how to block bittorrent

Protecting your Linux box

how to block bittorrent

Postby majidnazeer » Mon Jun 23, 2008 12:46 pm

AoA!

i want to block bittorrent in our network. how can i block bittorrent?

Thanks
Majid
majidnazeer
Naik
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 12:37 pm

Re: how to block bittorrent

Postby LinuxFreaK » Tue Jun 24, 2008 7:57 am

Dear majidnazeer,
Salam,

majidnazeer wrote:i want to block bittorrent in our network. how can i block bittorrent?


FYI, http://www.lowth.com/rope/

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed
LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
ICQ: 82075802
Website: http://www.linuxpakistan.net/wiki/index.php?pagename=LinuxFreak
WLM: f4fahmed@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: f4fahmed@yahoo.com
AOL: linuxpakistan@aol.com
Location: Karachi

Postby majidnazeer » Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:37 am

Thanks a lot farrukh.

Majid
majidnazeer
Naik
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 12:37 pm

Postby zaib » Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:38 am

Nice !
Regards,

SYED JAHANZAiB

web: http://aacable.wordpress.com
msn: aacable@hotmail.com
zaib
Naik
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 3:11 pm
Website: http://aacable.wordpress.com
WLM: aacable@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: johny_reico@yahoo.com
Location: Karachi

Blocking Bittorent,Gnutella

Postby intizar » Tue Aug 19, 2008 12:13 pm

Assalam O Alikum
Dear,

I tried to block Bittorrent etc,but can't be happy,
then i tried another sloution that works fine,i.e ,L7 and ipp2p filter,i used it just to identify bittorrent trafic, then i applied qos on bittorrent and limit this to 10kb sometime it works,somtime offcourse not,these filter are not to block these protocols but to apply Qos on them.

if we use bittorrent encrypted protocol then all filter failed including Rope
torrent clients are becoming more smarter every upcoming day.
Linux Care
just do it,
intizar
Cadet
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:11 pm
Location: Multan

Postby lambda » Tue Aug 19, 2008 2:17 pm

that's because you're going about it the wrong way. the right way is

- identify "good" traffic
- give it a high priority, depending on how much it's used (http is used more frequently than ftp, for example)
- give everything else a low priority.

your problem is now solved.
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore

Postby x2oxen » Wed Aug 20, 2008 9:42 am

Think Smart Do Smart!
Muhammad Usman
+92-321-6640501
Chemonics International
http://usmanpk.com
x2oxen
Major General
 
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Website: http://usmanpk.com
WLM: x2oxen@hotmail.com
Yahoo Messenger: x2oxen
Location: Faisalabad

Postby intizar » Wed Aug 20, 2008 8:13 pm

so what's about other applcations ,like skype,msn,and yahoo voice ,webcam traffic

How will i get them in high priorty 'cause torrent clients are also disguising in unatteded way,they just use every open port, including 80.312 etc,

Things are becoming more smarter as we think smart
just do it,
intizar
Cadet
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 8:11 pm
Location: Multan

Postby lambda » Thu Aug 21, 2008 9:51 am

for the chat clients, it's easy. they only connect to certain hosts. i don't know which webcams you mean.

for the rest, well, watch your traffic for a few days (use the netflow stuff i posted about elsewhere). then, add rules for specific traffic as necessary.

measure twice, cut once.
Watch out for the Manners Taliban!
Isn't it amazing how so many people can type "linuxpakistan.net" into their browsers but not "google.com"?
lambda
Major General
 
Posts: 3452
Joined: Tue May 27, 2003 7:04 pm
Website: http://www.hungry.com/~fn/
Location: Lahore


Return to “%s” Security

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron