how to enable remote desktop and set password in RH Desktop

Discussion regarding the installation and configuration of Linux distributions.
khurramiqbal
Cadet
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2007 10:20 am
Location: Rawalpindi

how to enable remote desktop and set password in RH Desktop

Postby khurramiqbal » Sat Feb 02, 2008 9:54 am

how to enable remote desktop and set password in RH Desktop.
I mean How can i enable vnc supptort from shell.

x2oxen
Major General
Posts: 1114
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 3:17 pm
Location: Faisalabad
Contact:

Postby x2oxen » Sat Feb 02, 2008 3:26 pm

Muhammad Usman
+92-321-6640501
Chemonics International
http://usmanpk.com

LinuxFreaK
Site Admin
Posts: 5132
Joined: Fri May 02, 2003 10:24 am
Location: Karachi
Contact:

Re: how to enable remote desktop and set password in RH Desk

Postby LinuxFreaK » Mon Feb 04, 2008 10:10 am

Dear khurramiqbal,
Salam,

khurramiqbal wrote:how to enable remote desktop and set password in RH Desktop. I mean How can i enable vnc supptort from shell.


You can follow link provided by x2oxen. You can also take a look into NoMachine NX if you want to use remote desktop other then VNC.

FYI, http://www.nomachine.com

Best Regards.
Farrukh Ahmed

ghulam yaseen
Naik
Posts: 68
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:09 pm
Location: karachi

Yaseen

Postby ghulam yaseen » Mon Oct 06, 2008 3:22 am

Hello :) ,

Please follow these quick steps to configure and use VNC on your server
----------------
--> yum -y install vnc vnc-server

--> Edit /etc/sysconfig/vncservers

Add the following lines, like in the example bellow, following these criteria:
VNCSERVERS="id:username"
#where id is the display port of the X Server - put 5 for example.
VNCSERVERARGS[2]="-geometry <desired_resolution> -nolisten tcp -nohttpd -localhost"

-->Configuring X Window System

Type vi /etc/X11/xorg.conf
Search for section "Screen" - should be in the last part of the configuration file and add the lines

Option "SecurityTypes" "VncAuth"
Option "UserPasswdVerifier" "VncAuth"
Option "PasswordFile" "/userhomedirectory/.vnc/passwd"
Note that I used /root/.vnc/passwd because root is the username i configured. If you configure VNC for another account (specified in /etc/sysconfig/vncservers) tha path to the PasswordFile should be "/home/your_username/.vnc/passwd"
Save the file and close the editor.

--> chkconfig vncserver on

--> service vncserver start
----------------------
I hope this is done 8)


Return to “Installation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest