A Good Place to Mount your Windows Partition

General discussion about Linux, Linux distribution, using Linux etc.

A Good Place to Mount your Windows Partition

Postby CyberFreak » Fri Jul 06, 2007 12:38 am

If some reason you dont want to mount your windows drive to mount at boot time with fstab or /etc/rc.local filen then you can place your command with "alias" temporaly or you can fixed ever then place it in your /home/.bashrc file in my system i can mount my win directory only typing
win command i place alias in my /home/.bashrc file name win like
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
alias win='mount -t vfat /dev/hda7 /home/tariq/win'
//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////





8) CyberFreak_f9@yahoo.com
CyberFreak
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 12:20 am
Yahoo Messenger: tariq8862000@yahoo.com
Location: Karachi

Postby lambda » Fri Jul 06, 2007 9:41 am

shouldn't the name of that alias be "lose", and not "win"?

just sayin'.
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby CyberFreak » Fri Jul 06, 2007 2:08 pm

But mine is win and its very :D to be a win
you use what u like i dont mind even linux to do u?
CyberFreak
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 12:20 am
Yahoo Messenger: tariq8862000@yahoo.com
Location: Karachi

Postby CyberFreak » Sun Jul 08, 2007 5:58 pm

i make another alias for long cd /home/myname/win command
alias wcd='cd /home/myname/win'
after you add you .bashrc file and want your aliases work imidately then load
your aliases with command
source ~/.bashrc
in my system
////////////////////////////////////////////
[root@localhost ~]# wcd
then after this
[root@localhost win]# (know directory change to win



8) CyberFreak_f9@yahoo.com&&hotmail.com
CyberFreak
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2005 12:20 am
Yahoo Messenger: tariq8862000@yahoo.com
Location: Karachi

Postby adnanwaheed » Fri Dec 03, 2010 12:01 am

i know this is post is old and most probably dead but i think the better approach would be to add an entry in /etc/fstab (or to edit an old one if it exists) for the windows drive but disable automount for it. Consider for example that your windows drive is /dev/sdb1 and you have added a line to fstab to mount it to /mnt/windows then whenever you want to mount the drive you can simply issue command

Code: Select all

mount /dev/sdb1

or

Code: Select all

mount /mnt/windows
adnanwaheed
Cadet
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2010 11:32 am
Website: http://binwaheed.blogspot.com
Location: Lahore


Return to “%s” General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron