MAC problem

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.

MAC problem

Postby venky145 » Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:41 pm

hai

now a days everyone are getting mac address changer softwares ( mac spoofing ). they can change the MAC and accessing internet . Is there any other way to authenticate i mean IP + MAC + Processor ID like... or authenticating in client side and check and conform after login.... is this possible ..?
venky145
Havaldaar
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 2:35 pm
WLM: ranga72
Yahoo Messenger: venky145
Location: qatar

Postby x2oxen » Mon Apr 28, 2008 11:27 pm

install a pppoe server or use username password authentication in squid proxy for users
Muhammad Usman
+92-321-6640501
Chemonics International
http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby Saad Khan » Sat May 03, 2008 8:48 pm

compile squid server with mac address filtering support and use mac based authentication in squid proxy.

e.g
acl user_abc arp 00:11:22:33:44:55
http_access allow user_abc

If you want more control then use ncsa password authentication with mac addresses and bind your users to their mac addresses.
Saad Khan
Company Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 6:19 pm
Location: Karachi

Postby mudasir » Sun May 04, 2008 12:18 pm

AOA,

Using Squid for authentication may not be a wise option. Setup a PPPoE Server or a VPN Server, that will get rid of this problem.

As this is a problem for client side, so from server not much can be done to get rid of it.
Kind Regards
Mudasir Mirza (RHCE)
(+971)55-1045754
http://www.crystalnetworks.org
http://www.diglinux.com
mudasir
Captain
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:23 am
Website: http://www.crystalnetworks.org
Location: Dubai

Postby Saad Khan » Mon May 05, 2008 2:55 am

mudasir wrote:AOA,

Using Squid for authentication may not be a wise option. Setup a PPPoE Server or a VPN Server, that will get rid of this problem.

As this is a problem for client side, so from server not much can be done to get rid of it.


PPPOE or VPN?
you meant mac address authentication over PPPOE or VPN?
it would be highly appreciated, if you write this howto for the users.

He asked about mac address or authentication, that's what i proposed him, and this solutions works seemless for the desktop users, they just have to enter user/password rather than using PPPOE or VPN for authentication, because i am sure, you wont train every internet user to use PPPOE or VPN.
Saad Khan
Company Havaldaar Major
 
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Jun 11, 2006 6:19 pm
Location: Karachi

Postby mudasir » Mon May 05, 2008 3:07 am

AOA,

I am working on the howto of PPPoE Server with most of the options that are required by Cable Internet Operators. As soon as it will be complete i will post it on LP Wiki, so that all of LP members will be able to take advantage if it.

Now regarding training every one to use PPPoE or VPN, there is no training required. Just need to create a Dialer and thats all, just connect that and every thing will work flawlessly.
Kind Regards
Mudasir Mirza (RHCE)
(+971)55-1045754
http://www.crystalnetworks.org
http://www.diglinux.com
mudasir
Captain
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:23 am
Website: http://www.crystalnetworks.org
Location: Dubai

Postby x2oxen » Thu May 08, 2008 9:45 am

And when you setup a pppoe server then you won't be needing a dhcp server as well as you won't be needing to assign static ips as well. so if you users changing mac address or ips there will be no issue with that.
Muhammad Usman

+92-321-6640501

Chemonics International

http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby mudasir » Thu May 08, 2008 1:33 pm

Assalam-o-Alaikum,

Yes usman bhai is right, then no other stuff will be needed.
Kind Regards
Mudasir Mirza (RHCE)
(+971)55-1045754
http://www.crystalnetworks.org
http://www.diglinux.com
mudasir
Captain
 
Posts: 565
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:23 am
Website: http://www.crystalnetworks.org
Location: Dubai

way of Detecting spoofed mac?

Postby zaib » Thu May 08, 2008 6:01 pm

is there ne way/tool through which we can detect if any users have changed his mac address ? i tried arpwatch, but not luck.
Regards,

SYED JAHANZAiB

web: http://aacable.wordpress.com
msn: aacable@hotmail.com
zaib
Naik
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:11 pm
Website: http://aacable.wordpress.com
WLM: aacable@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: johny_reico@yahoo.com
Location: Karachi

way of Detecting spoofed mac?

Postby zaib » Thu May 08, 2008 6:02 pm

is there ne way/tool through which we can detect if any users have changed his mac address ? i tried arpwatch, but not luck.
Regards,



SYED JAHANZAiB



web: http://aacable.wordpress.com

msn: aacable@hotmail.com
zaib
Naik
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:11 pm
Website: http://aacable.wordpress.com
WLM: aacable@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: johny_reico@yahoo.com
Location: Karachi

Postby x2oxen » Fri May 09, 2008 4:52 pm

Yes there is a way! Visit user physically and check there configurations ;) :lol:
Muhammad Usman

+92-321-6640501

Chemonics International

http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad


Return to “%s” Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron