Installation Of Gateway Server [Its Includes DHCP,Gateway]

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

Installation Of Gateway Server [Its Includes DHCP,Gateway]

Postby cyph3r » Sun Jan 27, 2008 1:39 pm

Salam To All My LinuxPakistan Friendz !!!!

I am New In Linux I Don,t Now very well about Linux !

I Want to create a gateway server its includes dhcp , gateway (squaid).
Now Tell Me which Linux Is the best for this server ,

1.Fedora 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8
2.Red Hat 7,8,9 ,Enterprise 4,5
-------------------------------------
I want to create dhcp server , with webmin , but i don't know how to install webmin
:oops:
plzzzzzzzzz help me to create this server !!!
thanx
Sorry for my Bad English !! [b]
Regards,
Mehmood Ahmed |cyph3r|
(+92)345-2835810
E-mail:cyph3r.07@hotmail.com
cyph3r
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:27 am
WLM: cyph3r.07@hotmail.com

Re:

Postby LinuxFreaK » Sun Jan 27, 2008 2:17 pm

Dear cyph3r,
Salam,

I do not know why every one comes here and want to be geek with in few days. Brother read below link, it will give you understanding how to configure daemons in Linux.

FYI, http://www.linuxhomenetworking.com

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi

Postby cyph3r » Sun Jan 27, 2008 2:20 pm

[b]Thanx Bro Mai is ko study kar lata hoon agar koi problem aai to dobara post karoonm ga[b]
Regards,

Mehmood Ahmed |cyph3r|

(+92)345-2835810

E-mail:cyph3r.07@hotmail.com
cyph3r
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:27 am
WLM: cyph3r.07@hotmail.com

Postby x2oxen » Mon Jan 28, 2008 4:31 pm

You can do this in all distributions you described below. So choose any 1 easily available to you. I will prefer fedora core for you as it will be easy for you to install servers/webmin via yum.
Muhammad Usman
+92-321-6640501
Chemonics International
http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby cyph3r » Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:08 pm

HI, x2oxen

ok i will install fedora 7 , could you please tell me how can I install webmin , I know the work of webmin , but I don't know how to install webmin
Regards,

Mehmood Ahmed |cyph3r|

(+92)345-2835810

E-mail:cyph3r.07@hotmail.com
cyph3r
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:27 am
WLM: cyph3r.07@hotmail.com

Postby x2oxen » Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:04 am

ok u 1st install your fc7 then i will help you out in that.
Muhammad Usman

+92-321-6640501

Chemonics International

http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby mudasir » Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:30 pm

AOA,

Nice one Farrukh bhai :lol: :lol:

Dear Cypher (Mehmood),

Installing webmin is not that difficult, just goto http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/weba ... 390.tar.gz and download webmin.

Now do
tar -xvzf <file name>
cd <dir name>
./setup.sh

Just soooooo Simple....
Kind Regards
Mudasir Mirza (RHCE)
(+971)55-1045754
http://www.crystalnetworks.org
http://www.diglinux.com
mudasir
Captain
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:23 am
Website: http://www.crystalnetworks.org
Location: Dubai

Postby cyph3r » Wed Jan 30, 2008 2:03 am

salam, mudasir, x2oxen
today i have install fedora 7 , and webmin
Now tell me how can i configer my DNS Server , I want to create my own domian , which can be open world wide thanx
I m waitng for your reply bro
Regards,

Mehmood Ahmed |cyph3r|

(+92)345-2835810

E-mail:cyph3r.07@hotmail.com
cyph3r
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:27 am
WLM: cyph3r.07@hotmail.com

Postby x2oxen » Wed Jan 30, 2008 2:46 pm

ok then Do you have some live static ips?? and do have any registered nameservers??? and do you have enough bandwidth to do so??? then you will be starting with DNS and Web Server
Muhammad Usman

+92-321-6640501

Chemonics International

http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby cyph3r » Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:56 am

salam , x2oxen
I have a live ip , and i don't have any registerd domain , i want to create my own domian server , how can i create domain which can be open world wide i have installed fedora 7 with DNS server and Apache web server
Regards,

Mehmood Ahmed |cyph3r|

(+92)345-2835810

E-mail:cyph3r.07@hotmail.com
cyph3r
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:27 am
WLM: cyph3r.07@hotmail.com

Postby x2oxen » Thu Jan 31, 2008 9:59 am

Ok Then you should use your isp dns server for your domain. Or else then you will be needing to register your dns server then you will be needing to contact IANA/Apnic or just register a domain for yourself use your isp dns server for this purpose and create a web server of your own for hosting that.
Muhammad Usman

+92-321-6640501

Chemonics International

http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby shahrukh_pro » Fri Jul 25, 2008 11:16 am

I also want to create gateway server Which ver. of Fedora should i use and which software or firewall please any help would be appreciated
i want to create DHCP Internet Connection Sharing With Firewall Acsess Polices like ISa server
shahrukh_pro
Cadet
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:46 pm

Postby lambda » Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:27 pm

that's easy -- you shouldn't use fedora.
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby shahrukh_pro » Fri Jul 25, 2008 2:44 pm

Thankx for the replay man but i want to do that things in Fedora please help me out in dat
shahrukh_pro
Cadet
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 10:46 pm

Postby lambda » Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:38 pm

sorry, i don't know fedora. just use the latest version and read the netfilter howto.
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron