FYi: Now You can even read CHM files in linux!!

General discussion about Linux, Linux distribution, using Linux etc.
Post Reply
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

FYi: Now You can even read CHM files in linux!!

Post by Faraz.Fazil »

check these:

http://www.speakeasy.org/~russotto/chm/
http://archmage.sourceforge.net/

arCHMage is an extensible reader and decompiler for files in the CHM format. This is the format used by Microsoft HTML help, and is also known as Compiled HTML. arCHMage is based on chmlib by Jed Wing.

Also check: http://xchm.sourceforge.net

Also You can use crossover office to use windows's html help displayer HH.exe to display chm files in linux, but its better to use one of the programs mentioned before.

Anywayz Here's How:

=============================

$ cd cxoffice/support/dotwine/Windows/
$ pwd
/home/name/support/dotwine/windows <-- this is where hh.exe is found
$ ~/cxoffice/bin/wine hh.exe /mnt/cdrom/some\ chm\ file\ here.chm &

here's a script you may edit this script if you want.

#!/bin/sh
~/cxoffice/bin/wine ~/cxoffice/support/dotwine/windows/hh.exe $1

save it and chmod it to 700

NOTE: Chances are the paths *might be incorrect* which you may have to substitute based on your settings.
Kdaemon
Naib Subedar
Posts: 346
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 12:22 pm
Location: Islamabad. GPS: LHR

Post by Kdaemon »

it realy helped :idea:
farhantoqeer
Major General
Posts: 917
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 5:45 pm
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Post by farhantoqeer »

Hello, i am having problem in executing archmage, when i type archmage with or without chm file at shell, it gives me following errors

from CHM import *
ImportError: No module named CHM

what should i do now? from where i can get this module or something like that?
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Post by Faraz.Fazil »

Thats strange.
Did u configure and install archmage correctly?
Did u install it rhough rpms or through sources?

Also make sure that mod_chm and chmlib and other libraries/modules are present.

Download and install these libraries:

http://freshmeat.net/projects/libchmxx/
http://freshmeat.net/redir/chmlib/22229 ... age/chmlib

Also there are three method to view a file with archmage.

As stated on archmage.sourceforge.net,. to view chm files with archmage, u have to do this:

I think u tried method # 1
Try methods 2 and 3 and see if they work.
===================================

There is three ways to use arCHMage package now:

1) Extract .chm to directory(directory will be created):

archmage

2) Run as http-server, which will publish chm file contents on specified port.

archmage -p

3) Tune your apache to publish chm file contents if there is trailing slash
in request to that file(you will need working mod_python for that):

Add that lines to your httpd.conf:

AddHandler python-program .chm
PythonHandler mod_chm

Restart apache.

Let's suppose, you have file sample.chm in DocumentRoot of your apache.
After that tuning you can receive raw chm file, if you point your browser to

http://yourserver/sample.chm

or you can view chm file on the fly if you point your browser to

http://yourserver/sample.chm/ (note trailing slash)
==================================

If nothing works, try using xchm or try giving the hh.exe method a try...which i have used personally and it works fine.
farhantoqeer wrote:Hello, i am having problem in executing archmage, when i type archmage with or without chm file at shell, it gives me following errors

from CHM import *
ImportError: No module named CHM

what should i do now? from where i can get this module or something like that?
Linux for Life!
farhantoqeer
Major General
Posts: 917
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 5:45 pm
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Post by farhantoqeer »

I tried all methods :(
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Post by Faraz.Fazil »

Did u download and install those libraries?

If archmage doesnt work in any case, then use xhm or use the hh.exe method with crossover office or wine.

Windows uses the hh.exe file to display chm files.So u can use it with wine or crossover office to display chm files in linux, as explained in detail earlier.

Good luck!
Linux for Life!
farhantoqeer
Major General
Posts: 917
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 5:45 pm
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Post by farhantoqeer »

yes i have installed everything. I am not going to use that exe file because we dont have microsoft windows here and for this i have to buy the cd and install it. i am going for xchm, though not now, later, when i will have time. thanks for your help.
Faraz.Fazil
Major General
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2002 5:31 pm
Location: Karachi/Pakistan/Earth/Universe

Post by Faraz.Fazil »

Np.
Good luck with xchm.
Do tell me if it worked for u or not, when u try it out.
Linux for Life!
farhantoqeer
Major General
Posts: 917
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2002 5:45 pm
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Post by farhantoqeer »

Yes sure, i will.
Post Reply