Any WOL Home DSL User

General discussion about PLUC and Linux in Pakistan.

Any WOL Home DSL User

Postby DivineLight » Fri Sep 07, 2007 9:55 pm

AoA All,
I just recently got WOL Home DSL connection, and i discovered that they've blocked the ping port from server side. So all the nice portscanners and ipscanners are pretty useless coz they depend on ping.

Do any one of you know a workaround? and do all the isps block ping port normally?
DivineLight
Naik
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 5:47 am
Website: http://loop.pk
WLM: munirpak2000
Yahoo Messenger: munirpak2000
Location: Lahore

Postby nomankhn » Sat Sep 08, 2007 6:15 am

Darling,

Nop, All users are not blocking it and even WOL also not block these things, check your firewall settings. Ping is not a port, basically Ping is a protocol.

Regards,
Noman Liaquat
nomankhn
Colonel
 
Posts: 714
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm

Postby syedali999 » Sat Sep 08, 2007 11:06 am

Dear Divine,
Yup all icmp echo requests with the destination of our own servers will be dropped. however, you can ping the servers who can allow. such as www.yahoo.com

btw, why you need to ping WOL servers?
Thanks,
Regards


S. Asad Ali Rizvi
===================
Nomado Telecom
http://www.nomado.eu
alex[NoSpam]@nomado.eu
====================
LPI ID: LPI000102069
My blogs:
http://crea8ivefood.blogspot.com
http://actuarialsciencestudies.blogspot.com
syedali999
Battalion Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 1:45 am
Website: http://www.wol.net.pk
WLM: alirizvi@khi.wol.net.pk
Location: Karachi

Postby DivineLight » Sat Sep 08, 2007 2:35 pm

Nomankhan how can you say that wol allows pings?? are u a user?
I called the wol ppl and they said that yes we've blocked it.
Weather they lied or whatever

and they told that ping travels through port 53,

And I said that only pinging to wol is allowed, and you cannot ping to all the rest.
DivineLight
Naik
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 5:47 am
Website: http://loop.pk
WLM: munirpak2000
Yahoo Messenger: munirpak2000
Location: Lahore

Postby nomankhn » Sat Sep 08, 2007 3:47 pm

Darling,

Read the post of syed ali, what wants to say to you.

Regards,
Noman Liaquat
nomankhn
Colonel
 
Posts: 714
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm

Postby DivineLight » Sat Sep 08, 2007 3:51 pm

I can't get his point, he is saying that all ping requests with destination to wol servers will be dropped??

but I can ping wol servers.

And he says you can ping yahoo if it allows.

I can't ping anything except wol servers, not even google, hotmail etc, which I can ping from any other connection.
DivineLight
Naik
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 5:47 am
Website: http://loop.pk
WLM: munirpak2000
Yahoo Messenger: munirpak2000
Location: Lahore

Postby nomankhn » Sat Sep 08, 2007 4:48 pm

Ali Bahi,

Banda kia bol raha ha,

Tell me why you want ping any specific reason other than scanning.

Why you want to run ping only?

Regards,
Noman Liaquat
nomankhn
Colonel
 
Posts: 714
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm

Postby DivineLight » Sat Sep 08, 2007 5:00 pm

Plz don't ask me why I want to Ping?
tell me why I can't,
Coz it's not only ping, there are a couple of other things, like YouTubeGrabber, it doesn't works also.
DivineLight
Naik
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 5:47 am
Website: http://loop.pk
WLM: munirpak2000
Yahoo Messenger: munirpak2000
Location: Lahore

Postby nomankhn » Sat Sep 08, 2007 10:39 pm

HAHA,

I think you should contact WOL CEO or Owner they will give you the actual idea. But its amazing you are IT persons dont understand yet why block ping and other things, if they did it.

Regards,
Noman Liaquat
nomankhn
Colonel
 
Posts: 714
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm

Postby syedali999 » Sat Sep 08, 2007 11:40 pm

nomankhn wrote:HAHA,

I think you should contact WOL CEO or Owner they will give you the actual idea. But its amazing you are IT persons dont understand yet why block ping and other things, if they did it.

Regards,
Noman Liaquat


WOL will gonna become Link dot net soon...a multi national isp operating thru Egypt, A part of Orascom Telecom.
btw, CEO cant understand urdu and he will unable to understand "OUR ENGLISH" :D
Last edited by syedali999 on Sat Sep 08, 2007 11:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Thanks,
Regards


S. Asad Ali Rizvi
===================
Nomado Telecom
http://www.nomado.eu
alex[NoSpam]@nomado.eu
====================
LPI ID: LPI000102069
My blogs:
http://crea8ivefood.blogspot.com
http://actuarialsciencestudies.blogspot.com
syedali999
Battalion Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 1:45 am
Website: http://www.wol.net.pk
WLM: alirizvi@khi.wol.net.pk
Location: Karachi

Postby syedali999 » Sat Sep 08, 2007 11:44 pm

DivineLight wrote:Plz don't ask me why I want to Ping?
tell me why I can't,
Coz it's not only ping, there are a couple of other things, like YouTubeGrabber, it doesn't works also.


btw, do u know that icmp packets are dropped at our firewall
and your gateway is redback (Broadband RAS).

so the scenario of yours is

YOUR COMP --------> Exchange (DSLAM) ----------> ATM SWITCH -------------> BRAS ---------> Local WOL Servers ----------> Firewall -------> Routers ----------Internet

so you can see icmp drops at firewall to block ping from outer part of our network...you are on the same subnet and a part of wol network. .... you can ping coz your scenario is behind our firewall and direct access to our servers....however, ACLs are also implemented on all servers to prevent un-authorized access.
Thanks,
Regards


S. Asad Ali Rizvi
===================
Nomado Telecom
http://www.nomado.eu
alex[NoSpam]@nomado.eu
====================
LPI ID: LPI000102069
My blogs:
http://crea8ivefood.blogspot.com
http://actuarialsciencestudies.blogspot.com
syedali999
Battalion Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 1:45 am
Website: http://www.wol.net.pk
WLM: alirizvi@khi.wol.net.pk
Location: Karachi

Postby syedali999 » Sat Sep 08, 2007 11:48 pm

Divine,

i dont know about your knowledge neither m trying to challenge your experience...but brother, newbies thinks that ping increase speed of the connection....if this is what u think, then m sorry it is wrong...
ping is just to ask server is it alive? and server respond, yes i am...if there is silence from the server, the utility show you time out....

btw, you can ping our dns servers just to check wether your connection to host is stable or not.... :wink:
Thanks,
Regards


S. Asad Ali Rizvi
===================
Nomado Telecom
http://www.nomado.eu
alex[NoSpam]@nomado.eu
====================
LPI ID: LPI000102069
My blogs:
http://crea8ivefood.blogspot.com
http://actuarialsciencestudies.blogspot.com
syedali999
Battalion Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 1:45 am
Website: http://www.wol.net.pk
WLM: alirizvi@khi.wol.net.pk
Location: Karachi

Postby lambda » Sun Sep 09, 2007 3:55 am

blocking all icmp packets is a bad idea. things like icmp destination (or port) unreachable, source quench, ttl exceeded (needed for traceroute) are all very useful to have.

and, there are lots of networks out there with more bandwidth than your isp that don't block pings. consider that for a moment, and ask yourself why you need to block pings.
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby syedali999 » Mon Sep 10, 2007 12:27 am

lambda wrote:blocking all icmp packets is a bad idea. things like icmp destination (or port) unreachable, source quench, ttl exceeded (needed for traceroute) are all very useful to have.

and, there are lots of networks out there with more bandwidth than your isp that don't block pings. consider that for a moment, and ask yourself why you need to block pings.


i dont know coz m just a customer support executive :)
Thanks,
Regards


S. Asad Ali Rizvi
===================
Nomado Telecom
http://www.nomado.eu
alex[NoSpam]@nomado.eu
====================
LPI ID: LPI000102069
My blogs:
http://crea8ivefood.blogspot.com
http://actuarialsciencestudies.blogspot.com
syedali999
Battalion Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 1:45 am
Website: http://www.wol.net.pk
WLM: alirizvi@khi.wol.net.pk
Location: Karachi

Postby lambda » Mon Sep 10, 2007 2:06 pm

nothing's stopping you from learning more about the issue.
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore


Return to “%s” General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron