PTCL V-w`ireless ZTE Qualcomm USB Modem Driver / Instation

General discussion about PLUC and Linux in Pakistan.

PTCL V-w`ireless ZTE Qualcomm USB Modem Driver / Instation

Postby aliimran271 » Fri Oct 19, 2007 12:51 am

AoA Every body!
I am using ZTE V-wireless ptcl set for internet and it contain Qualcomm USB Modem. i want to switch to REDHAT LINUX but it did not install modem.
Can anybody help me in installing / configuring that modem pls.
Thanks
aliimran271
Cadet
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 12:01 am
Location: Multan Pakistan

Postby nomankhn » Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:18 pm

Dear,

Search LinuxPakistan forum.

Regards,
Noman Liaquat
nomankhn
Colonel
 
Posts: 714
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2002 8:00 pm

Postby aliimran271 » Sun Oct 21, 2007 12:16 am

AOA!
i am searching and i found setting but from where i will get driver??? I didnot find any driver for that. so looking forward. thanks
aliimran271
Cadet
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 12:01 am
Location: Multan Pakistan

Postby insecure_all » Sun Oct 21, 2007 4:07 pm

you don't need to install driver, just boot your system and attache your wireless phone and it will install the driver, during boot process it will install. after that edit /etc/wvdial.conf file,
and about setting !!!!!!!!
******************************************
[Dialer ptcl]
Modem = /dev/ttyACM0
Baud = 460800
Init1 = ATZ
Modem Name = CDMA
Modem Type = USB Modem
Phone = #777
Username = vwireless@ptcl.com
Password = ptcl
Stupid Mode = 1
********************************************
Try it out !
Khurram Bungash
insecure_all
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 7:58 pm
WLM: bungash@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: insecure_all@yahoo.com
Location: karachi

Postby aliimran271 » Wed Oct 24, 2007 12:00 am

Thanks, i have connected with the world. really thanks and i am wondering why i go for linux so late.
can u help me what version i should use as i want to go for networking / web / dns / mail server etc on linux. i currently installed redhat9. should i used redhat interprized edition 5 or fedora. is fedora command are different from redhat???
Thanks
aliimran271
Cadet
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2007 12:01 am
Location: Multan Pakistan

Postby insecure_all » Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:41 pm

well ... i start using RHEL 4, and now 5 is also here, but i am still using RHEL 4. if you can get RHEL 4 Or 5 then it is best !
Khurram Bungash
insecure_all
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 7:58 pm
WLM: bungash@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: insecure_all@yahoo.com
Location: karachi

Postby lambda » Wed Oct 24, 2007 4:55 pm

i would recommend trying ubuntu, or debian. one major point in their favor is that you can upgrade from, say, 6.06 to 6.10, or 6.10 to 7.04, or 7.04 to 7.10 -- all without reinstalling. you just have to run the upgrade tool, and it downloads the updated packages for you.

other stuff, like postfix/sendmail, named, apache2, etc -- they're pretty much the same.
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore


Return to “%s” General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest