/
WLM: shehzad_h@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: shehzadhamid@yahoo.com
Location: PAKISTAN

Postby dK-Stinger » Sat Jun 03, 2006 8:42 pm

tough it is higly unlikely, but try restarting the switch on which the system is on. and as a last resort, change the user's port on the switch. if u cud tell me what network devices u use, i might be able to figure out...
wat wat wattt???
dK-Stinger
Cadet
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2006 8:36 pm
WLM: jaffarthegreat@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: jaffar.hussain@yahoo.com
Location: Lahore, Pakistan


Return to “%s” Security

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron