splitting internet traffic

Protecting your Linux box

splitting internet traffic

Postby pazha_malai » Sat Mar 08, 2008 7:05 pm

i our organization we using squid proxy server...

right now we have 2 isp internet lines...

eth0 --- is connected one isp lines

eth1---is connected second isp lines

eth2--is connected local area network

wt is scenario is i want the split in internet traffic between isp lines from the lan

example my lan is 192.168.0.0/24 i want tell 192.168.0.2 address go to eth0 isp line

and 192.168.0.3 address go to eth1 isp line... otherwise we split a internet traffic

network wise(192.168.0.0/24 go to eth0 and 192.168.1.0/24 go to eth1)


plz guide how to configure this scenario
pazha_malai
Cadet
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2008 6:36 pm

Postby mudasir » Sat Mar 08, 2008 7:19 pm

AOA,

Dear pazha_malai,

What you want to do is possible. Just follow the link below and you will get what you want to do.
http://www.linuxhorizon.ro/iproute2.html
Kind Regards
Mudasir Mirza (RHCE)
(+971)55-1045754
http://www.crystalnetworks.org
http://www.diglinux.com
mudasir
Captain
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:23 am
Website: http://www.crystalnetworks.org
Location: Dubai

Postby x2oxen » Sat Mar 08, 2008 10:34 pm

Using hardware based load balancer is also be a good option as it will provide you auto failover facility as well. Or you can do it in linux as well.
Muhammad Usman
+92-321-6640501
Chemonics International
http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby mudasir » Sun Mar 09, 2008 1:23 am

AOA,

I would also suggest you to use a Hardware Load Balancing Router, as Usman bhai said, that it can provide you many many advanced feature...
I am also purchasing one for my own setup, it is costing me about 16000 Rupees.
Kind Regards
Mudasir Mirza (RHCE)
(+971)55-1045754
http://www.crystalnetworks.org
http://www.diglinux.com
mudasir
Captain
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:23 am
Website: http://www.crystalnetworks.org
Location: Dubai

Postby x2oxen » Sun Mar 09, 2008 4:07 pm

hey wait Mudassir to you talking about which load balancer??? As far as i remembered i purchase a D-Link Load balancer costing only 7000. Do your load balancer include two DSL modems built in???
Muhammad Usman

+92-321-6640501

Chemonics International

http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby mudasir » Sun Mar 09, 2008 5:03 pm

AOA,

Dear Usman,

I am purchasing TL-R4000+ from TP-LINK.
http://www.tp-link.com/products/product_des.asp?id=12

i will really appreciate If you can please tell me any cheaper solution. Becasue i am unable to find any.
I also dont know how t configure it, wll have to read the whole maual. And which on do yo prefer me to buy.

Waiting for you Reply.
Kind Regards
Mudasir Mirza (RHCE)
(+971)55-1045754
http://www.crystalnetworks.org
http://www.diglinux.com
mudasir
Captain
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:23 am
Website: http://www.crystalnetworks.org
Location: Dubai

Postby x2oxen » Sun Mar 09, 2008 9:38 pm

Well ask for D-Link load balancer as it was with two wan ports and 1 lan port hope you will get it cheaper in local market. and about T-P link load balancer i heard from some of clients that it works nicely but not tested myself.
Muhammad Usman

+92-321-6640501

Chemonics International

http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby mudasir » Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:04 pm

AOA,

Dear Usman,

Which will you prefer, should i go with D-Link...or TP-Link...after all both are LINK's :D
Kind Regards
Mudasir Mirza (RHCE)
(+971)55-1045754
http://www.crystalnetworks.org
http://www.diglinux.com
mudasir
Captain
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:23 am
Website: http://www.crystalnetworks.org
Location: Dubai

Postby x2oxen » Sun Mar 09, 2008 10:30 pm

Well i think cheaper one is a better option here for you as it will be working fine for sure
Muhammad Usman

+92-321-6640501

Chemonics International

http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby mudasir » Mon Mar 10, 2008 11:39 am

AOA,

Dear Usman,

Can you please tell me the Model Number of the D-Link Device.
Kind Regards
Mudasir Mirza (RHCE)
(+971)55-1045754
http://www.crystalnetworks.org
http://www.diglinux.com
mudasir
Captain
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:23 am
Website: http://www.crystalnetworks.org
Location: Dubai

Postby x2oxen » Tue Mar 11, 2008 10:50 am

Not remembered as i purchased that for customer and configured for him!
Muhammad Usman

+92-321-6640501

Chemonics International

http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby nasacis » Tue Aug 11, 2009 1:29 pm

its better to use RouterBoard than Dlink and TP-Link because both brands are not reliable

I used Routerboard for such purpose and working very fine but i face some issues with Dlink load balance (get stuck)

Regads
Nafees Ahmed
Cell: +92.300.8653568
UAN: 041-111432432
Nexlinx Faisalabad
www.nexlinx.net.pk
nafees29@gmail.com
nasacis
Battalion Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 3:58 pm
ICQ: 22342780
Website: http://www.homepages.com.pk/nafeesahmed
WLM: nafees21
Yahoo Messenger: n_ahmad.rm
Location: Faisalabad

Postby nasacis » Thu May 06, 2010 12:39 pm

you can also use PFSense for load balancing the traffic between 2 ISP
Nafees Ahmed

Cell: +92.300.8653568

UAN: 041-111432432

Nexlinx Faisalabad

www.nexlinx.net.pk

nafees29@gmail.com
nasacis
Battalion Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 269
Joined: Sat Dec 13, 2003 3:58 pm
ICQ: 22342780
Website: http://www.homepages.com.pk/nafeesahmed
WLM: nafees21
Yahoo Messenger: n_ahmad.rm
Location: Faisalabad


Return to “%s” Security

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests