Problem of SKYPE installation

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

Problem of SKYPE installation

Postby Ahmad ullah » Wed Apr 23, 2008 1:12 am

I have tried to install skype on my FC8, bu t have problem or repositories, which are as under:
Failed dependencies:
libQtCore.so.4 is needed by skype-2.0.0.68-fc5.i586
libQtDBus.so.4 is needed by skype-2.0.0.68-fc5.i586
libQtGui.so.4 is needed by skype-2.0.0.68-fc5.i586
libQtNetwork.so.4 is needed by skype-2.0.0.68-fc5.i586
qt4-x11 >= 4.2 is needed by skype-2.0.0.68-fc5.i586

Where to down load these directly.Plz help me in this regard
What is not possible is not impossible!

Ahmad achakzai BUITEMS
03342430905
Ahmad ullah
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 12:29 pm
WLM: khoban@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: khoban3@yahoo.com
Location: Quetta

Postby Muhammad Saad » Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:33 am

Search the required packages at http://rpm.pbone.net
There is a link for advanced search where you can tell the search engine which distribution's packages you want.
Muhammad Saad
Battalion Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:07 pm
Website: http://tajassus.pk
Yahoo Messenger: muhammad.saad1
Location: Dera Ismail Khan, Pakistan

Postby lambda » Wed Apr 23, 2008 12:31 pm

type "yum search qt-4" or "yum search qt". you should be able to find the package you need (qt-4.something). use "yum install qt-4.something" to install it.

do not use rpm.pbone or any similar site if your distribution has the packages. always, ALWAYS use your distribution's packages unless there's a compelling reason to use something else.
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby Ahmad ullah » Wed Apr 23, 2008 11:00 pm

Dear lambda. i tried your solution but, it shows the problem of "CAN NOT RETRIEVE REPOSITORY DATA...." though i have added repositories. I don't know what to do. Plz help me.

I tried the method of Muhammad Sad as well. I downloaded the packages and while installing them, each one showed error of dependencies and hence no installation. It is to be noted that my system is connected to the Internet with high bandwidth. I need your help.
What is not possible is not impossible!



Ahmad achakzai BUITEMS

03342430905
Ahmad ullah
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 12:29 pm
WLM: khoban@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: khoban3@yahoo.com
Location: Quetta

Postby lambda » Wed Apr 23, 2008 11:47 pm

i don't use fedora. do you connect to the internet through a proxy? if so, you need to configure yum to use the proxy. simply typing "export http_proxy=http://your.proxy.host:8080" before any yum commands might be sufficient, but maybe not.
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby Ahmad ullah » Thu Apr 24, 2008 2:03 pm

Dear lambda, i have passed the proxy setting to you by the command you have told me which was successful. Now it shows the errror at command prompt:
*********************************************************************************
[root@localhost Linux Software]# yum install skype-2.0.0.68-fc5.i586.rpm
http://rpm.livna.org/fedora/8/i386/repodata/repomd.xml: [Errno 4] IOError: <urlopen error (-3, 'Temporary failure in name resolution')>
Trying other mirror.
http://livna.cat.pdx.edu/fedora/8/i386/ ... repomd.xml: [Errno 4] IOError: <urlopen error (-3, 'Temporary failure in name resolution')>
Trying other mirror.
http://wftp.tu-chemnitz.de/pub/linux/li ... repomd.xml: [Errno 4] IOError: <urlopen error (-3, 'Temporary failure in name resolution')>
Trying other mirror.
http://ftp-stud.fht-esslingen.de/pub/Mi ... repomd.xml: [Errno 4] IOError: <urlopen error (-3, 'Temporary failure in name resolution')>
Trying other mirror.
http://mirror.atrpms.net/livna/fedora/8 ... repomd.xml: [Errno 4] IOError: <urlopen error (-3, 'Temporary failure in name resolution')>
Trying other mirror.
ftp://mirrors.tummy.com/pub/rpm.livna.o ... repomd.xml: [Errno 4] IOError: <urlopen error (-3, 'Temporary failure in name resolution')>
Trying other mirror.
Error: Cannot retrieve repository metadata (repomd.xml) for repository: livna. Please verify its path and try again
************************************************************************************

for which your kind help is needed
What is not possible is not impossible!



Ahmad achakzai BUITEMS

03342430905
Ahmad ullah
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 12:29 pm
WLM: khoban@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: khoban3@yahoo.com
Location: Quetta

Postby lambda » Thu Apr 24, 2008 2:52 pm

remove any unofficial repositories you added, and then try "yum search qt4" or "yum search qt-4".
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Skype for Linux

Postby darklord » Mon Apr 28, 2008 2:46 pm

Do you still face the problem of downloading skype ??

Let me know

Best Regards
A Minute Waisted is a Minute LosT !!
darklord
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 5:22 pm
WLM: taurusking5@hotmail.com

Postby Ahmad ullah » Tue Apr 29, 2008 3:40 pm

Yeah darklord, The main problem is not the download of the skype, but the yum, which runs behind the proxy. if you have any tips about that, they are welcome.
What is not possible is not impossible!



Ahmad achakzai BUITEMS

03342430905
Ahmad ullah
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Sep 28, 2007 12:29 pm
WLM: khoban@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: khoban3@yahoo.com
Location: Quetta

Skype for Linux

Postby darklord » Wed Apr 30, 2008 4:13 pm

Go to skype website and download rpm for Mandriva. Hopefully it will solve you problem.
I have treid this with RHEL4. and it worked.

Best Regards,
A Minute Waisted is a Minute LosT !!
darklord
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 5:22 pm
WLM: taurusking5@hotmail.com

If it fails

Postby darklord » Wed Apr 30, 2008 4:14 pm

If it fails download and install from the source.


Best Regards,
A Minute Waisted is a Minute LosT !!
darklord
Lance Naik
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 5:22 pm
WLM: taurusking5@hotmail.com


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests